RSS Feed

Lists and Such

Posted on

Apparently I like lists and laid out plans. 😐

This goes against my rebellious nature to do what I want without something or someone telling me what to do when. I know this about myself, yet I still fight it.

Today I gave in. Today I laid out 3 months of plans for every M-F of the week. For 3 months. You can ask me what I’m doing on any given M-F between now and the end of December and I could tell you.

Concerning homeschooling that is.

I had really hoped I’d be able to be that homeschooling parent that sort of threw caution to the wind and came up with something educational everyday, taking every experience as it came, gleaning all the knowledge from it that we could…. and enjoying it every step of the way being confident that my children wouldn’t end up completely deficient.

Well, clearly that’s not me.

I like to know a plan. I like to compare what I’m doing to said plan. I like to have an outline, and things laid out for me, telling me what to do. I can rise to that, I just can’t create the plan on my own.

Christian Cottage did it for me. Hee Heeeeeeeee. (that makes me happy!)

The curriculum came….last week sometime I think??? And just today I sat down to look at it. Oh yeah. I was putting it off. It felt daunting. Up until now we’ve been doing that whole scenario I described above…. with some math workbooks incorporated and some other good books I had ordered that came in. More along the lines of bible history at a kids level. Very excited about those. Although one child seems quite fascinated with King Herod and I’m not quite sure what to think about that. πŸ˜•

Anyway, I decided to transfer the plans from the binder onto my honkin wall calendar so I know what is ahead of me. It feels GOOOOOOD to know I can see it all in front of me. And to have a list of books I need for this particular month all laid out as well…so I can just go to the library, grab those books, and know I have all the reading material for the month. I love that for the experiments and crafts and things, there is also a list of supplies for me already done.

Clearly, I am a lover of the lists.

Who knew?!

So, starting next Monday, the 11th, we start our first month of study…Roots and Relations. Looks to be a lot of fun!

Hopefully I’ll keep y’all posted through here. πŸ˜‰

Some homeschool friends have told me that the first year will mostly be trial and error, figuring out what works for us as a family.

They weren’t kidding!

9 responses »

  1. HA! BIG FAT HA! LOL! πŸ˜›

    In seriousness, glad you found a groove!! ❀

    Reply
  2. I’d rather call it “Direction”. I like to know where I am headed. And when I will arrive there – Direction is a plan of action. But I think you can leave enough space in life to be spontaneous as well. Lists & direction do not necessarily mean rigidity.

    Reply
  3. Thank you Brandy for that link! We are considering homeschooling the kids. We considered it before and decided they were better off in school, but Grace is behind and being pushed by the school and it frightens me that they will keep pushing her to try to get her ahead without going back and helping her get what she already missed. I think she needs more personal attention. And the ability to repeat stuff over and over again until she gets it. She has ADHD and it takes her time to learn stuff. Anyway…. this is a helpful curriculum.

    Reply
  4. I LOVE lists. And i miss making them since I have nothing to do and no plans.

    I think for me I love the paper and binders more than what I wrote in them πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. I am very happy to see how much you enjoy homeschooling.

    I use to love making list because it gave me some sense of having control over my live. I think list are comfort food for the mind. Of course “to do” list are necessary when you are forgetful as I am. πŸ™‚

    Since I have retired I have thrown away all my list, because I now do have control over my life.

    My short term memory is now shot, but since I can’t remember what I forgot, it doesn’t bother me. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Karin Constable

    I agree-lists are good-but my non-organized very creative homeschooling sister who doesn’t use lists at all thinks it means being rigid and strictly adhearing to the list-and it doesn’t-it’s like a recipe, you can do it and you can use most of it-or you can change it a bit and adapt and at least you know it so it is incorporated into the day somewhere else, or you continue it the next day or bring it with you! That’s where the figuring out what works for you as a homeschooler comes in! You’ll get it-you’re blogs will be much different next year (except the figuring out the curriculum bit-there’s always more to look at!) πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. Time for a new post!

    Reply
  8. Wow this is like me. Structure in my life is a love hate thing. I know I need it, but rebel against it. Love the feeling when I have a day that was well planned and actually went smoothly, yet I fight the process. Been through MANY different plans to get my life scheduled in a way that my body would NOT try and rebel against. The results is always the same, a struggle against my flesh. Grr. Hopefully there will be a day in my future where I can say I DONT struggle with this as much.

    Homeschooling. Always favored that since even before I became a mom. But Tanner has always been against it. In recent days it has come to my attention that because Tate has had SO MUCH trouble with distractions at school that they are thinking about making him repeat 1st grade and due to MY experience of being held back in school I am adamantly against the idea. I told Tanner I’d rather homeschool him than make him feel like something is “wrong” with him by holding him back. But that’s a whole other story in itself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

