RSS Feed

An “I’ve got nuthin….” day. Or do I?

Posted on

Yep. I’ve already hit a day of “I’ve got nuthin….”

But I wonder what I could find if I thought about it???

I went to my first yoga class today. LOVED IT. So excited to go back again.

Went out to dinner with a friend and her kiddos…. fun, but crazy and tiring. πŸ˜‰ And FREEZING. The thermometer on my van read -13 when we got in it. Awesome. That doesn’t even factor in the wind chill! 😯

We’ve decided to get the new pup some doggie training. First will be a Gun and Dog training so he’s ready for hunting with Jake. Problem there is that he needs to STAY at the trainers for two weeks. We’ve only had him for a few days, and I’m already attached enough to NOT be okay with that. But then again…. all trained for hunting and not gun shy at all in two weeks…. we’re doin’ it. After that, we’ll do 8 weeks of home training. We will go one day a week for 8 weeks. It’s one thing to have a small dog untrained (like our 8lb cockapoo) but it’s another to have a hairless horse (he’ll get close to 100lbs) untrained. πŸ˜‰

I love my husband, super much, and miss him a lot lately. He’s on a new schedule so he’s NOT home before midnight most nights whereas before he would get home around 11 and we’d hang out for about 2 hours. Now I just go to bed and don’t see him until the next day. It could be worse….he could be deployed…. so I’ll quit my whining. πŸ˜‰

Aidan is acting up again. Heard the B word twice from him today. :-\ Not cool. He was also SUPER RUDE to our friends tonight and it broke my heart. I don’t know how to help him. He seems to do so well for a stretch, but then easily relapses. I have GOT TO get a more stable routine/life/schedule down for him. Even something so little as eating out when we don’t normally eat out (during the week) throws him off. Or meeting someone new unexpectedly. Or not doing his devotional at night because he goofed off too long and now it’s too late. He HATES that. Suprisingly. If there ever was a creature of habit….. this kid is it. And when the habits get thrown, he doesn’t respond well. *sigh* My sweet precious boy…..

I have definately decided I am NOT doing anything extracurricular next year that is invasive as this year has been. I don’t have it in me. My skin is too thin, my organization too UNorganized, my stamina too little, and my resolve waning. Is that how you spell waning?? Anyway….. there is one thing I’m contemplating, but I would have to see how much time would need to be invested. I’ve been asked for MONTHS to help out with the breast feeding support on base, and it always slips my mind. While I would LOVE to, and my heart is totally captivated by breast feeding…. I want to make sure it won’t be a huge committment. I only have time for ONE huge committment next year, and that is homeschooling. That has GOT TO BE my number one priority. With all due honesty…. it has not been this year and I find myself scrambling a lot. The good news though, is that Dylan is CRAZY SMART and even with this nutso year, he has learned a lot….. and teaches himself stuff too. He is a SPONGE. I love it. I keep thinking how much MORE awesome next year will be when I put all of my engergies into that instead of running around like a crazy person. Even bible study isn’t a definate for next year. We’ll see……

Okay, that’s all I could muster. I’m beat. Off to drink some tea and read about the Six Wives of Henry VIII….. I’m SO exciting. πŸ˜‰

Apparently, I did have sumthin. πŸ˜‰

4 responses »

  1. My sweet Aidan – or is that Christopher you were talking about. With daddy gone we have been having the same anger issues. And for the creature of habit and not dealing with a change in the “norm” ABSOLUTELY! Prayers for all of you! I know what you are going thru.

    Reply
  2. Karin Constable

    sorry about Aiden and your hubby working late! 😦
    proud of you for taking a stand for your family and knowing your limits and level of commitments! that’s a hard task to do with all the distractions in the name of “ministries” to do! Been there done that! You have done well, good and faithful servant, but being a leader of your family and “Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. 6 These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”is just as important of a task-if not more so- as heading up other ministries too! you can forgive yourself for this year for anything you are beating yourself up about, realizing all you have from this year makes for a better year next year! Don’t condemn yourself-rise above it and know that God will use these trials to make you stronger! πŸ™‚ love ya girl

    Reply
  3. Thank you my dear Karin! So nice to “see you” over here! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

