RSS Feed

LullaBooby

Posted on

Oh my, what search terms I will get from that title! ๐Ÿ˜†

As you ALL are well aware by now (you regulars that is) I still nurse Owen. Nearly 13 month old Owen. It’s become quite the boob of jokes (har har hee hee) and really, it makes me laugh a great deal. After I mentioned inย this comments section of Deb’s blog that I nurse Owen back to sleep early in the morning, a chat of sorts started about calling it a “lullabooby” time. ๐Ÿ˜† haha!! Sweet Deb decided to write me a little love poem about the LullaBooby!! Enjoy!! I love it!! HAHA!!

Lullabooby for โ€œOโ€

ย 

For those who must despise lactation,

I really do have an explanation,

Iโ€™m a girl, whoโ€™s always on the go,

And only I can provide for little โ€œOโ€.

ย 

No boiling nipples, thatโ€™s just a pain

Each visit to the doctor shows his gain,

His nursing smiles are so, so sweet

My Mommy milk is such a treatโ€ฆ..

ย 

Thereโ€™s times of swelling, painful but true

And I squeeze and squeeze till my face turns blue

Thereโ€™s times when they sag, and downright droop

But I would never trade them for powder and scoop

ย 

Itโ€™s my lullabooby for little โ€œOโ€

This Mamaโ€™s milk ainโ€™t just so,soโ€ฆ.

I can sneak it in, while heโ€™s still asleep

And happy dreams he will hold and keep

ย 

Itโ€™s my lulla booby for little โ€œOโ€

I sing it softly, did he just go?

Oops I think I see a stain,

Iโ€™ll change him, then weโ€™ll start againโ€ฆ.

34 responses »

  1. SO funny!
    I feel like I’m underage for this blog. All this mom stuff. *cringe*
    Only only only because my friends are starting to get married and that frightens me a little. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  2. i love my blog family.

    and i love your lullabooby!

    Reply
  3. I am going to be very careful what I say to this post – it is sufficient just to say I will keep abreast of what others say.

    Reply
  4. you love my lullaboobies?! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ hahahaha!!!!

    Roo honey, you aren’t underage at all! Think of this as very good maternal education. ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply
  5. PAPA!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    Oh you’re too funny!

    Reply
  6. I love the end b/c I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been pooped on while nursing a newborn! ๐Ÿ˜† HA!!

    Reply
  7. shhhhh, don’t tell Love…you know how he is with booby talk… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  8. Sometimes I get very self conscious when I am the only guy lurking around these kind of topics. I think I had better get off line and tuck mama in bed!

    Reply
  9. HAHA! Too funny, I.L.P.!!
    Bran, I’m not too worried about being “underage,” but it does sink in more often when the comments on ‘Lecey’s blog fade into mom talks. I love it, really!!!!!

    Reply
  10. roo – honestly? i wish i’d have had the opportunity to be a part of dialogues like these (with wonderful married/mommy women) when i was your age. i knew nothing, and had no one to ask. early marriage years were ROUGH!

    Reply
  11. I believe it. And I do appreciate it… it’s just an odd feeling (because, honestly, up until about 6 months ago… I would’ve readily told you I’d probably never get married and that would be just fine with me).

    Reply
  12. odd i understand. it’s still odd to me sometimes (A LOT OF THE TIME!) because it’s so counter-alece-culture to talk openly about things like this. oooh boy. it’s a stretch. but i’m learning it’s good. and healthy. and i’m glad some of my younger friends (like you and becca) are along for the ride. i learn so much from the women i’ve connected with online — so much. and i know you guys are too.

    Reply
  13. I sure LOVE you girls. ๐Ÿ˜€ You all make me smile.

    Reply
  14. And Papa!! Better hop into bed with Mama! ๐Ÿ˜‰ *winky*winky* ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply
  15. Oh, Wow, Bran. My brain is having a lot of fun tonight. Blog-world is addicting… I had to put David on full-screen when we Skyped earlier so that he got all my attention. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  16. That is awesome! LOL, I can’t believe you are still nursing though! Deb, you are brilliant!

    Reply
  17. “As you ALL are well aware by now (you regulars that is) I still nurse Owen. ”

    You really should cut that boy off soon. You know, like 5 years old or so. HA!

    Reply
  18. Wow, you are oddly quiet today. Okay, what’s up? Natural disaster?

    Reply
  19. shhh! TT – she may be taking a nap or feeding Owen !! singing him a lullaBooby!!

    Reply
  20. Super sweet! I wish I had boobs. I have milk duds! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    Reply
  21. Brandy, loved your Lullabooby. Like Papa I can’t know the joy, and pain :), you go through.

    I guess all your boys will be “breast” men when they grow up.

    Your Lullabooby for โ€œOโ€ is one more keepsake for Owen to remind him of what a great mom you are.

    Reply
  22. Brandy girl, let us know ur ok….love you!!!

    Reply
  23. Hey Deb and Brandy, we got great news about Kane today! YEAH!!!

    Reply
  24. Pingback: Busy busy buggers! « MY DAO DAYS

  25. Lullaboobies—

    Okay girl you just got my caffe latte through my nose girl…

    Ohhh so funny.

    My lullabooby’s are dry, have been always. but that hasn’t stop my children to rub and snuggle in them.

    Lullabooby, I need to make version for my husband!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    ooh did I just say that… Brandy!!! You are rubbing off on me!!

    Reply
  26. HEIDI! ACK! ๐Ÿ˜ณ HAHA!!!!

    Deb wrote that little lullabooby diddy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I am NOT rubbing off on anyone. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Well, maybe Alece. According to UPS she got those shoes this afternoon at 3:49 but she has yet to email me about them!!! heehee

    Reply
  27. Roo, we ARE addicting around here aren’t we?! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Rachele, of COURSE I am still nursing. Tam will love this part….he even pats my chest when he wants some. ๐Ÿ˜† HAHA!!

    Total, he will for sure be cut off by 5, I promise. ๐Ÿ˜† I saw on youtube this mom that nursed one of her daughters until she was EIGHT!!! EIGHT YEARS OLD! Now THAT, is just wrong. ๐Ÿ™„ And yes, I was quiet on the blogs yesterday. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Papa, I was busy reading and chasing kiddos. I found a blog that I got sucked into. VERY good stuff. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Selena, I burst out laughing with that one. I read it to my husband later and he was CRACKING UP! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Ed you make me laugh! “Breast” men! hahaha! Well, if they’re going to be anything like their dad. ๐Ÿ˜ณ Did I just say that? Nawwww.

    Deb! I am good! I’ll email you later and fill you in. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Okay, I think I got ya’ll. I emailed most of you throughout the day yesterday but thought I’d catch you here too.

    love yas!

    Reply
  28. Owen just turned one didn’t he?

    I think men have a hard time with women nursing their toddlers, but I see nothing wrong until they are nearing 2. Past two is when I get issues and I personally couldn’t do it. But I nursed Abbie until she was 19 months. And she was ready to wean at that point.

    I think this is a cute poem, my friend… very cute!

    Reply
  29. MY grandpa said he nursed until he was embarrassed. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    Reply
  30. Pingback: He makes me lactate…. « MY DAO DAYS

  31. Conrad was 14 months when he was weened. My sister in law however is still nursing her almost three year old! When he came over the other day he asked me if Conrad liked his “ninee” as he calls it. I tried to tell him that Con dose not drink “ninee” anymore. His eyes got wide and he said “not even at night?” haha! In my opinion if hes old enough to have a conversation about weening then he should be weened!

    Reply
  32. Yeah, my stopping point is going to be 2, if he’s even still nursing by then. Dylan stopped at 11, or I should say I stopped him at 11 (months that is!). I was pg with Aidan and so worn out and tired that I thought I’d get more energy back if I stopped. I was so wrong. To this day I feel bad about weaning him before he was ready. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Aidan nursed until 15 months. Owen I’m just going to let decide when he wants, like I did with Aidan. HOWEVER, 2 months is my cap. ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply

Leave a Reply

