RSS Feed

Memory Lane: 4th Edition

Posted on

Memory Lane: 1st Edition

Memory Lane: 2nd Edition

Memory Lane: 3rd Edition

This is my favorite piece of everything I have written. I think I’m going to stop the “Memory Lane” with this one. I wrote it in April of 1999 after the Columbine school shootings and was later asked to read it at my high school baccalaureate, along with a speech. I’ll spare you the speech, but here’s the poem. Hope you enjoy it!

I don’t know what tomorrow holds, so I’ll make my decision now. I’ll kneel at the cross with my hands reaching high so that I’ll know where I’ll go when I die.

The sacrifice was made that day, and now at His feet I weep and say….

“I love who you are and I say thanks today for the price that was paid with your blood.”

As I think to myself, “I hate this world today,” sweetness falls down and kisses my frown and wipes my tears away. That same sweetness comes and warms my heart and reminds me of my lifes new start. It began on that day when at His feet I knelt to say….

“I love who you are and I say thanks today for the price that was paid with your blood.”

No sooner have these words escaped my mouth then my flood of emotions come pouring out. I am overwhelmed with grief and pride, but the grace that He sends is my refuge and there is where I shall hide.

Thank you Lord for this promise today.

Thank you Father for paving the way.

I thank you my God as I say this once more…..

“I love who you are and I say thanks today for the price that was paid with your blood.”

6 responses »

  1. Excellent Little one – Excellent!

    Reply
  2. Ok – that’s Good!

    Are you getting back into writing at all? i think you should πŸ™‚

    <B

    Reply
  3. Saaahh-weet.

    “I love who you are …”

    I love these words.

    Reply
  4. Thanks boys! πŸ˜€ ♥

    Reply
  5. wow, friend. this was beautiful!

    Reply
  6. I LOVE SEEING YOUR FACE IN MY COMMENTS!!! Well, your neck anyway! heehee

    I’ve missed you!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

