RSS Feed

I Love November

Posted on

I love November. I love Thanksgiving. I love Birthdays.

For our family, we have three birthdays in November…. Aidans, Jakes, and mine. In that order. πŸ˜‰

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday for MYSELF. I love Christmas for the kids, but for me, I love Thanksgiving. Always have. I love it because the focus isn’t on “what am I getting THIS year” or “dang, I have no clue what to get someone.” The focus is on “WOW we have so much to be Thankful for, so lets enjoy a meal together and spend time being a family.” Yes, we do that every night at dinner, but Thanksgiving just seems to put a different spin on it. Not sure why. Maybe it’s the turkey. Maybe it’s the pumpkin pie. Maybe it’s the traditions that go along with it. Even though we won’t be with extended family for Thanksgiving this year (sniff sniff), we are still Thankful for what we do have.

I love November.

What do you like best about Thanksgiving?

10 responses »

  1. October and November are huge birthday months for my family. Actually, make that October to January. Between our siblings, nieces & nephews, and parents, we have: 4 in October; 5 in November (including mine); 2 in December; and 1 the first week of January. Add the holidays to that and it translates into a very busy few months!

    I love the holiday seasons but at times, the holidays themselves get a bit hectic. We seem to be rushing between our families and don’t get as much time as I would like with either. All of our family (his side and mine) lives in the same area we do right now and it gets tricky arranging things so we can be with both sides during the holidays sometimes.

    I have had many holidays away from family, too, and they can be tough. I will pray that you and your family have a fabulous Thanksgiving in spite of being away from extended family.

    Reply
  2. The pumpkin pie and the guilt free nap while my husband watches football. And being with friends and family.

    Reply
  3. To be honest, I’m not big on either Thanksgiving or Christmas. Although I do enjoy some of the food. lol

    Reply
  4. I love family, football and the smell of pumpkin pie.

    Love ya Bran!!

    Reply
  5. Honestly… I can’t go home, probably can’t even leave my house… so I’m thinking eating ramen noodles, watching a little football and maybe get a blog post written?

    Oh, and snuggle with the dog. Can’t forget the dog.

    It’s gonna be pretty darn low-key.

    Reply
  6. Two days after Thanksgiving we head for Florida! Thanksgiving becomes our Christmas with our family – a wonderful time – a very special time.

    Reply
  7. i love that we call it “dinner” but eat at 2…i’m still trying to figure that one out.

    Reply
  8. I love fall! It’s so brisk and the smells! Yum! I love leaving my bedroom window cracked and feeling the little cool breeze. I love breathing cool air and just wearing clothes (jeans and a shirt). Birthdays rock however we have none in November much to my disappointment…sigh…

    Thanksgiving itself is give or take for me. No real purpose yk, so we just do low key at home. I do LOVE that it’s just us as home. *although the MIL thing is bugging me a bit. Last year we tricked her! LOL!*

    Now, if we want to talk about the day after Thanksgiving or Christmas then I am there….

    Reply
  9. that photo collage is gorgeous. this time of year is my favorite (in america)… and i love thanksgiving. my favorite part? i designate a portion of a wall in my home for people to post sticky notes with random things they are thankful for. there’s a stack of post-its and pens available and all throughout the day people continue adding to the thanks wall. with 20+ people here, we end up with quite a few things posted! i love regularly making the rounds to read up on what people have written…

    Reply
  10. April, you have a lot going on in November as well! They way you talk about shuffling between family makes my head hurt. We did that for four years… WITH KIDS! 😯 I am a bit relieved we don’t have to do that, but I’m sure when that day comes, I’ll miss you. πŸ˜†

    Marlen, thank you for coming out of hiding! I’ll have to pop on over and leave some love at your place. πŸ˜‰ And yes, the pumpkin pie…. yummm!

    Amy, what is your favorite holiday then? And yes, the food…. the best! Love that turkey and stuffing and sweet potato pie! πŸ˜†

    Heidi, Love you too! Why do I feel like I miss you so? πŸ˜‰ We must connect!

    Sara, if I could put you in a bubble and float you to my house I would TOTALLY DO IT!!! In a heartbeat!! You’re my sister from another mister. HAHAHAHA! *I* just made THAT up! πŸ˜† hahaha!

    Papa, I’m jealous of your flying south for the winter!! Your Thanksgiving sounds wonderful! πŸ˜€

    Cathi, yeah, never made sense to me either! haha!

    Toni, NO REAL PURPOSE?!?! 😯 I forget though, you live for Christmas. πŸ˜† πŸ˜‰

    Alece, I love that collage. I googled for it. πŸ˜† I LOVE LOVE LOVE your post it idea. I think I might do that here. Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

