RSS Feed

A love affair with Austen….

Posted on

Over the last year or so I’ve totally fallen in love with all things Jane Austen. I watch the movies first (I know, breaking some unspoken rule) and then read the books. I always find that if I watch the movie first, I always love it, and then love the book even more. But if I read the book first, I almost never love the movie. So, I do it backwards.

I spent this afternoon and evening with…

Persuasion

And Mansfield Park

I find I could easily hide away with books and movies such as these and be perfectly happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love Sense and Sensibility, but from the one version of Northanger Abbey I’ve seen I’ve decided I don’t like it. I hope to find another version to change my mind, or atย least that the book I’ll like better.ย I’ve yet to see Emma though, but that’s next on my list. It looks like I might like it….

My absolute favorite however is Pride and Prejudice. Preferrably the one with Matthew Macfadyen as Mr. Darcy. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Ah! I love it, even just the trailer. ๐Ÿ˜† The book however, is a thousand times better than the movie. I love that time period and the way things were done then. Well, some of them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My other Jane Austen favorite isn’t something she wrote even, but it is a movie about HER, her life, and her supposed love affair with Tom Lefroy, played by James McAvoy (who has stepped into Heath Ledgers shoes in my book. ha!). ahhhhh… Becoming Jane. I love love LOVE this movie. One of my all time favorites! Anne Hathaway is AMAZING as Jane Austen.

I know, I know…. I’m a huge geek for admitting to any of this.ย  However, just wait until you read about my obsession with all things Henry VIII and the Tudor reign. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

3 responses »

  1. Karin Constable

    it’ll make great history homeschooling material later on! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    can you tell I’m catching up on all your blogs? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. haha! YES!

    One of my friends read my blog ALL DAY LONG today and I swear there are like 20+ comments in my email from her. Cracks me up! ๐Ÿ˜‰ She was catching up on like a YEAR of posts. haha!

    Reply
  3. What can I say……I like to comment. I’m a talker. It’s a blessing and a curse at the same time. My way of showing da love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

