RSS Feed

It’s harder than it sounds….

Posted on

….setting up a house that is. We’ve been in here over 2 months now and I STILL don’t have every room the way I want it. I think I get it done, and then I rearrange it. You just never really know how it’s going to work out until you’ve lived with it a while.

I have rearranged the living room THREE times.

The eating area in the kitchen over FIVE times.

The playroom at least FIVE times.

Rehung stuff in the playroom countless times.

Owen’s room FOUR times.

Dylan’s room TWICE.

Aidan’s room TWICE.

Our room ONCE. And only b/c the bed and dresser are way too big for me to be shuffling all over the place.

Everytime I start to clean, I rearrange a room. I can’t stop myself! πŸ˜† It took me TWO YEARS to figure out how I liked our first house, and then we moved a year later. Our last house I never got it to where I liked it at all. That living room was SO HARD to decorate. Another problem, and probably the biggest problem, is that I am SO indecisive about what I like or how I want something done. Makes me crazy.

I really want to get pictures up of each room when they’re done, but well, I’m not done yet. HA!! I have ONE wall painted in our living room. I MUST finish all of the painting before August though. That is my goal, and it will be done. For sure. Jake’s parents are coming in August and I want it done before they get here. I’m painting the living room, part of the stairway, the kitchen, the downstairs bathroom, and possibly the boys’ rooms. *sigh* That’s a lot of painting. AND I want to possibly paint a wall in the play room, but I haven’t decided yet. πŸ˜† Big surprise. heehee

Also, I still have some boxes to go through. Not really important boxes, but still, they have to be gone through. I was watching some show last night on HGTV, my new absolute favorite channel by the way, and this couple was moving out of a house they had been in only a year and they STILL had boxes unpacked all over their house. It wasn’t even decorated!! 😯 My house is at least decorated, but it’s not finished yet.

I hate the unpacking/moving in process of moving. With kids. πŸ˜•

11 responses »

  1. You should paint one room in the playroom with that chalkboard paint. That would be so cool. The boys would have a blast with that.

    Reply
  2. let’s call this “bran shwae”…you can market this as both a design plan and an exercise routine!!!
    Of course, the bed and dresser are for the more “advanced”.

    Reply
  3. Brandy, I guess being a man I don’t “arrange” my furniture in the first place, so there is no need to rearrange it.

    The dining table goes as near to the kitchen as it will go, in the kitchen if it’s big enough. Heck, just eat over the sink. πŸ™‚

    Beds goes in the bedrooms. A nice big cozy recliner in front of the TV for the man of the house. A desk and chair with good back support for the computer. Actually you just need a laptop so you can sit on the floor while the man of the house can watch his ball games in comfort. Maybe a little ice box next to the reclainer so you don’t have to keep getting up to bring him his beer. Than make sure you have enough cages for each of your kids. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Ever thought about THERAPY????

    Sounds like it would be cheaper ( all that paint!) AND… you get to lie down on a couch and chat about cool stuff! ( i.e. – You! ) πŸ™‚

    love ya!

    Any more Nut Puff’s yet?? hehehehehe πŸ˜†

    <B

    Reply
  5. Are you trying to scare me?!?!

    You know we’re moving soon EEEK. And you sound just as ummm what’s the word…errr…scratches head…obsessive sounds harsh….hmmmm…___________ as me! Ima think of you when I’m sitting around and have the impulsion to change up a room!

    hehe Love you πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Oh Brandy!! Another commonality…

    I arrange and rearrange continually. It’s quite a joke in my family. Phat explains to the boys (now young men), “it’s just what your mother does – it’s who she is.” I even do it for my sister-in-law whenever she requests.

    It’s NOT obsessive – it’s artistic!!! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. OOOOH I’m with T. Chalkboard paint. FUN!

    I have been in my house 4 years and still don’t like how certain things are.
    I used to rearrange my bedroom when I lived at home with my parents about every month…it is kind of therapeutic for me.
    I just need more money to decorate the house now. Or help getting things at a bargin. I am not a very good bargin shopper.

    Hope you’re having a good day! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Oh how I agree with Ed! And I am married – !!! I like the little fridge by the chair – no beer, but I am sure I could fill it up with snacks! Do we need to pray for Jake in this process ????

    Reply
  9. BRAAAAAAANNNDYYYYYY!!!!

    Are you OK? Hope you haven’t gotten sick, or anyone else, for that matter.

    Of course, you could just be terribly busy with all those boys.

    Missin’ you, Little Twin.

    ♥ U, Michelle.

    Reply
  10. when i lived in new york, i used to rearrange my room all the time. every few months, in fact. since i’ve lived in africa, i haven’t done that at all. hmmm… i wonder why.

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Buying Your Bathroom Remodeling Supplies Online

Leave a Reply

