RSS Feed

A little update on flying solo

Posted on

I hurt myself. Somehow I hurt my neck and I can barely move it, which makes me cranky and short tempered. And I’m tired. SO TIRED. I will never divorce Jake ever b/c I could never be a single parent. Well, that and I kinda love him. πŸ˜†Β  πŸ˜‰ ha! But seriously, I am not cut out for this. I can’t wait until he gets back. I will cry from relief.

I was telling my friend Toni (click on her name and check out her new blog) this morning that it’s not so much the doing everthing around the house that bothers me. It’s that there is NO ONE ELSE for them to pester and ask a million questions and no one else to discipline when that needs to be done. And the constant talk talk talking makes my head hurt. I never realized how much of that gets bounced off Jake when he is home until he wasn’t here anymore. It’s just nice having someone else to share the burden with. I mean, the joys of course. πŸ˜† πŸ˜‰

Today we aren’t doing anything. Not going anywhere. I don’t think I could load them in and out of the truck with my neck. It hurts that bad. Plus, they are heavy kiddos. 😯 Plus I need to do some laundry, if I can manage that. I put some long grain rice in one of Jake’s socks, tied it off, and microwaved it to put on my neck. Not helping. I took 800mg Ibuprofen so hopefully that will take away some of the pain and I can function. Oh, Jake, if you’re reading, sorry about your sock. πŸ˜‰ I needed it.

Supposed to rain today, but I hope it doesn’t. The boys really want to play on the new (to them) swingset and I really want them to be outside all day. πŸ˜† HA!! I’m so nice. πŸ˜‰

6 responses »

  1. Flying solo is so difficult at times. It’s when you forget ALL the little things are guys do..

    Praying for you my friend. Love you

    Reply
  2. Praying for you! How is your neck?

    Reply
  3. I’m not cut out for it either….seriously! I would have flown the coop a long LONG time ago if I thought I could hack it.

    I think I tune out the chatter though. Ya know like you do the crying? Talking doesn’t bother me much…and I KNOW that my kids talk a lot.

    He he…IT will GET BETTER! Honest! Hugs!!!!

    Reply
  4. After being a parent for almost 28 years, I have soooo much respect for single parents and for parents like yourself who must endure absences of their spouse. Patti was much better at the home-alone with the kids than I ever was.

    Reply
  5. Oh Ric, I am BAD at it when Jake has to be out of town. I’m better when I know relief is coming at the end of the day! πŸ˜†

    Reply
  6. oh no!!! how’s the neck!?

    (there’s a joke in there somewhere about your kids being a pain in the neck, but i’ll refrain…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

