RSS Feed

Jars Of Clay

Posted on

I have always loved Jars Of Clay. They were one of the very first Christian bands I listened to, one of the first Christian CD’s I ever bought…. or maybe it was a tape?? 😕  This first song has always been a heart favorite, and the second I just find beautiful.  I included the lyrics to follow along with. I love reading the words to a song while listening it…. one of my favorite things to do when I buy a CD (yes, I still buy them) is sit and listen to all of the songs while reading all the lyrics all in one sitting.  Hearing and singing the words is one thing, reading them always seems to give them more weight for me.

Enjoy, and have a great weekend!

In open fields of wild flowers,
she breathes the air and flies away
She thanks her Jesus for the daises and the roses
in no simple language
Someday she’ll understand the meaning of it all

He’s more than the laughter or the stars in the heavens
As close a heartbeat or a song on her lips
Someday she’ll trust Him and learn how to see Him
Someday He’ll call her and she will come running
and fall in His arms and the tears will fall down and she’ll pray,

“I want to fall in love with You”

Sitting silent wearing Sunday best
The sermon echoes through the walls
A great salvation through it calls to the people
who stare into nowhere, and can’t feel the chains on their souls

He’s more than the laughter or the stars in the heavens
As close a heartbeat or a song on our lips
Someday we’ll trust Him and learn how to see Him
Someday He’ll call us and we will come running
and fall in His arms and the tears will fall down and we’ll pray,

“I want to fall in love with You”

It seems too easy to call you “Savior”,
Not close enough to call you “God”
So as I sit and think of words I can mention
to show my devotion

“I want to fall in love with You”

“my heart beats for You”

You have led me to the sadness
I have carried this pain
On a back bruised, nearly broken
I’m crying out to You
I will sing of Your mercy
That leads me through valleys of sorrow
To rivers of joy

When death like a gypsy
Comes to steal what I love
I will still look to the heavens
I will still seek your face

But I fear you aren’t listening
Because there are no words
Just the stillness and the hunger
For a faith that assures

I will sing of Your mercy
That leads me through valleys of sorrow
To rivers of joy

Alleluia, alleluia
Alleluia, alleluia

While we wait for rescue
With our eyes tightly shut
Face to the ground using our hands
To cover the fatal cut

Though the pain is an ocean
Tossing us around, around, around
You have calmed greater waters
Higher mountains have come down

3 responses »

  1. love those two songs! and i do the exact same with songs…they just don’t hold as much weight until i’ve really dug into the lyrics

    Reply
  2. Hi, Sorry I have taken so long to comment back! 😯 Shameful!

    Glad to know someone else obsesses over reading the lyrics like I do! My husband thinks I’m sorta nutso about it. 😆

    Reply
  3. First song….Such a timeless classic. I love love LOVE it.

    Second song….some songs just bring tears. This is one of em.

    Thanks for sharing friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

