RSS Feed

Paid a pretty penny to wear this only once…

Posted on

Β (I’m laughing b/c I drug Jake out of the shower to take this picture and while taking it, he said penis. Sorry. But he did. And it was funny.)

…..well, my MOM paid a pretty penny. And I think she’s still paying pretty pennies, 7 years later. 😯 I tried this on last night. It fit. IT FIT. IT FIT!!!Β  Nevermind I had to hold onto the door while Jake used every muscle in his arms.Β  Keep in mind this is his left arm, his weaker arm….

….and it took TWO of these to me back into this….and please keep in mind I have no makeup on…

It’s a two piece so to get the skirt on took the big guns. To tie the bodice in the back (open back, laced down) I had to hold my breath.

That’s my dirty dirty train puddled at my feet.Β  πŸ˜•Β  The dress never got cleaned after our wedding.Β  😯 Bad. I know. I only had a month left at home before moving to Missouri to be with Jake (he left one week after our wedding) and I was busy saying goodbyes and packing and other important things. Then, it sat at my moms house for a few years….and well….I forgot about it.

Please, don’t notice those shorts at my feet. Wait, you already looked didn’t you? πŸ˜‰ Okay, so didn’t notice them until AFTER this was done, and I can only figure that I drug them downstairs with the dress. You could hide a small colony under my dress. I meant to weigh myself with it on too. It’s heavy. I swear it’s at least 100 pounds. Seriously. Not kidding. It’s heavy.

On our wedding day it fit REALLY tightly. Almost too tight. Kinda tight like it did last night. Only, a week before the wedding we had it altered, so it fit nicely. Turns out, the seamstress messed up. Instead of letting it OUT two inches, she took it IN two inches. It was awful. I had bruises on my hips by the end of the night.Β  It was wonderful. I wish I could have worn the dress for days. I told Jake last night we should have had a weeklong wedding just so I could have worn it longer.

Why did I try it on? Because I was starting to think maybe I should sell it. I have no daughters. I doubt any future daughters in law will want to wear it. What good is it now? But then I thought “what if it still fits?” And I can’t get rid of it if it still fits.

Things look a little differently now, years later. Now, it’s dingy. It’s not as fluffy without a hoop skirt underneath. My hair is short. Then it was long…down to my elbows but I wore it up. My arms I noticed are about twice the size they were then.Β  I think I’m shorter. 😯 It looks like it anyway. On our wedding day I wore too much makeup. Here, I have none on, and I still can’t believe I posted a no makeup picture. But, I got it on. Buttoned up. Zipped up. Lace up.

So, the dress stays.

28 responses »

  1. I don’t think you should get rid of your dress yet… It is very beautiful!!

    Reply
  2. i remember that day so perfectly bwan. wow! you were so beautiful!!! STILL are! and yes, you did have lots of make-up on πŸ˜‰

    i remember all the dancing at the reception. THAT was fun! kass and kota were so little. your mom and i served your wedding cake too. i think i got upset at one of your guests for coming back for seconds while not everyone had yet received their first piece yet. but he was only like, 8 yrs old, so i extended some grace πŸ˜•

    ahhh…

    i love you!!!

    Reply
  3. Oh, do keep it. You look beautiful (and even w/out make-up, what a brave girl you are!!)

    Do you have any nieces? I ask because Maggie, my daughter, does NOT want to wear my dress, but when my little nieces come over they love to dress up in it and pretend. I was so little then, I don’t think I’ve been able to wear my dress since my second year of marriage. 😯

    We’re celebrating 25 years next month…

    Love you, Brandy!

    Reply
  4. Oh my ! papa got teary eyed – I missed that wedding! Beautiful gown – mama still has hers ! I wish I could have walked you down the aisle – I talked to my daughter as we walked down the asisle – the second time – i was a basket case – I wanted her to know I loved her and knew that God was blessing this second marriage. I love you Brandy – and want you to know that God wants the best for you – there, I said it!

    Reply
  5. Awww Papa, you make ME teary eyed! πŸ˜€ I wish you could have walked me too! My stepdad walked me down the isle and he and my mom just finalized their divorce this week. 😦 It’s sad now looking at my wedding pictures with me and him. *sigh* Thank you for “saying it” Papa! πŸ˜‰ Love you so much!

    Anna, Thank You! πŸ˜€

    Tam, I wonder who it was?? haha! Yes, the dancing was A LOT of fun! I am looking at printers and I want one with a scanner so I can put up older pics. I’ll need to put up a wedding day pic to do the dress (and me!) some justice! πŸ˜‰ Kass and Kota were so little and best little ring bearer and flower girl ever! So precious!!

    Michelle, I know, brave huh?? πŸ˜† I confess though, I had mascara on, but that doesn’t really count. heehee I have thought about having my grandma use the fabric to make some pillow, that way I’d have a way to preserve it in a more functional way. πŸ˜‰ I don’t think she’d be able to anymore actually so my mother in law would be better to do it. It was fun wearing it again. Although, if I were to pick out a wedding dress today, it wouldn’t be anything like this one. Funny how your tastes change. haha!!

    Reply
  6. Its exciting to watch someone put on their dresses again.
    My left leg couldn’t fit in my dress now, after 19 years.

    Preserve your dress.

    Reply
  7. I know you have good memories of the dress, but all I see when I look at it is horror and embarrassment!!!! :-O

    And before all of your blog friends think I am really mean and horrible for saying that, well you need to explain the story to them. Im not mean and horrible. I swear.

    hee hee

    (you were pretty, and still are)

    Reply
  8. i loved this post!

    i’m a hopeless sentimentalist. keep the dress, for always. even when it doesn’t fit. but do get it cleaned and nicely stored/preserved.

    you look beautiful, you should know.

    Reply
  9. Ha! Sometimes I feel like trying on my wedding dress. I’m sure the bodice would fit… and maybe the skirt too, but I’d probably have to hike it up a couple inches to what is now my thinnest part so it would zip. I’m skinny now- but I was a TOOTHPICK back then.

    Your dress looks great, btw!

    Reply
  10. I would say you still look great in it, but I haven’t seen a before picture. So I guess I will have to just say you look great in it now. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  11. what’s this story TcH is talkin’ about???

    Reply
  12. heehee

    T is going to do a guest post about it. It’s quite hilarious. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  13. You are hilarous!! πŸ˜† That dress is beeeeautiful!Don’t get rid of the dress! This may be cheesy, but I put my dress on a nice hanger and hung it in the corner of our bedroom so the train could cascade down the corner and I hung wedding pictures around it. To pricey to put in a box! I used it as romantic bedroom decor.

    Reply
  14. huked on fonix didnt wurk fer mee πŸ˜†

    Check out them there typos on my first comment…

    Reply
  15. Beautiful picture Brandy. There is too much love and memories in that dress to sell it. My guess is you would feel terrible the minute you let it go.

    When I first saw the picture I thought it might be your prom picture. You must be one of the lucky ones who always look young. Another reason not to sell that dress.

    Reply
  16. I love this Brandy…you are still a beautiful bride!

    Reply
  17. YOU. LOOK. BEAUTIFUL!

    but you should get the dress / train cleaned up… just ask Bill Clinton! 😯

    heeheehee

    (Mud ruins fabric)

    <B

    Reply
  18. LOVE!!! *tsk*tsk*

    I told you you were a rascal!! πŸ˜† HAHA!!!!

    But thank you Love bug. πŸ˜‰

    Selena, I LOVE LOVE LOVE your idea! LOVE IT!! If my dress didn’t take up so much space I would totally do that. Actually, if I could find a manequin to put it on (like, just the body, no arms/head) I would do that. Being a two piece it’d be kinda hard to put on a hanger. 😦 But I LOVE your idea.

    Thanks Deb! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  19. I thought I replied to everyone else but I did not. Hmph. The memory is the first to go…… *sigh*

    Heidi, I’m glad you find it exciting! You might have found it exhausting had you helped me get into it again. HAHA!!!

    T, I love you. πŸ˜‰ Now get on that post!!!

    Alece, I love that you are a hopeless sentimentalist. This does not surprise me about you. I love it. I love you!

    Mandy, thanks for coming by! And girl, I have seen your pics (myspace) and you are a toothpick NOW! πŸ˜†

    TotalT, I looked MUCH better in it then. But then again, at 19 I’m sure I looked much better in everything! hahaha!!

    Ed!!!Your comment made me smile b/c I totally agree…I would regret it the minute I sold it. And no, that is not a prom dress. haha!! But I have to say, in that dress at a prom, I’d be quite the spectacle! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  20. Don’t forget to swing by my blog today. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  21. it’s always nice to have things you once wore fit you!! If I were to try on the tux I wore at my wedding, I’d look like George Castanza going to the opera…yeah, it would look pretty bad! Even though I have lost 40 pounds this year!

    Reply
  22. First time at your blog,

    I like the pictures and you have a great family.

    I am encouraged by all of the Christians out there who blog.
    The families and values are awesome.

    I found your blog through Selena, who calls me “The Long Winded Blogger”…she might be right.

    She helped my with a portion of my blog I call,
    “Selena’s Idea”. I guess it is time to update that page.

    It’s my fun page.

    I’ll keep checking back,
    God Bless

    Reply
  23. The Long Winded Blogger HAHAHAHA!! That made me laugh out loud. πŸ˜†

    Welcome! And yes, keep coming back! I’m going to go check you out later (during naptime!) πŸ˜€

    Reply
  24. Yeah, I tend to get wordy when I start typing. You’ll see if you read a few posts. I am a bit of a political junky with a strong eye on the Bible and interest in my relationship with Christ. I would suggest starting with “Selena’s Idea”; it’s fun and harmless and… Selena’s idea, so it must be good.

    Say, that’s a great trick to be able to blog and nap at the same time. How do you do that?

    Although sometimes when I go back and read what I wrote, I think maybe I was half asleep.

    God Bless

    Reply
  25. I wish I could multi task like that! I’d get a lot done! πŸ˜†

    I do big blog reads while the kids nap….the ones where I need to pay attention. πŸ˜‰ Otherwise, it’s pointless. I won’t remember a thing! haha!!

    Reply
  26. I understand; I had three young daughters years ago. Now I have more time which I seem to fill up quite fast.

    Hey, does that mean that I am in the big blog category?

    I feel honored.

    Your blog is fun by the way.
    God Bless,
    riggword

    Reply
  27. Hey there! I thought I would check out your blog and I ended up looking at this post. I love your dress! I am so going to put on my dress soon! I just lost a bunch of weight and I bet it will fit now! You have to keep it!! maybe your granddaughter will want to wear it someday, it looks very classy and will always be in style. Don’t feel bad either, my dress is probably wrinkling away in a box and I can only hope that there was no dirt stains on it. I’ve always wanted to have a party for girls to wear their wedding dress again, maybe I will sometime. So keep the dress!

    Reply
  28. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ˜‰

    I LOVE your idea about a party for women to wear their wedding dresses. I think that is a GREAT idea!! I was thinking about it after I read this and really, it’s great. You should totally do it and post about it! πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

