RSS Feed

Rockin’ It

Posted on

It’s no secret to anyone who knows me how much I love me some music. πŸ˜‰ Here are two songs I’m lovin’ right now. There are some songs I like to listen to because they’re catchy. Others I like because the music is pretty. Then there are those that move me in the deepest ways, leave me speechless, with goosebumps, tears in my eyes, and breathless from belting it out with my whole heart and my hands reaching high. Enjoy!

Then there’s a new one I heard at church. Dancing Generation. To be honest, at first, I was like “what the heck are all these people doin dancing all over the place?!” 😯 And then I focused on the words and remembered that the Bible talks about dancing in praise to God. This video, I kid you not, is what it looked like in church when I heard it. πŸ˜† It was overwhelming and amazing at the same time. People younger than me, men and women older than my grandma, the woman in the business suit, the man in the biker jacket, the grandma with her hair “just so” and the shy looking guy in the back row…..all giving praises in the form of dancing. And when I say dancing I mean more of like what you see in this video. I was so excited to see so many different people joining together for one purpose. I wish the lyrics were on this video, but they are clear enough to understand. πŸ˜‰ Enjoy!

8 responses »

  1. Ohhhh this was such a great post. I love music to. Can’t play it. Can’t sing. But boy oh boy how it fixes my soul. Loved the songs. Especially the first.

    xoxox,
    R

    Reply
  2. Hi dear one. I tagged you: http://roxannekristina.blogspot.com/2009/03/ive-been-tagged-by-annie-at-having-ball.html
    Have fun.
    Bag it if you are not interested.
    xoxo,
    R

    Reply
  3. don’t you love that you get down in church same as you do at home to natasha?

    Reply
  4. I enjoyed all three videos.

    “I Will Rise” was sung with a lot of passion.

    I like the lyrics to “God of the City” and it had an infectious pop beat.

    “Dancing Generation” has the hard driving beat of Rock & Roll. A great tune to dance to. I can imagine DAO dancing to it. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing them.

    Reply
  5. and i just had me some church!

    god of this city is such a relevant song for our church right now. reaching out – going out into the community.

    its what its all about!

    Reply
  6. Roxx, I can’t sing or play to save my life! 😯 But yes, how it fixes to soul!! Love it. And I did that tag on Facebook, I’ll have to take my top ones and move them over here. πŸ˜‰ Do you have FB???

    Alece, I love that you remembered my love of all songs Natasha! πŸ˜† And yes, I do love that I can “get down” at church, same as at home. Well….. lets be real here…not QUITE the same. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

    Ed, I LOVED your take on each song! I had a hunch you’d appreciate this post. πŸ˜‰ ♥

    Tam, πŸ˜€ God Of This City IS a relevant song right now. It just gives me chills everytime I hear it. It’s amazing. I found a youtube video of the lead singer of Bluetree talking about what the song is about, what inspired it, and so on. It brought me to tears….human trafficking. 😦 So so sad.

    Reply
  7. Love the “God of this City” song. We’ve sung that often in my church lately. We are trying to stir up a movement in our community. This song is perfect for that.

    And the “Dancing Generation” looks fun. We’ve had times where we are just hopping around like that. Makes you almost feel like you are at a concert “back in the day”. I love when everyone gets going like that though, there’s this thickness in the air and you can feel God all around you. It’s awesome. All songs should bring everyone to dancing like this. I love it.

    Good post. Sorry I’ve been so sparse lately lady. Had a lot on my mind. Just sort of trying to survive. Looking forward to less stressful times in my life. Sure hope things are okay in your neck of the woods. Much love lady.

    Reply
  8. WE used to sing Dancing Generation at church all the time. And I love God of this City….
    Glad you are opening up to dancing at church and especially this church… church is so needed…. I wish we found one we fit in. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

