RSS Feed

Gotta Grip

Posted on

Jake comes home in SIX DAYS!! YEAH! Funny enough, I’ve finally got a grip on this whole flying solo thing. Yes my house is still a wreck and I’ve not showered in days, but I’m not feeling all that overwhelmed anymore. My kitchen finally got cleaned, I got some organizing done, and I’m back to cooking dinner instead of the ‘ol BK drive thru. πŸ˜†

Dylan is FINALLY staying in his room at night. Wanna know my trick? I take his alarm clock out of his room when I put him to bed (He LOVES his alarm clock) and I tell him that if he goes to sleep and DOES NOT come downstairs AT ALL, then when he wakes up his alarm clock will be next to his bed. It’s worked everytime so far! The first night he got excited and said “You mean, like a SURPRISE?! Like CHRISMAS?! Like SANTA?!?!?!” hahaha! He was so excited. So, when I go to bed at night and take him to the bathroom, I put his alarm clock on his bed and set it for in the morning, and he ACTUALLY STAYS in his room until it goes off. I’m so amazed that this has worked. I love it. I told Jake I was worried that I was teaching him to ONLY do something if he got a reward, instead of just doing it because he is supposed to. Then I started thinking of it like potty training. When we potty trained him, he got an m&m or a chocolate chip whenever he used the potty. That is what we are doing with Aidan right now too. So, with Dylan, we’re “sleep training.” πŸ˜† HA!! Hey, whatever works right? πŸ˜‰

I’m getting excited for Christmas. While rearraning my living room last night and today (only to put everything back in it’s original spot!) I kept thinking “now where will the tree go?” haha! I always get antsy this time of year b/c I want to decorate, but it’s still too early. However, Jake is going to put up the Christmas lights when he gets back b/c he wants it done before it gets any colder out. It’ll be nice to have that done. Normally we do it the weekend of Thanksgiving so it won’t be TOO much earlier than normal.

Right now the boys are “camping” down in the almost empty playroom. I’m slowly cleaning it out so that when Christmas comes we can put their bounce house down there. My mom and granny are going to go in on that as a joint gift from them to the boys. I’m so excited! They are going to be hysterical over it I’m sure. πŸ˜€ Owen is down for a nap. He has been really tired lately and eating a lot. Growth Spurt! πŸ˜‰

I’ve got to call a dentist tomorrow to get Dylan in ASAP b/c I found TWO cavities in his mouth….both bottom back teeth. 😦 How can I tell you ask? Each tooth has a small HOLE on the outside of it. I was so upset when I found it. I was brushing Dylans teeth the other night and his gums were bleeding in one spot and I noticed he had cut his gums somehow so I was trying to be careful and hold his cheek over so I get the toothbrush in the back…. and I couldn’t get this one spot clean. I used the poker end of the flossers, and it STUCK in the spot. I called my friend who used to work in a dentist office and told her about it and she said DEFINATELY a cavity. I was so sick at my stomach that night thinking about it. 😦 😦 I had a dream that night too that he had blood pouring out of his mouth. I’m not looking forward to how this could turn out. And I’m mad that I never noticed before. WE BRUSH HIS TEETH! And he has mouthwash. I’m sad for him. I found just ONE in Aidan’s mouth, so he needs to get in too. Ugh. It just makes me sick.

Hmmm, I hear yelling and screaming in the playroom now….that’s my cue! πŸ˜†

9 responses »

  1. I love to hear “mommy” talk. Just 6 days huh??!!

    Reply
  2. You make me smile Papa. πŸ˜€ And yes, just 6 days! He’ll be home on Saturday…his birthday! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. ugh!!!! you’re making me want to go check my kids’ teeth right now! I dread that day coming. I’ve never had a cavity, so I know I will freak when I find one in my kids’ mouths. Which I’m sure will happen. My husband’s teeth are cavity prone.

    YEAH!!!!! That Jake is coming home!! I know all of you are SO excited. We would be. Happy birthday to him!

    BTW….the bounce house is way to cool. I looked at the pic. I want one now πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Yea!!! Six more days… so impressed with you gettin’ your grip on, girl. (I just coined that phrase myself…)

    Don’t feel guilty about the cavity thing. As kids we brushed our teeth three times a day and I have more cavities in my mouth than I care to think about. Sometimes people just have weaker teeth. But while you’re at the dentist… ask him what you can do about your jaw!!!!

    Reply
  5. yuck for cavities. and way to go on the alarm clock idea. you’re so creative!

    Reply
  6. I am glad you “gotta grip” on things. LOL.

    Second, cavities…. Man, I understand… My oldest got cavities too by the time she was 4 and I was soooooooo bummed, especially since “I” was the tooth brusher, just like you. But you can only do what you can. Teeth are funny things, some teeth you can do all things right but genetically or something they aren’t that great.

    Reply
  7. Brandy in reading your blog I can see you must have 10 times more energy than me, of course I am 65. πŸ™‚

    I love reading the trials of a mommy of three, from my nice quiet condo. πŸ™‚

    Only 6 more days to go!!!

    Reply
  8. Rachel, yeah, neigthe Jake nor I have the greatest teeth as far as cavities go, and I had braces for several years. Poor kiddos!

    Sara, gettin my grip on. haha! Like that! πŸ˜‰

    Alece, thanks. πŸ˜€ The idea actually came to me b/c he was BEGGING me to set it and I said, “no, in fact I’m taking it away b/c all you do is play with it instead of going to sleep…” and then it clicked. πŸ˜‰

    Anna, I’m sad they got the bad teeth gene. *sigh* I did make appointments today though!! πŸ˜€

    Ed, I really DON’T have that much energy. There’s a reason I don’t leave the house much…. I look like hell after keeping up with them! πŸ˜†
    You’re nice quiet condo sounds appealing right now!!! HAHAHA!!

    Reply
  9. Rachel, I completely misspelled neither up there. What the HECK?! 😯

    Reply

Leave a Reply

