RSS Feed

It insults me when they call you “pretend”

Posted on

So, as usual, I was “thinking in blog” when I was nursing Owen to lay him down for his nap. I get some pretty good ideas around that time. Then, and at 4 in the morning. Or when I lay down for bed. Cooking, I get some cooking too. Or taking a shower. Or, or, or…..

Where was I? oh yes. In my mind I was thinking out a blog I intend to write, and I will, but I was referring to one of you as my friend. Then something I have heard from non bloggers came into my mind, like an evil bad voice. “Oh, your pretend friends.” PRETEND FRIENDS?! 😯

Here’s the thing, none of you feel “pretend” to me. It isn’t so much the act of posting a blog and reading someones blog that creates these REAL friendships. It’s the comments. And the emails. And the phone calls. And if you’re really lucky, the chance to meet in real life. I never set out to find new friends online when I created my blog, but it just….happened. Out of thin air, it happened.

I love my REAL blog friends, my blog family. I keep up my blog now for much different reasons than what I started it for. I keep it up because of my friends. πŸ˜‰

25 responses »

  1. I have actually been referring to people I’ve met through blogs as my “blog friends”. A blog friend is someone I haven’t met face to face.

    There’s no pretending in blog land.

    At least not with me πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. if it’s someone I’ve gotten to know really well OFF the blog, like through emails and such, I call them my friend. I use blog friend for everyone else. However, both get me the “oh, your PRETEND friends” response. πŸ˜•

    They just don’t know what they’re missin! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. You can always say, you haven’t seen God, but He’s real!

    Reply
  4. true. very true. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  5. Please don’t tell me that you are pretend! I read and laugh and cry and pray right along with you, and your emails always come at the most perfect time!! confession tho..sometimes you are more like family than just a friend. 😯 oh no now I have pretend family too…naaaaaaaaa i like selenas answer..I never seen God but I know HE is real! heck I even call HIM my Daddy! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  6. I KNOW! πŸ˜€

    It’s funny b/c before I ever blogged I used to tease my sister in law about her online “friends” but now I totally get it. It’s just a connection…you either get it or you don’t. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. Hey… Brandy u there?

    If you are you are real.. I am too all ….lbs of me.

    I love being connected with you, becuase who would have given me lessons on hooker heels and dressing missionaries. God I miss those nights. We gotta wake up Alece one morning. We need scarve, hooker heel, tv girl, cereal evening!!!

    Miss Brandy.. I don’t care who knows. I never met ya… But I still love ya πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Oh yea!!! stop laughing at me!!!!! and my hair!!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. I am cracking up! Heidi!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜† heehee

    I’m NEVER gonna live down the hooker heels am I?! haha!

    Reply
  10. NOPE.. it’s your brand…

    I like that you are that way.. It inspires my deep introvert to come out. Although I am extremely outgoing, but there are parts of me that are coming out because of friendships like these.

    Reply
  11. This was hilarious to read!!

    I’m sure you’ll remember not so long ago in our memory you’re astonishment that people met other people in person that they had met online in buddy groups!! he he…

    I just remember you being so timid and apprehensive about the entire idea.

    Anyway, a good PSA reminder: Not everyone online is ‘real’ or ‘nice’ so be careful yk?

    (disclaimer: I’m not saying anyone here, just saying…I’ve come across some real whack jobs online…)

    πŸ˜›

    Reply
  12. mama and I love you “Little One”! We pray for you often – every night and throughout the day. They are real prayers, not pretend ones.

    Love you –
    Papa

    Reply
  13. I’ve just started making cardboard cut outs of everyone I know online. That way when I talk to them on their blog, I have something to look at…so it’s not pretend…

    Reply
  14. What are you talking about Bandy…actually, that’s a great idea πŸ™‚

    Reply
  15. WHA?!

    BRENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  16. For the record people, the cardboard cut out comment was inworship himself! πŸ˜†

    that’s what I get for giving out my password. πŸ˜†

    Reply
  17. Just make sure that my cutout looks skinny, k ? Brent??

    Reply
  18. i love your extreme makeover. and i love this post.

    i think people that don’t blog, or haven’t developed genuine community through their blog, don’t understand. i’m the same as you — any of you that i have a friendship with (beyond the reading/commenting of blog posts), i simply refer to as my “friends”. the rest are “blog friends”. but all are real. very very.

    Reply
  19. I love being your friend. Period. Blog or not. Pretend or real. You are a great friend and I praise God for you πŸ™‚

    I am closer to one of my blog friends than I have ever been to anyone who I’ve been friends with in person. I believe the distance, the medium, gives us the opportunity to see each other for who we are; past the facade of looks and race and age.

    Love you and miss you. Email soon?

    Reply
  20. Good words that I will take in and absorb. πŸ’‘

    Reply
  21. Still practicing my emoticons though, lol.

    Reply
  22. Exactamente! :mrgreen:

    and G said it PERFECTLY!

    A few of my blog-friends know me better than just about all of my ‘real’ friends (more often than not it is they who are the ‘pretend’ friends because they never take their masks off – or me with them.. )
    Blogging and sharing via a pc can let you be more your real self… sometimes! πŸ™‚

    love you, real friend! ♥

    <B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

