RSS Feed

4 days in….

Posted on

…. and I’m totally beat. Four days into my new “sleeping” schedule and I am a walking zombie. How on earth do you early risers do it?! And how long will it take my body to adjust?! So far the earliest I’ve gotten up is 5:30, and by noon I am totally, completely, out of my mind tired. Last night I went to bed at 7:30. 7:30!!! 😯 That’s not cool.Β  Tomorrow my alarm will be set for 5. I dread the day I have to get up at 4. Please dear Lord let it be another week or two before I have to do that. Seriously, that’s my morning prayer this week.

Coffee is out….tried that and it makes me absolutely jittery and anxious. And it was only one cup. Soda, out of the question. Gave that up (except for the occasional soda when we go out….which is starting to taste quite gross) and feel so much better for it. Today I tried some motrin and an Arbonne fizzy tab…. which is actually working. My friend gave me the fizzy tab, and does every once in a while when I’ve hit a brick wall. Thinking I’m actually going to have to BUY them now. πŸ˜†

My biggest lament about this new schedule though isn’t even the early wake up call….it’s the early bedtime, even though when it arrives I’m more than happy to sleep. I miss being able to watch a movie by myself at night after the boys go to bed! (I say “miss” like I’ve being doing this for four months as opposed to just four days!) My netflix movie came yesterday and I’m so bummed that I can’t really watch it until this weekend. Lame! However, I’m thinking of staying up til 9 so I can watch it tonight…. think I’ll regret that? Maybe.

Despite all this though, I’m excited to TRY this “working” thing again. It’s been 6 years since I’ve “worked” and with this being such a small job, I think it’ll be fun for me. I’m nervous too. Starting something new always leaves you with the thought that you might fail…. and I hate failing. So this year I am taking on three new things….all three I could fail at horribly…. so I’m a bit anxious and stressed just thinking about them. One being this job, the other being homeschooling, and the third…. I can’t publicly say yet, but if you stick around until May I can tell you then. πŸ˜‰Β 

I’m rather excited about what this next year holds for me, even though it also holds the chance of bombing hard. I’ve started to realize that I will never do anything if I don’t start trying new things for fear of failing…. and if you know me at all….you know I fear pretty much everything, failure being pretty near the top. Part of me says “I will NOT fail! I can’t fail!” but I know that pretty much sets me up to fail for sure at that point. So, I head into these things with the knowledge that none of them are set in stone, but that I will try my best at all of them with the hopes that I do them well. Not perfect, but well.

Perfection is a whole other post all in itself. πŸ˜•

10 responses »

  1. Brandy, any major change, like a new job, or changing your sleep hours, will take time to adjust to, maybe a week, or even longer. Our bodies like a nice consistent routine.

    I can’t think of any valuable advice other than that one day you will wake up knowing you can do this, whatever this is.

    Til then just hang in there. Said the retired guy who has thrown away his clocks. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I LOVE that have thrown away your clocks!!! When we go camping I love to not look at the time and just see how our day goes. It’s nice not living by clocks sometimes, but day to day I couldn’t do it! I rely too much on “what time is it?!”

      Thanks for the pep talk too. You’re always good for those! πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. Laura Slattery

    Hi Brandy,

    Loving your blog…especially since I can’t talk with you on facebook. I respect your diligence and determination on making this new schedule work. As a fellow “night person” I don’t think I could “ever” do it. I will be praying for you. You can do all things through Christ…

    Love ya, Laura

    Reply
    • oooh! I’m so glad you’re here! I confess though, the last two mornings I did not keep to my routine b/c of things around here that kept me up late two nights in a row…. tonight though…back on the wagon!

      I hope you become a regular around here! πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  3. BRANDY!!!! I found you! I’ve missed your face. PS I enrolled in Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University…I think the last time we talked, the subject was debt…yes? no?

    Reply
    • YESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!! You found me! I found you too…. if you’ll notice you are on my blogroll. πŸ˜‰ I didn’t comment though. 😳 I don’t always comment. I’m a quiet lurker. πŸ˜†

      YES. DEBT. ugh! I’m so glad you enrolled in that though! Is it working??? Our problem now will be not using the CC we just paid off or the line of credit. What we have left is the camping trailer and the truck…. and those two are non-negotiables. πŸ˜• I’ve tried. πŸ˜†

      One more week until I’m back to FB…although, I can’t believe I’m saying this… I don’t really WANT to come back. I’ve decided that I’m going to severely limit my “friends” on there though and then totally block myself so no more people can find me! 😯 Then maybe it won’t be so “busy” anymore. LOL

      Reply
  4. I sure miss your facebook! But you and your family are always in our prayers. Love you Little One! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Oh my gosh I didn’t know you and Chrissy found each other on here. Funny. Well, she probably DID tell me she found you, and I probably just forgot. That’d just about figure. She will probably respond to this…….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

