RSS Feed

Please Explain!

Posted on

Okay, I need help friends. Dylan had to sit with me during worship in church yesterday because that is just what they decided to do with is class….worship with parents and then go to class. It was nice having him there, but THEN….

A lady two seats in front of us busted out in some tongues, and Dylans teacher who was behind us was chanting in tongues.Β  😯 I leaned down to whisper in Dylans ear that I would explain it to him later if he thought it was weird and he YELLED (b/c of the music) “What’s weird Mommy?!”Β  πŸ˜†Β  But then he kept staring and asking why she was talking weird and it was just a whole big deal. Anyway, I wasn’t entirely uncomfortable. I would have been fine if Dylan hadn’t of been there but I was more worried about what he was thinking and if it scared him at all. And to be honest, what I do know about speaking in tongues is very little. And the little bit that I do know is a bit confusing.

So, if you have any knowledge in this area, please feel free to enlighten me here! πŸ˜‰ And I still haven’t explained it to Dylan. I have the makings of an explaination in my head, but now I’m just waiting to see if he brings it up at all.

THANKS!

and p.s. the church is Assembly of God, which I know nothing about, but so far I LOVE this church. πŸ˜‰

18 responses »

  1. Speaking in tongues is simply another spiritual gift. It is available for anyone who desires to have it. I must say up front that I believe alot of churches place WAY to much emphasis on the lack or possession of this gift. Those who have the gift of tongues are no more spiritual than those followers of Christ that don’t. It is simply a tool that the Holy Spirit will give us if we desire it to empower us.

    Speaking in toungues simplified is: A personal prayer language. It is the Holy Spirit praying through us. Often time when we don’t know what to pray. One speaking in tongues doesn’t know what they are saying. Although, there are some people who also have the gift of interpretation of tongues. Often times in a service if someone speaks in tongues outloud where everyone hears and it is a prominent message meant to be heard by the whole body of Christ, there must always be an interpreter there to interprete the meaning of the message in tongues. God is not the author of confusion. So the message was intended to edify the whole body of Christ, not to draw attention to the person speaking it.

    I could probably give a more in depth description of it, but I don’t wanta hijack your entire comment area. πŸ˜‰ I just know that I was raised Independent Baptist and was taught growing up that speaking in tongues was of the devil. However, I married a Pentacostal man…..Need I say more? We have both since found a middle ground a attend a non-denominational, spirit filled church that we absolutely LOVE. Regardless of what I was taught as a child, and my hesitation to believe in the gifts of the Holy Spirit and being filled with the Holy Spirit. When I opened myself up to the possibility of it, and told God that if it really was real, I wanted it. He filled me with His Spirit with evidence of speaking in tongues and as wierd as it sounds to some people, no one could tell me it’s not real. It’s amazing!

    Email me if you have any questions. Hope this helps a little. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Your entire second paragraph I completely agree with. The part I have a hard time with is saying that God will give it to us if we desire to have it. Like we can pick and choose our gifts….. I thought the scripture said God gives them as He desires, as he sees fit?? That is the part I am confused about. What if I wanted a certain gift? Do I just say I want it? (I’m not saying I do, just using that as an example.) Why does it only pertain to tongues??

    I had someone explain it to me like salvation. Salvation is there for you if you just accept it. It won’t be put upon you, but it’s there for you. Same with tongues, it’s there for you but won’t be forced upon you. I can’t say that I believe that entirely, and I wonder WHY it’s particular to tongues as far as gifts go.

    And with what happened yesterday, there was no interpreting by another person. After she spopke in tongues she also said stuff in english with the same passion and tone she spoke in tongues with. I wondered if that was her trying to interpret it?? But then again, I also thought those who spoke it didn’t know what they were saying…. that is the confusing part. Jake said that makes it really easy for someone to fake it. Claiming that they can interpret what they have said.

    We both grew up non-denominational so living in an area where non-denominational is UNHEARD of is kind of hard. But really, even with what happened yesterday, I do like this church a lot. I just want to understand more and be able to explain it to Dylan if he is going to be seeing more of it. y/k??

    Then there is Jake. He is the biggest skeptic between the two of us and when he found out about yesterday he gave me “the eye” πŸ˜† HA! He said “and you LIKE this church??” I just figure that it’s not my place to judge a whole church by a few people y/k?? I don’t know…. I just know that I know next to nothing about tongues or understanding it. It’s a WHOLE OTHER world to me. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. I didn’t grow up believing that tongues were a legitimate gift — we were taught that it was no longer valid as it was a power God gave the apostles at Pentacost…allowing them to speak legitimate languages during their messages at Pentacost so that everybody there would understand. I’ve since adjusted my thinking on that…but Paul does tell the churches that they should not allow tongues to be spoken in a group without someone there to interpret. If these folks’ “tongues” are not being interpreted to the group, then I believe they should be doing it in private so as not to add confusion to the service.
    The thing to be careful of is if they tell you you NEED to speak in tongues in order to prove or validate your salvation to them — or to be saved. THAT is NOT scriptural…but some charismatic churches require that for salvation.
    I’ve heard somebody speak in tongues once out at Trail, but when nobody offered a translation, they asked the person to sit down. Pastor Rick has said that he has prayed in tongues as well, but will never do it in an assembly because he doesn’t feel it edifies anybody else…it’s really only for the person who is doing it at the time, unless there is someone to interpret it to the body.
    I’m not sure if there is a way to explain it to Dyl, except to tell him it is a prayer language or something. I’m not sure he would understand it until he’s older.

    hope you find the answers you need…
    love you!

    Reply
  4. Bwan – it might not be something you do all that often? but i recommend when you have a question concerning God you read Scripture ( a good computer search program for your preferrred bible should help you!)

    As for Tongues if you read 1 Corinthians Ch 12 to 14 ( they are not too long at all and in the middle is ‘love’s Creed! πŸ™‚ ) you will probably find everything you need to know and to tell Dylan – or anyone else who might ask πŸ™‚

    G-M is correct – the Apostles were to be identified as those who believed in Christ and were sent in His name by reason of their speaking in tongues, prophesying, healing the sick, picking up serpents and drinking poisons and not being harmed – etc. They were given the same powers Jesus had to help mankind turn to God – the same as any who desired it and could love God with ALL their hearts and were shown how to by the (original) Apostles and who could then do as they did down throughout the ages.

    Speaking in tongues is mostly a PERSONAL gift from Him – one we are told we CAN seek ( and even should seek – read I Cor 14) along with Prophesy, healing, interpretation ( of tongues) and others.

    Prophesy is said to be the most useful gift for a church since it speaks to all in the church – not just to the person ‘speaking’.

    We should also be VERY aware as 1 Cor 13 says… if we have these gift(s) but do not at the same time also have His Love in us and in our hearts – they are as being useless to us to have.

    Love is the key – and the greatest ‘gift’ we can ask for or receive.

    πŸ™‚

    <B

    Reply
  5. As for kids and tongues, it’s only weird if we make it weird to them. This is my opinion and what I have witnessed. My kids have been around tongues since they were little, though they do not hear it all the time. I do not run around speaking in tongues every day, though I honestly should.

    There are two kinds of tongues, tongues used in prophecy and that is the one that is a spiritual gift like you were referring to, Brandy. Tongues as a prayer language is offered to all. It is the baptism of the Holy Spirit. You can use it as you will cause the H.S. lives inside of us and is always praying for us in this language in our spirits. I can get you a few scriptures on this if you desire.

    The good news is tongues or believing in tongues does NOT make us any more a christian and does not get us into Heaven. It’s just something God has given us to deepen our spiritual walk with Him I believe that you can be spirit filled without the evidence of speaking in tongues like people “chanting” a strange language.

    Have you ever wept in prayer and groaned? I believe this is also “tongues” in a way, cause it is the Holy Spirit praying through you.

    Anyway… don’t freak out about tongues…. it is harmless…

    Reply
  6. Oh and I meant to say, even though I do not pray in tongues often around my kids, they are never weirded out by hearing it when they do. Questions are good, that is a good time to teach them and reassure them. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Okay, for anyone who wants to take this, feel free! πŸ˜‰ Someone once explained it to me like it was here….that it is free to those who ask, like salvation. However, when I read 1 Corinthians 12: 1-11, it never states that. In fact, verse 11 says “All these are the work of one and the same Spirit (Holy Spirit), and HE distributes them to each one, just as HE DETERMINES. (caps are mine)

    (See Love, I DO refer to scripture from time to time πŸ˜‰ )

    Anna, please do pass those scriptures on! πŸ˜‰

    Anyway, my point (or question rather) is this: why is TONGUES the only gift free for the taking? or asking, if you will?? When it says that each gift the Holy Spirit Himself will distribute? It doesn’t say that if we ask for it we get it. Does my curiosity make sense?? Does it make sense how I right now don’t completely understand, especially with the scripture I stated??

    And I just want to say, I’m not trying to dispute it, AT ALL. I completely believe in tongues, in the gift of tongues, that people speak it, etc. I am just having a hard time wrapping my brain around the idea that we can just ask for it and it’s there for us just like that. y/k? Does that pertain to ALL spiritual gifts? why or why not?

    Reply
  8. Brandy, Paul says to seek all the gifts…including tongues. But he understood as you have just said, that God will distribute for His own needs and that means that even if we want them, we may never get them. Or, we may only have them for a period of time. That’s ok. Tongues is alive and well. If the Spirit chooses to work through us, in the form of tongues, then we should consider it a blessing. If we see others with the gift, we should seek it, for what God might do through us as well. Unfortunately, tongues have been the most abused gift(both the misuse of and the teaching of), that people often have a bad taste about it. But, we should openly accept it and study it and ask God to clearly show us how they can…if at all…be a part of our lives.

    Reply
  9. great reply Brent. I have to say Brandy that even though when I was filled with the Holy Spirit and spoke in tongues as an initial evidence, for me it hasn’t happened since. Not that I don’t want it to, but apparently it isn’t one of the main gifts that God chooses to work in me on a regular basis. I’m totally okay with that. I’m just open either way. Does that make any sense?

    Reply
  10. B and Rachel, totally get what you guys are saying. πŸ˜‰ And yes, makes sense.

    I appreciate everyones take on this. Like I said before, I’m totally not disputing it, just trying to understand it more clearly as it was never something I grew up knowing about or learning about at all.

    Brent, I agree that it has been abused to the point where it leaves a bad taste in peoples mouths….. unfortunately all I knew about tongues in the beginning was that side of it. I wish I had learned about it correctly from the get go.

    Reply
  11. Love you and love this processing above. In hurry but wanted to say hi really quick.

    xoxox,
    R

    Reply
  12. Bwan, be strong and hope your health goes where you and he will it to be πŸ˜‰

    Here’s another way of looking at the ‘gift’ ( not that there is anything wrong with the great comments so far of course! πŸ˜‰ )

    You are Dylan’s Parent – do you give Dylan every good gift when He asks for it? or do you know that sometimes even if the gift is a good one for Him that he is not asking for it in the ‘right’ way or for the right reason and that by tomorrow he may well have ‘forgotten’ he even wanted it?

    Our Heanvenly Father is not ‘mean’ and does not deny us truly good things when we earnestly seek them – but the human beings we are may not always, at every time, know what is the ‘best’ gifts we are to seek and we may need to ‘change’ in some way before a specific good gift is best able to be appreciated and used to His Purpose and glory.

    And as B said – Paul tells us to seek ALL the good gifts of the spirit and that the gift of prophesy ( not restricted to speaking it in tongues) is the greatest gift we can seek as it can be of benefit all who hear it – not only the ‘speaker’.

    5 Now I would have you all speak with tongues, but rather that ye should prophesy: and greater is he that prophesieth than he that speaketh with tongues, except he interpret, that the church may receive edifying.
    6 But now, brethren, if I come unto you speaking with tongues, what shall I profit you, unless I speak to you either by way of revelation, or of knowledge, or of prophesying, or of teaching?
    ( 1 cor 14)

    and

    22 Wherefore tongues are for a sign, not to them that believe, but to the unbelieving: but prophesying [is for a sign], not to the unbelieving, but to them that believe.
    23 If therefore the whole church be assembled together and all speak with tongues, and there come in men unlearned or unbelieving, will they not say that ye are mad?
    24 But if all prophesy, and there come in one unbelieving or unlearned, he is reproved by all, he is judged by all;
    25 the secrets of his heart are made manifest; and so he will fall down on his face and worship God, declaring that God is among you indeed.
    26 What is it then, brethren? When ye come together, each one hath a psalm, hath a teaching, hath a revelation, hath a tongue, hath an interpretation. Let all things be done unto edifying
    (! cor 14)

    and lastly ( for now! πŸ˜‰ )

    27 If any man speaketh in a tongue, [let it be] by two, or at the most three, and [that] in turn; and let one interpret:
    28 but if there be no interpreter, let him keep silence in the church; and let him speak to himself, and to God.
    29 And let the prophets speak [by] two or three, and let the others discern.
    30 But if a revelation be made to another sitting by, let the first keep silence.
    31 For ye all can prophesy one by one, that all may learn, and all may be exhorted;
    ( 1 Cor 14)

    and if you REALLY want some controversy – read the rest of that chapter – and remember… this is the inspired word of God – Right?

    We believe in God and The Word… don’t we?? πŸ˜‰

    <B

    Reply
  13. sorry im late. i cant add anything that hasnt already been said. brent and i have talked A LOT about this subject…so naturally, im in agreement with him.

    tongues is alive today.

    we have a friend on the east coast that was praying with a little girl while on a short missions trip. in the middle of him praying, he began speaking in an unknown language to him (tongues). he was pretty startled. when he was done praying, the little girl asked him if he knew what he was saying. he said he didnt. hed never done that before. she informed him that he had just spoken in her native tongue. and he spoke a pretty beautiful word over her too.

    that moment of tongues was not for his benefit, but for hers.

    Reply
  14. wow Tam, that story gives me goosebumps! Thanks for coming on over, and I knew once Brent had left a comment yours would echo his. πŸ˜‰ Love you guys.

    I’ve actually been doing some of my own reading on it LOVE πŸ˜‰ and it really helped my comfort level and perspective of it change. In fact, Love, I was reading more of what you quoted here and farther on in that chapter and DANG! talk about controversial. Now I have something new to wonder about and ask questions about. πŸ˜‰ Women need to keep silent in church? WHA?! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  15. Hey Roxx!!! Thanks for saying hey! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  16. just want to say that i’m proud of you for asking these sorta questions. most people are afraid to.

    i love you.

    Reply
  17. Ya know, I am so glad I did because I spent some time this week looking into it more on my own, as well as taking what everyone here did. I feel like I have a totally new understanding and appreciation for it. However, I now have a few MORE questions. πŸ˜† HA!! It’s like LOST, answer one question, get a few more. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  18. what everyone here SAID I mean. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

