RSS Feed

Holy

Posted on

Ephesians 5:19
Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord…

I woke up this morning with this song in my heart and all morning I’ve been singing it under my breath, repeating the chorus over and over to myself. Even when I’m not singing in under my breath it’s on repeat in my head.

This next song, What Do I Know Of Holy by Addison Road, I think I can safely say is my favorite song. I don’t really do favorites much, if ever, especially with songs. They stick with me for a few weeks, maybe a couple months, and then I find something else to listen to non-stop. This song however, came to me at a time when I was really seeking God in His most Holy of ways, needing to know His holiness in a way I never needed before. Even still, this song resonates so deep within me that I have to stop what I’m doing and just meditate on the words. It is such a great song to lead you into a place of worship.

“Then I caught a glimpse of who You might be
The slightest hint of You brought me down to my knees”

Those two lines always remind me that when we really SEE God for WHO HE IS, even just a hint, it will always leave us in amazement and wonderous awe. Please, listen….

7 responses »

  1. Debbie Chisolm

    I’m so glad you like my daughter’s song. Even when she was a little girl she always had a heart for being in a real relationship with God and a desire to know the Holy. Hope you get a chance to go to her blog so you can know why she wrote that song…… jennysimmons.com

    grace,
    dc

    Reply
  2. Wow, I am honored that you commented! Thank you.

    I will be sure to check out her site and the history of the song.

    I bought the cd that has this song on it last weekend and it’s been on constant repeat. I’m loving learning the rest of the cd. In fact I had an entire post about that as well, but haven’t finished it yet. Your daughter (and the rest of her band) are amazing songwriters, and her voice I absolutely love. I don’t have an ounce of musical capabilities, but music speaks to my soul.

    Again, thank you!

    Reply
  3. Debbie, would you mind leaving a link to the post that tells why she wrote that song?? Thanks!

    Reply
  4. LOve both those songs… am I safe to assume you are back to blogging???? My heart leaps with joy!

    Reply
  5. yes ma’am! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  6. MUSIC MINISTERS TO ME SO DEEPLY. Thanks for sharing these two songs. They are favorites of mine as well.

    Reply
  7. Erin, same here. I have such an admiration of anyone with the slightest bit of musical talent….as I have none. πŸ˜‰ Musical is the main way I worship, the main way I choose to share with others, and the biggest way that God speaks to me. Always. If I could sit in a worship service on Friday night instead of going out with friends, I’d do that hands down. When I was younger I used to say that my vision of heaven was nonstop singing. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

