RSS Feed

I hate it when he’s right.

Posted on

So we’re painting. Finishing our painting. Before Jake’s parents come. On Thursday. We’re not done. πŸ˜•

The living room looks great so far. It’s the kitchen that I’m less than thrilled about. Red paint. I hate red paint. It’s not RED red….it’s more cranberry red. And I hate paint tape. It doesn’t work. And paint tape that doesn’t work coupled with red paint that bleeds and is quite the contrast to the white ceiling and the tan wall right next to it…… well, the imperfections REALLY show up. Like, a lot. And it’s bugging me. And I’m mad about the paint. And I need to buy MORE red paint because it has taken THREE COATS to fully cover. And I’m not done. So I need more. I’m so over red paint. SO OVER IT. πŸ˜†

And Jake, he was right. Painting sucks. Especially cranberry red painting. Especially in a kitchen where there’s the little nooks and crannies of the walls above the cupboards, and walls under the cupboards but above the counter tops. πŸ˜• My blood is boiling again just thinking about it.

Then there’s the living room. Jake is doing a marvelous job on it actually. And I’m not just saying that because I’m not having to do it. πŸ˜‰ Really, he’s done pretty good. Until tonight that is. He DUMPED OUT the big honkin bucket of paint that we mixed. So, two gallons worth. We mixed it because the original color was too dark so we just added a gallon of white paint to it and it came out awesome. So anyway, it was a lot of paint. Here’s a picture……

Notice Jake’s shoe? He FELL off the ladder while doing the trim (vaulted ceilings) and his foot went INTO the bucket and tipped it over. And yes, I grabbed old dirty towels. Which are now in the garbage.

So yeah, painting… it’s a lot of fun. 😯

16 responses »

  1. That is really funny, sorry! Here I thought you would do something like that, but Jake I never saw it coming! Painting does suck, but once it’s done you are glad that you did it! Don’t know if I could have gone with the red though! Brave Soul πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Yes, the joys of painting! πŸ˜†

    Reply
  3. Oh Miss Bran.. πŸ˜† Sounds like ur having a time!!!! But think of how entertaining it was for us!!! LOL

    We want to see “done” shots!

    Reply
  4. Four words: “Mama does the painting!”

    Reply
  5. and this would be why i’d pay someone—anyone—to paint instead of doing it myself.

    Reply
  6. “So we’re painting. Finishing our painting. Before Jake’s parents come.”

    Why not wait and let them do it? πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. “Why not wait and let them do it? ” HAHAHAHA!!! Oh man, hahahahahaha!!! I am laughing so hard!!! heehee πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    Alece, I told Jake today that I don’t care what it costs, if I ever paint in a house again, I’m paying someone to do it. Before when we painted, our house was SIGNIFICANTLY smaller, so it wasn’t a big deal, but this is just too much painting!!!

    Papa, I WAS supposed to do it all, but this is his payback for forgetting Mother’s Day, remember? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜† heehee

    Deb, I couldn’t stop laughing last night when he did that. I mean, it was BAD, really bad, but I was laughing so hard!! πŸ˜†

    Selena, 😯 Joys? πŸ˜† hehehe

    Rachele, Watch it missy! πŸ˜‰ heehee And yes, the red is a gorgeous color, but very unforgiving!

    Reply
  8. oh I am SO ANNOYED with the comments section of this layout! 😐 It doesn’t let me put spaces in between each comment. UGH!

    Reply
  9. you might need to type in the html code for it:

    without the spaces.

    Reply
  10. dangit. nevermind. it ate my code. and it didn’t even convert it to a blank line.

    Reply
  11. yeah, I have no idea how to do that stuff! πŸ˜†

    With my other layout, it worked fine, but mother in law couldn’t read my posts on that other layout so I changed back. ugh.

    Reply
  12. sorry, I know how things run in your house! I agree with deb to, we need to see the done pictures!

    Reply
  13. We have a guest room that is bright red and it took 6 coats!! After making a mess with paint, my husband Dan said I am not allowed to paint. So when we had to get our downstairs family room done we had to hire people to do it, Dan’s to busy and it’s a big room. It was over $1400 but worth not having the stress. I hope you can wrap your mess up soon. I am sure it will look great!

    Reply
  14. Faith! I am sitting here with a horrified look on my face! haha!! SIX COATS?! I am kinda stressing b/c one wall that I did red is STILL tacky feeling and I’m worried I did too thick of a second coat too soon after the first. I’m waiting until it’s not tacky anymore before I do the third coat. Red is so unforgiving. I LOVE the color, but man oh man will I never paint red again.
    *
    Rachele, I’ll get “done” pics up tomorrow night b/c the house will be PERFECT then since Jake’s parents are coming. And you know when people see my house for the first time it has to be perfect, but after that it’s hit or miss! Mostly miss. πŸ˜‰ hehehe

    Reply
  15. Well we started out on white with some wallpaper goo to cover up and I did the first coat (which lead to me being band from painting) I think 3 coats is more normal though. We absolutely love our guest room and I think we would both do it all over again if we had to. Cant wait to see the end product. Oh and thanks for the avatar help. I went ahead and got a new blog too.

    Reply
  16. Sounds like A LOT of fun!!!! You are inspiring me… I want to paint in my new house… How is THAT going to go? hahahaha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

