RSS Feed

Words To Live By

Posted on

 

Lately, I’ve been feeling

doubtful

sad

yes even hateful at times

As recently as this morning I’ve sought to be consoled

My heart has been heavy.

And then I read this:

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred…let me sow love.
Where there is injury…pardon.
Where there is doubt…faith.
Where there is despair…hope.
Where there is darkness…light
Where there is sadness…joy.
Oh Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled…as to console.
To be understood…as to understand.
To be loved…as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned.
It is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

St. Francis of Assissi

We’ve all read this before (right?!)….

I know I have read it and heard it a hundred times.

But reading it when you feel like I’ve felt

gives it new weight

on my heart.

 

4 responses »

  1. Weird, Brandy, I was praying this today. I prayed, Lord, Make me your instrument, your instrument of peace. Your instrument of Love.

    Dustin and I are going through some major stress right now and I am afraid I have added to it. I just don’t know how to communicate to him my needs, and our needs, and not have it hurt him. It’s just too much, I am afraid, so I pray God helps me be His instrument of peace.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for *speaking* to me today!

    I definitely needed it!

    Much love, friend. ❤

    Reply
    • I miss you. I’m having a “I need a good cry” sort of day. LOL Like the cry you have from relief. hahaha!

      However, I’m going outside to clean the garage. It’s “warm” and sunny here today! 51* baby! OH YEAH! hahaha!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

