RSS Feed

Aidan’s Results….

Posted on

For the sake of not reinventing the information wheel (ha!) I’m just going to repost an email sent to a friend. I hope it’s clear enough. If anyone has any questions, feel free to ask! Thanks!

She asked what happened and this was my reply:

Truly….. nothing happened… as in, there is nothing “wrong” per se. She did say that since she HAD to diagnose with something, she chose a disruptive disorder. ha! His IQ test showed that he is HIGHLY verbal, but lacks on the processessing skills. She said it wasn’t anything to worry about though right now considering he is still young. So the curve he was on for ADHD based on those results shows him just barely on the cusp of what they’d consider ADHD, but it’s not enough that they’d consider medication. She did say that he would either increase or decrease in this behavior (duh) as time goes on….again, because he is so young still. What it did show is that he DOES have hyperactivity and impulsivity issues….which we knew already. The good thing is that it confirms what we knew and I’m not left wondering if it’s my overtired imagination on a bad day. She also said that he is hard wired this way, and that it’s not a result of parenting or trauma or lack of discipline….but did suggest a few things for us to do with him. I’m now on the prowl for three new books to read.

So, it helped confirm what we already thought and reaffirm the fact that we didn’t make him this way….which every mom worries about. I cried when she was done with the results. Not because I WANTED something to be “wrong” but because I was really hoping for definate answers about how to deal with him and proceed. I said “so what do I do when he’s screaming at me, calling me a bitch over and over in front of people, punching me, kicking me, screaming horrible things? WHAT DO I DO WITH THAT?” and I just cried….. and basically what she said to do was everything we’re already doing…. just with less yelling and anger. ha.

I told Jake Aidan has his anger issues and my verbal skills. EXCELLENT. ;o)

So, that’s that. Now we go back to the pediatrician and most likely will enroll Aidan in a class this doctor (who administered the tests) facilitates for kids who impulse control issues. She highly recommended it and said she would allow him in, even though the group is closed. I want to be able to get him in while she’s teaching the class b/c she moves in a month and a new doctor takes over….so I’d like him in while we have someone willing to squeeze him in. She also suggested seeing the child psychologist there so he can work on his anger and learn techniques to calm himself down. *sigh*

So, yeah. Thank you for asking. I might just use this reply as my blog post. haha! ;o)

5 responses »

  1. Hey, I love Dr. Brittain!! I’m so sad that she is leaving. Is she going to have you see Dr. VanLith? He is really good too! So i guess i will be seeing you on Mondays at 4?

    Reply
    • Where is she going anyway?? She just said relocating. She is very nice, but you can totally tell she talks with kids all day long. haha! πŸ˜‰

      I want to make sure TriCare will cover those Mondays at 4 before I get him in there. For sure I’ll decide next week though. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. Been there, done that with Hailie. It actually does get better. There’d be days I’d have to physically restrain her as she went BALLISTIC!! I’m proud to say we have “graduated” from therapy about 4 months ago and all is well. The other ones want to go now because we made a big deal about how it’s someone to talk to other than mommy and daddy that you can trust AND you get a prize AND you can even talk about mom and dad. Lol. Also a side note, hailie IS diagnosed ADHD and we use positive parenting techniques and dietary changes to work with it. Structure is huge too! I suck at it but my hubby can make an awesome schedule for the kids. Call or email if you need ideas or just to vent. I’ve been there. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thanks Kiley!

      It does help to know DEFINATELY certain things, because already it’s changed out we are with him. Realizing that he isn’t doing most of it on purpose helps a lot too. He actually asked me yesterday “what do you do to not be so angry? How do you stop yourself?” WOW.

      I had asked him once a long time ago how he felt after he had gotten really angry and he cried and said he didn’t like it but didn’t know how to stop….so on some level he KNOWS it isn’t normal, but it’s just how his body is. He’s going to have to work hard to figure this all out….as are we.

      Reply
  3. Good to read this. Fills in some gaps I had. Curious to see if you continued the classes. I’m sure it was so encouraging to get a few answers but understandably frustrating to not get others. But perhaps there is at least some comfort in the fact that answers WILL come with time. Frustrating of course, but true. It’s not much, but it’s all I’ve got. Love you girl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

