RSS Feed

Two Random Facts…..

Posted on

….. that you might not know about me. And you might not care about either….. but oh well. I’m sharing anyway.

It occured to me last night as I shared with a group of friends who gathered here for a fun girls night, that I have an odd habit. From the stares, silence, and then giggles that resulted…. I gathered that it was odd. πŸ˜‰ I’m quite astute like that. (as I laugh at my own stupid joke)

Okay, so. I like chocolate milk. I love chocolate milk actually. I particularly love it when I can make it myself, with POWDER. Not syrup. Syrup is gross. I’m not a fan of Hershey’s. Never have been. I also don’t particularly care for the chocolate milk you can buy in a jug or carton…. but I’ve been known to compromise with that. Anyway, I don’t think I always used to like it so much though…. and I only think that because nearly 10 years ago when I met one of my now closest friends, she was this way about it… and I thought she was odd. Fast forward almost 10 years andΒ I find myself drinking a glass of chocolate milk when I want chocolate, when I want a treat, when I want a snack…. almost always at night. I think of her everytime I drink it. Haven’t seen her in 7 years. Miss her.

Anyway, that’s not the apparently weird part.

I drink it like soup. With a huge spoon. I can’t DRINK drink it. I can’t drink it through a straw. Has to be a spoon, and consumed like soup. Complete with slurping. Just ask Jake. Makes him crazy.

When I shared this with my friends, after some giggling, they said “and do you put it in a bowl like soup?”

Pretty funny question if you ask me! πŸ˜†

But it does lead me to random fact #2…. because the whole “drinking chocolate milk like soup with a huge spoon” was #1.

I LOVE coffee cups. We have an Airman’s Attic here on base, and anyone who ranks E5 and below can go there. If Jake makes this next promotion I’ll be quite sad about not being able to go anymore. Anyway, everything there is…. FREE. Like a thrift shop, but FREE. If you go often enough you can find some seriously awesome things. I actually found an A BEKA homeschool book there…. and if you know anything about A BEKA curriculum…. it’s $PENDY. I was super excited. I also got a super cute shirt there, with the $35 tag still on it. Awesome.

But that’s not the point. The point is, everytime I go, I look for interesting coffee cups, and I ALWAYS leave there with at least one. Always. And I go at least once a week. You should SEE my coffee cup collection. I’m loving it.

SO, to answer my friends question about whether or not I drink my chocolate milk like soup with a huge spoon from a bowl…….

No. No I don’t. I drink it from my super cool coffee cup from my awesome collection. πŸ˜‰

And that’s no yolk. πŸ˜‰

12 responses »

  1. Brandy, you are so funny! I only drink the powdered kind too. But only the original Ovaltine malt flavor powdered kind. And I ‘drink’ it with a spoon too…sort of. I take a spoonful of Ovaltine then a swish of milk and mix it that way. It drives hubby batty. I’m glad to find out I’m not the only one who does weird things with her chocolate milk. LOL

    Reply
    • Okay Lori, let me get this straight…..

      You take a spoonful of POWDER, then drink a swish of milk, and mix it in your mouth?! hahahahahahaha!! Did I get that right?! LOL πŸ˜†

      Reply
      • Yep, you got it! I like how it feels (and tastes!) when the powder melts in my mouth. It doesn’t work with anything else, not even the fine powder kinds. That’s not the reason I like Ovaltine better though, I’ve just always preferred it. LOL

  2. Brandy….I am a coffee cup collector too! From thrift shops!! Always looking!! I knew it, we’re sisters πŸ™‚ lol!

    Reply
  3. Ha! For the record, I only think the slurping with a spoon is weird!! I use chocolate milk all the same ways + to calm my stomach when it’s yucky. I just use quik instead of ovaltine. πŸ˜€

    I can not help the coffee cup thing!! I throw them out all the time actually! Probably because I don’t use them ever. πŸ˜›

    Great picture though!!

    Miss you!

    Reply
  4. I have only begun my coffee cup collection. I should go to thrift shops for them, just never been a big fan of thrift shops. I always wanted to do the free one when we were in before, but never got around to it. Too lazy I suppose. When I shop, it’s in and out and all done as quick as possible. I never get to just lounge around and shop. Can’t take everyone and hate to be away for very long.
    Interesting about the chocolate milk…. I prefer the jug of chocolate milk, but hate spending the cash on it, so I just don’t.

    Reply
  5. Brandy, thanks for the pic to answer the question. LOL When you said that I was picturing you drinking it from a glass and thought to myself how can she fit the spoon in the glass and get enough chocolate milk on the spoon to slurp it!? LOL Now I know. πŸ™‚ Did you see my post that Derek wants Chocolate Milk from Santa this year. πŸ™‚

    Lori… I remember having this convo with you too, not sure how it came up but yes that is quite odd as well. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I love chocolate milk and hot chocolate! For Christmas my son is getting me a 1/2 gallon container of chocolate syrup!! No, not Hershey’s, Ghiradelli !!

    Reply
  7. I’m glad you enjoyed my cup/bowl question! You are hilarious by the way.

    Reply
  8. Brandylady I remember the Airmens Attic very well. I would go there all the time….before having Tate. It was quite N obsession. You never know what you could stumble across. I found some very cool items. Some of which I STILL have and will cherish. I do miss that FREE store. Not much is truly FREE in life and that place always felt like such a special treat.

    Why not do a post about some of your favorite coffee cups? I’d totally dig that! That’s ME being quirky. But it’d be fun! Like a picture of the massive collection and then pictures of some of your favs. Just an idea for the days when you can’t think of anything to write. Who cares if the post strays from “the beaten path” the blog is still about you and what makes you YOU.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

