RSS Feed

One thing I did today….

Posted on

Watched this video on Spirit Television…. non stop Christian music videos all day. It’s like the radio, but better! πŸ˜‰

Anyway, I was walking into the room for something, and noticed the video more than the song. I’ve heard the song a thousand times (thank you certain radio stations for your small selection) but never paid THAT MUCH attention to the words. Until I saw the video.

And I cried.

Sat there with tears in my eyes wondering how often I’ve been part of that group that doesn’t notice. Wondered how often I’ve been that one that has noticed and said something. My bet is I’ve been one more than the other.

Music doesn’t speak to everyone the same way. For me though, it’s more powerful than a Sunday sermon at times.

There are some who say certain “christian bands” are cheesy, or lack real musical talent. I say you can’t underestimate what God can do even through the “cheese.” If it speaks to someone’s heart in any way, then it’s beneficial.

DOES ANYBODY HEAR HER

She is running
A hundred miles an hour in the wrong direction
She is trying but the canyon’s ever widening
In the depths of her cold heart
So she sets out on another misadventure just to find
She’s another two years older
And she’s three more steps behind

Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?
Or does anybody even know she’s going down today?
Under the shadow of our steeple
With all the lost and lonely people
Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me
Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?

She is yearning for shelter and affection
That she never found at home
She is searching for a hero to ride in
To ride in and save the day
And in walks her prince charming
And he knows just what to say
Momentary lapse of reason
And she gives herself away

Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?
Or does anybody even know she’s going down today?
Under the shadow of our steeple
With all the lost and lonely people
Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me
Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?

If judgment looms under every steeple
If lofty glances from lofty people
Can’t see past her scarlet letter
And we’ve never even met her

If judgment looms under every steeple
If lofty glances from lofty people
Can’t see past her scarlet letter
And we’ve never even met her
Never even met her, never even met her

Does anybody hear her? Does anybody see?
Or does anybody even know she’s going down today?
Under the shadow of our steeple
With all the lost and lonely people
Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me

Does anybody hear her? Does anybody see?
Does anybody even know she’s going down today?
Under the shadow of our steeple
With all the lost and lonely people
Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me
Does anybody hear her? Does anybody see?

He is running a hundred miles an hour
In the wrong direction

10 responses »

  1. We all too often get caught up in our own drama to notice someone else’s.

    When we find a person in need we should try to help get them moving in what we believe is the right direction, because life without faith is very, very hard.

    Life often takes us down the wrong path. That’s okay, live and learn. The important thing is to keep looking for the right trail, don’t let disappointment stop us, until we find the faith we need.

    Reply
  2. yes, I”ve seen that video too-very sad! I feel like that too that we ignore those new people or “outsiders” from our cliques-which is why I loved MOPS-it was intentional and I had a place to intentionally and purposely engage in conversations with people I would normally not take the initiative to go over and talk to. I read somewhere that being “shy” is a selfishness because God made us for relationships, we don’t form those being “shy” so I had to get over my “introverted-ness”. Good video-great reminder!

    Reply
    • Funny, I feel this year like I’ve not connected with any new moms at all and don’t even know their names. 😦 The mornings go so fast.

      I’ve heard that about being shy too…. not sure I agree entirely, but I understand that theory.

      Reply
  3. my heart just sank wondering how many times. how many times did i stand there laughing in a group and miss it.

    miss that moment when i was supposed to be the one. sigh.

    Reply
  4. I still remember the incredible feeling that rushed over me when Bill put his hand on my shoulder in a church where I crept in and attended about a month of Sundays… We all just want to be seen. to be known. Never saw the video before now. Pretty powerful.

    Reply
    • Ric, I am so so so so so so sooooo guilty of rushing into church and rushing right back out without saying a word to anyone else. Part of me hates meeting new people on my own. I’m fine to be introduced to them, but it if I have to go up to them….. I’m screaming on the inside with a smile on the outside. ha! I’m also very guilty of doing that because we have other things to get to and I don’t like just standing around….. Everything I do it seems is done in a rush. I need to slow down! πŸ˜‰

      So glad Bill (who is??) reached out to you that day. Literally. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  5. Funny that Eds very first sentence says it all. Nuff said.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

