RSS Feed

Eventful Weekend….for us. ;-)

Posted on

Friday night Jake and I did get to go on our date. We ate at the bowling alley due to time limits. Lucky the food there is just as good! Plus we like the guy who works there. πŸ˜‰ He is always so nice and chatty. After we ate we went across the street to the theater for Benjamin Button. OH MY WORD that movie is good. So good. And so long. Didn’t realize it wasΒ a 3 hour long movie! 😯 When we left the theater I said to Jake “that was an AWFUL HORRIBLE MOVIE! Just horrible!” meaning “it was brutally awesome.” He said “yeah, that was not good at the end.” πŸ˜† The movie kind of left us in a quiet state on the way home. It was THAT good. At one point I said to Jake “I can’t believe how worked up I got over such a horrible TRUE story!” and he looked at me like I was crazy. Clearly I was poking fun at myself because it’s NOT a true story but it was one of those that leaves a mark on you as if it was.

After we got home I took Marlee to the store with me and bought her a soda and a candy bar and then paid her. I also picked up a movie for me and Jake to watch and some champagne.Β  For my bellini mix you know. πŸ˜‰ I took Marlee home and went in and visited with her mom for a bit. We really should hang out with them more often. When I got home we watched the movie I had picked up….Fireproof. Another amazing movie. Yes a bit cheesey in the acting department at times, but the message of the movie overpowered that 100x over for me. I told Jake that I got more out of the movie on a personal level than I did on a marriage level. Yes it was a good marriage movie, but there were some key moments where I was like “nice God, real nice, I KNOW okay?!” πŸ˜† When it was over Jake said “I think I should probably be doing that stuff too” meaning the “Love Dare” that they husband does in the movie. I’m glad Jake pointed that out himself. πŸ˜‰

Saturday we slept in LATE. I’m not even going to say how late b/c it is THAT embarrassing. I did however get up when the boys (Dylan and Aidan) did and made them breakfast. After that they played and colored so nicely on their own and let us sleep. I felt guilty when I got up though. Whenever I sleep longer than they do on the weekends I have that twinge of Mom Guilt, but I need to remember this is our new normal. We don’t have the reprieve of my momΒ anymore to keep them overnight or take them in the morning like we did before. And with Jake working nights we can’t switch off like we were before either. Luckily Owen sleeps in late or else there would be NO sleeping in. I think D and A would eat him alive if that happened. πŸ˜†

After I got up and around I decided that I didn’t want to sit home all day so I got myself and the boys ready to go into town to eat. Jake finally decided to get up and go with us so we just went to the BX first to eat and shop for a few things we needed. Then we came home to check something and decided to stay because they were all HORRIBLE. Dylan completely defied me in the bathroom at the BX by REFUSING to wash his hands. I mean outright refusing. I finally managed to fenagle his hands under the faucet and get them washed (he is SO STRONG!) and then I gave him the paper towels to dry with and THREW THEM ON THE FLOOR. 😯 That was another battle I’d rather have not fought. Needless to say I won, but dang it was frutrating. By that point I was done and wanted to go home. After we ate we went and shopped around and then it was Aidan’s turn. He screamed his head off the whole time in the store and sounded like a dang newborn baby. Owen fussed a bit too. I should be glad that really only one at a time would act up, but dang, it was so hard. When we went out to the truck Owen decided to give his lungs some exercise and started screaming as well. By the time we got home we were SO disappointed in them that we decided to stay home. Well, the boys and I did. Jake was supposed to maybe be meeting people in town to eat so he went ahead and did that and brought food back for me later. πŸ˜‰

Today the boys and I tried out a new church. www.theriverlife.com I was VERY impressed and very happy with it. It was a bit creepy too b/c the pastor there looks EXACTLY like our pastor at home. EXACTLY. Has the same body frame, same mannerisms, teaches similar. It was so bizzare. I will say that this church is a bit more charismatic than we are used to, but I will take it over some of the more rigid ones we’ve been too. It’s Assembly of God which is pentacostal which I did not know. πŸ˜† I didn’t know that before going, and I am glad I didn’t. I might have tried it. I absolutely loved it. By the end of the service I was in tears because I was so happy to have found a church that just clicked. I also had to DRAG the boys out of their classrooms. They were having so much fun and didn’t want to leave. I was so happy about that. πŸ˜€ Oh, also, there is a coffee bar at the church. I won’t lie…… I was sold right then. πŸ˜†Β  😯 HAHAHA!!!! After church I took the boys to Buffalo Wild Wings to eat. It’s a sports bar/restaurant. They had been asking for a WEEK to go there so I figured today was as good a day as any. It was bit challenging taking all three of them by myself into a restaurant. Bathroom trips were tricky. πŸ˜† I am glad I did it though b/c now I know I can do it again. πŸ˜‰

I know for certain that the boys and I will keep going back. I’m not sure if Jake will ever go with us b/c of this schedule he is on. And I can’t swear that when he finds out it’s pentacostal and slightly charismatic that he will want to keep going either. Something I need to pray about for sure. All I know is, I felt so comfortable there and such a peace. It was so nice to be around people who were EXCITED to be Christians, EXCITED to be at church, EXCITED to worship. And not one of them afraid of how they looked worshipping. It was nice.

If you read this tonight, pray for Jake. He has a certification tonight that he needs to pass for his job. It starts at 3am. πŸ˜‰

Tomorrow Peanut has an appointment to get his hair cut at 10am. I hope Jake is home in time for that! While that is going on I am going to hang out in town and go to WalMart to pick up some stuff and then maybe go to the mall just to walk around and be out of the house. πŸ˜‰

7 responses »

  1. Wow, that was a busy weekend! [I saw one of your tweets and had to google what a peach bellini was :)]

    Mostly, I’m soooo glad you found a church you love… I know that has been hard for you and I hope it continues to feel like home. Yea You! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I’ll be praying for Jake tonight….hope that cert. goes well.
    Glad you found a church you like — hopefully Jake will at least go and try it out with you at some point!
    Oooohhhh…I thought you really DIDN’T like that movie! ;o)

    love you!
    grnd’momster

    Reply
  3. Gitz, you should become familiar with the bellini. πŸ˜‰

    Joyce, he’s on his way home now so I should have an update soon! πŸ˜‰ And no, we really DID like that movie. πŸ˜† Have you seen it??

    Reply
  4. Just said a prayer for your girly.

    Hope all is well.

    Slowly but surly trying to get into swing of things – our fam has been taking turns getting sick since winter break. Stinks, but I think we are out of the woods.

    Blessings,
    R

    Reply
  5. we charismatics aren’t all bad! πŸ˜‰

    (i even put in an emoticon JUST FOR YOU!)

    i’m so glad you enjoyed the service. SO glad. and that the boys did — man, that’s priceless.

    i laughed that you mentioned buffalo wild wings… my friend calls that place “B-Dubs”… and there’s one near me here. i’ve been wanting to try it. i think you convinced me.

    love you!

    Reply
  6. Hey, I am charismatic and I agree with alece, we aren’t all bad… πŸ˜‰

    I am glad you found a church that you like… and I am super jealous cause we still haven’t…

    And I cannot believed you braved not only church but a restaurant with the three boys by yourself… YOU ARE MY HERO!

    Reply
  7. It’s been so long I’ve visited, I didn’t know your theme changed…again!!!

    Just saw “Benjamin Button” this weekend…SO GOOD! And man! It was long!!! But you know, as long as you’re lookin’ at Brad Pitt, I’m okay with long. πŸ˜†

    Glad you found a church you can enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

