RSS Feed

Lame-O Reporting

Posted on

What have I done the past couple of days? Nothing. Nada. Zilch. Oh wait, that’s right…nuuuuuuuhhhh thing.

I had high hopes for this week too. Really high hopes. Over the moon high hopes. Rock my world high hopes. And yet, nothing.

Jake is working swings this week for training. “If I tell you I’d have to kill you” training. I love the swing shift. Doesn’t leave until 2:30 in the afternoon and gets home around 9ish. LOVE. IT. Well, before this week I loved it. Now I kinda hate it. It has disrupted MY swing of things.Β  While I thought it would give us good time together as a family during the day, it hasn’t. It’s been the opposite actually. Jake and I sleep in. Get up mid morning, groggy, annoyed, the boys demanding to be fed….the nerve.Β  πŸ™„Β  Then Owen wakes up, my good little late sleeper he is.Β  ♥Β  I go upstairs to feed him and lay back down b/c I am THAT tired. I swear, the mornings I sleep in, I am MORE tired througout the day. Doesn’t make sense. Anyway, I end up getting caught by someone, usually a high pitched someone who screams “MOMMY IS SWEEPIN AGAIN!!”Β  Rat. The day goes on like this…boring, annoying, feeding kids, wiping noses and butts, watching Jake walk around in a daze b/c he HATES being awake. Unless of course it’s after midnight, then he hates being asleep. Naturally.

The evenings are especially frustrating b/c that is when the kids start getting bratty and hard to manage. The time of day that Jake usually is home by, to give me some relief. The time of day I have no patience for. Also, I’ve been napping when they nap, which means I don’t prepare dinner. Which means we’ve been eating like frat boys this week.Β  😯 

What were my high hopes for this week??

  • Laundry. All the laundry done. What do I have instead? More laundry. *sigh*Β 
  • organizing every.single.room. Yeah, that’s not done either.
  • painting the rest of the kitchen, living room, and boys’ rooms. You guessed it. Not done.
  • not being on the computer this week. What do I do when I’m overwhelmed and stressed? Yep. This.
  • prepare lots of yummy dinners with all the food in the kitchen. Problem is, I need to plan them. And I didn’t do that. I always fall behind when I don’t plan dinners ahead.Β Β  πŸ˜•Β 

Soooo, that has been my week. What am I doing about it? Making a HUGE to-do list for the weekend since Monday is a down day for the base. Family Appreciation or some such nonsense.Β  πŸ˜†Β 

So you don’t think I’m completely worthless, I did manage to do a few things. The boys all have nicely organized and cleaned up rooms with their quilts on the walls. Specially made quilts that I don’t want them using until they are older. I cleaned out our big storage room upstairs b/c I plan on converting it into an office for me. IΒ  cannot think clearly enough to do the bills or anything else with the boys around. Just can’t. Which is why I’m totally behind on all that jazz as well. I’m sinkin’ here people. I’m tellin’ ya!

I’ll keep ya posted on the rest of must do’s. Pray for me people. Pray hard. πŸ˜†

15 responses »

  1. if you know me well, and are a regular here, you can imagine my annoyance at the fact that my smilies aren’t working for some forsaken reason.

    Alece however, I am sure is smiling at that fact. πŸ˜‰ Alece dear, did you hack my blog and change my settings? Or have I just hung out too much at your place? Nope. Couldn’t be that. Never. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  2. and that laughing smiley at the end….it’s as if to say… haha none of them worked. πŸ˜• <— and yet I still attempt. *sigh*

    Reply
  3. hi ! Happy smiles to you! ;o) I prayed for you a couple of different times today!

    Reply
  4. Dear Brandy…

    Have I shared with you yet that my husband USED to be in the Air Force? Yes, for six years. I love hearing about it, and I kind of miss it… Until I remember the stuff I hated… haha!
    Swing shifts aren’t nearly as bad as mids, IMHO. Mids were awful, especially with kids. Swings are bad also…. day shift is best… Dustin fluxuated between all three for all six years. It was fun! πŸ™‚ But I did love all the holidays we got!!! πŸ˜€

    I can so relate to your post. That is exactly what my days would be like IF Dustin worked a shift like that. And I agree, evenings are when we need daddy most, why because KIDS are crazy during those hours. I don’t really get it, but it is really true. Mine begin the meltdown around 4 and it doesn’t end until they are sleeping. Occassionally they are good after they eat dinner, but rarely.

    you must share recipes with me… I am not very domestic… well, Dustin would beg to differ, but truthfully I have lost all creativeness and I forget stuff all the time at the grocery store. I usually make a list, but since being preggo…. I am all messed up… I actually went to the store to get meat the other day, but had other things on my list in my mind, I had lost my original list. Anyway, can you believe I walked out of the store without being a SINGLE thing of MEAT?????????? Can you imagine my horror when I realized it when I got HOME????????? 😦 I did not go back. We do have meat in the house, just not enough or any variety.

    You are awesome… and I like reading your blog!

    Reply
  5. Brandy, I would use the word hectic, not lame, to describe you week.

    I work swing shifts when I was in the Army and stationed in Japan, 1966, three days in each shift, then three days off. I did like the three days off, but it was hard to adjust to the different working hours the rest of the time. It sounds like both you and Jake are having a hard time getting enough rest.

    Is the swing shift Jake’s permanent duty hours?

    Reply
  6. I hear you, Brandy. I really do.

    Changing schedules…ugh.

    Praying for you…now.

    Reply
  7. I know your overwhelmed but I just see that list and get excited, then sad, b/c I can’t do any of it with you and for you!!
    Dang it!!!!

    I can sort of relate to Jake being home. I have only been home for 5 months but on Fridays when Nate doesn’t officially work it ruins the routine that K and I have and I end up being pretty worthless. ha ha. These men!!! I swear. ha ha. :- )

    Reply
  8. ha ha. i laughed about the smileys — but i see ’em just fine from where i sit. did you fix it??? i didn’t hack in, i swear!

    i think it’s great that you had a few days of doing nothing. i know it’s sucky when there’s things to do — it’s always hard for me to REALLY relax when i know my to-do lists are growing by the second — but, still…

    sounds like you’ll have a busy and productive week.

    phew…

    you can do it!

    Reply
  9. ahhh, I love my people. πŸ˜€ <— this is me, beaming.

    Papa, you are always on my mind and I know you pray for me constantly. Thank you. Love you and Mama and I loved hearing your voice the other day. It just brings tears to my eyes and makes me smile so big. πŸ˜€

    Anna! I didn’t know you guys were in the AF. Good times. πŸ˜‰ haha Yes, the hours are good and bad. And you are right, mids is awful. I HATE MIDS. I’ll take swing over mids anyday. The other crap thing is that I NEVER do bedtime. Jake always does bath, story, and bed. Always. So for me, it’s like a few added chores when he’s gone at night. *sigh* It’s over though, thank goodness! Back to normal tomorrow! πŸ˜‰ Oh, and that story about the meat….I TOTALLY BELIEVE THAT b/c I have totally done that. Seriously. 😯 I am glad you like reading. That is encouraging to me and makes me smile. πŸ™‚

    Ed! I’ll go with hectic! HA!!! And yes, rest is few and far between lately. I realized today that back home we got a LOT of breaks and time without the kids…. at least once during the week and sometimes an entire night/morning on the weekends….so to not have that time to rejuvenate and connect as a couple, we have been more tired. I love hearing about your military days. LOVE IT. πŸ˜€ And no, these aren’t Jake’s normal duty hours. THANK YOU LORD!!

    Michelle, I love you. Really. πŸ˜€ I almost IM’d you today to see if you wanted a 4 year old…free to good home! HAHA!! Kidding. πŸ˜‰ Well….sort of…. heehee Thank you for praying. You are a faithful friend.

    T, leave it to YOU to get excited about my overwhelming list!!! And I’d buy your plane ticket right now if I thought you could come….or would really come. HAHA!!! And yes, they mess up our routines. The nerve. πŸ˜†

    Alece, dear dear Alece I love you. Been thinking about you a lot lately. ((hugs)) And yes, the to-do lists grow by the second….especially laundry. And it doesn’t help that I went shopping and bought about 2 loads of laundry worth of clothes. HAHAHA!!! 75% off sales are no good for me. nope. πŸ˜‰ Well, I’m glad YOU can see my smiley’s b/c I sure can’t. HAHAHA!!!

    Well all, Jake is HASSLING me to get off of here. πŸ˜‰ He has work to do or something ridiculous like that. heehee

    Love you!

    Reply
  10. Brandy, Yes, Dustin served in the good USAF from 1999 until 2005 when he decided not to re-up and to move on and go to college. We *thought* we wanted to be near family. We are two hours away now, and we rarely see them anyway. Sometimes I wish he would of stayed in and we had gone to North Carolina or was it South Carolina??? I forget.. it was one of them anyway… That is where we would of went next. We lived in California during his time in and never moved. He was a KC-10 electrical and environmental whatever you call it…. basically an electrician in the mechanical area… When we got out he was up for Tech Sarg. But failed the test on purpose, so that he could leave room for others to promote…

    Anyway… enough yada yada yada….

    Reply
  11. What a great story…Even after reading this, I still can’t wait to be a mom. I’m sure you’ll get it all done. When we are usually the hardest on ourselves when it’s our own deadlines!

    Reply
  12. I swear, the mornings I sleep in, I am MORE tired througout the day. Doesn’t make sense.

    I KNOW! WHAT’S UP WITH THAT?!?!?!?!

    not being on the computer this week. What do I do when I’m overwhelmed and stressed? Yep. This.

    My escapisim (sp?) as well!

    Reply
  13. Selena, We are soul sisters. I swear. Between the dreams and this….that settles it! πŸ˜‰

    Anna, our plan is to never get out. πŸ˜† He’s career all the way.

    Judi, if you still want to have kids after hearing about my hellish week….then….you’re gonna rock as a mom! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  14. if you still want to have kids after hearing about my hellish week….then….you’re gonna rock as a mom!

    A Freaking MEN! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  15. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! πŸ˜†

    no doubt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

