RSS Feed

TGIF!!!!!!!!!

Posted on

WOW! I am so glad this week is O.V.E.R.!!!! I’m excited for Jake to be home all weekend and to *hopefully* finish the laundry and maybe get some more painting done. Also, not being the only parent around for the next two days sounds pretty nice too. πŸ˜‰

This was a hard week with the boys. They were amped up more than usual. And amped up means NAUGHTY!! 😯 Really, it was a very stressful week. I am glad it is over. Hopefully I can start next week less stressed. That never helps. When they are amped and I am behind on stuff it stresses me out and makes me cranky and edgy. There were LOTS of time-outs, lots of early bedtimes, a few afternoons spent in their rooms, and lots of yelling on my part. 😳 I really really hate the yelling. And I KNOW what stresses me out and makes me a yeller so I need to be better about managing that. It hurts my heart at the end of the day when none of us have gotten along. I was probably a bit more lazy in the mom/wife area this week too. No reason, just was. That’s my responsibility,Β not theirs so I need to be better about that. BUT, their responsibility is to obey mommy and daddy and that certainly was at an all time low this week. *sigh* Next week MUST be better. I must be better.

Okay, done feeling sorry for myself. Moving on….

Tonight we went grocery shopping. OH JOY. It was kind of a humbling experience tonight. Let me fill you in…. When Jake was recruiting we got paid about twice as much as we are getting paid now. We took aΒ %50 hit to his paycheck coming back into the “normal” Air Force. Granted, we had other bills like rent and utilities, but we also got an extra incentive pay on top of BAH (base allowance for housing) which was nice. Sooo, coming back into the norm and living on base cut our check substantially. The last two months we’ve basically been using the $$ we got from the move (b/c if you do it right, you can make some $$ if you move some of your stuff). Now that money has dwindled quite a bit and reality has set in.Β  After the bills we have (truck, insurance, 1 credit card, tv, phone, internet, 1 old loan we are paying off, trailer) that leaves almost ZILCH for anything else, including groceries and gas. And we are paying MORE for gas now b/c Jake doesn’t have a government car like he did before for Recruiting. *sigh* Plus, well, gas costs an arm and a leg and an ear and a nose. And maybe a few hairs.Β  Anyway, after talking to a few people and really thinking about it for a long time, I decided to eat some humble pie and go on WIC. Even as I type this out I am CRINGING. Why? B/c I am a proud person. Bottom line. We have always cut corners somewhere to afford the things we want/need, but now, there are no more corners to cut. I even tried getting a job (which btw, I got and was supposed to start this week), but by the time I pay for daycare it would be all gone. *sigh* And seriously, there’s only about $200 left for gas and food for TWO WEEKS for a family of 5. It makes me a little upset (Okay, VERY) that the military gets paid so little and people who hit a baseball with a bat or shoot a basketball into a hoop make MILLIONS. Not that I want millions, but I also don’t want to have to resort to WIC either. *sigh* So tonight, we used our first WIC check and I felt like I was sweating profusely and that my cheeks were on fire. And I could have sworn there was a camera on me with people watching and giggling. At least, that’s how you feel when you now have to do something you’ve not thought too highly of in the past. Don’t get me wrong, I never thought BAD about WIC and those on it. I just had the mentality of “that’s not for me. We don’t need that.” And I was proud of that fact. Proud that we’ve never had to ask anyone for help. Somehow I feel less responsible now. I don’t know why.Β  Didn’t I say I was done feeling sorry for myself up there?!?!?! Geesh. Okay. New subject.

It’s going to be Father’s Day here soon. I need to think of something for the boys to make Jake. A card is obvious, but something else. He keeps insisting not to get him anything b/c he COMPLETELY forgot Mother’s Day this year. TOTALLY FORGOT. So now he’s being the martyr and insisting he doesn’t need anything. BUT, I don’t want the boys to not acknowledge it and I want to show Jake that it doesn’t take *much* to remember someone on a holiday. He needs lessons. πŸ˜‰ The zoo is also having a free pass for dad’s on Fathers Day but Jake isn’t too keen on the zoo here. Still, if it’s nice out it could be fun for the boys. oooh, I could have them go together and I’ll stay home. HAHA!!! After all, it IS Father’s Day. πŸ˜‰ heehee

OH! The highlight of my week? My new curtains. I love them. Like, really really love them. I took down the FUGLY venetian blinds that were up in the kitchen. Every last piece of them. I stored them away since we’ll have to put them back whenever we move again. I found some VERY cute curtains at Walmart and got a cheapy rod ($10 I think?) and VOILA! Gorgeous! πŸ˜† They make me smile everytime I come into the kitchen. Wanna see??

Aren’t they purty?? πŸ˜€ And yes, that really was the highlight of my week! HAHA!!

I think Owen has said “okay.” Really, I do. So does Jake. Twice he has said something that SOUNDS like “okay” but he could just be babbling really well. πŸ˜† HA!!

GCHYAYLES sent me a book this week! I was SO EXCITED to get it! I didn’t know WHAT she was sending me, only that she needed my address for something. heehee πŸ˜‰ It’s called “801 Questions Kids Ask About God” and I love it! She sent it b/c of my post when I talked about all those questions Dylan was asking me about God. I am excited to use it with him. I told him what it was about and he said “HEY! I ask you questions about God!” haha!! So funny. I said “okay well think of a question and we’ll look it up in here.” What was his question? What is God’s job? Do you think that answer was in the book? Of course not. πŸ˜† HAHA!!! First question and he asks one not in there. heehee Tonight in the grocery store he asked “How does God make food?” AH HA HA!!! So funny. I said “well God makes people who know how to make food.”Β  πŸ˜• I’ll have to look that one up and see if it’s there. heehee If not I need to make a list and send it to the publisher for “901 Questions Kids Ask About God” heehee πŸ˜‰ Yayles, if you’re reading this… thank you! And I love you! πŸ˜€Β  β™₯

Nothing much else to report this week. I’m hoping for a productive weekend so I’ll be back Monday hopefully with a good update! πŸ˜‰

Oh, and here is Peanut the Pup.

7 responses »

  1. So….A LOT in your post that I want to encourage you about but I think I’m going to pray about it first and do it in an email. In the meantime, just remember that ultimately God is our provider, whether it comes from jobs, gifts or WIC. And He doesn’t see you any different than you were before you used it. I can imagine that it feels different and a little embarassing but just encouraging you to view you as your Father views you….there is neither jew nor greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male or female, for all our one in Christ Jesus (Galatians 3:28).

    You are so very welcome for the book. Sorry one of his questions were not in there but it may be answered in some other form. Like Who is God or what does God do or something similar.

    Love you too! XOX

    Reply
  2. I love when you share your life – I feel like I am there and it makes my prayer time for Brandy seem more personal. Praying for you.

    Reply
  3. We were on WIC for a time when my boys were young. Hard times come and it’s good to have the extra help when we need it.

    When we went to sign up for food stamps I had my head hung low, embarrassed, the clerk was very firm with me, “Honey, we all fall on hard times,” she said, “but it’s for people like you this service is available…those who have paid into the system and just need a little boost. You don’t plan on living on the system, so take what is yours while you need it.”

    I was very grateful for her words. And if anyone has “paid into the system” it’s definitely our service men and women who have given their lives for our country. But I’m with you, the pay scales are way out of whack!!

    Now, the curtains…the crosses…the CHILDREN…what blessings He bestows!!!

    Reply
  4. AND the puppy!!! So ADORABLE! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  5. Yayles, thank you for your kind and loving words. You are a wonderful friend and I am so blessed by you. πŸ˜‰ OH, and about the book… hahaha…. I was mostly telling that story b/c Dylan ALWAYS manages to ask difficult questions, even when I have an entire book of answers right in front of me! HAHA!! But I did look up other things instead for him. πŸ˜‰

    Papa, I love you a great deal! πŸ˜€ Mama too!!!!

    Michelle, it is encouraging to hear your story! And nice to see your face! I’ve been wondering about you for a few days and keep meaning to come over, but I keep getting sucked in at Love’s! HAHA!!! We missed you the last few nights in chats! πŸ˜‰
    I did the opposite as you when we went in for that first meeting…. I made sure I was dressed in a way that made me feel good about myself and my hair and makeup was “just so” b/c I was so worried about looking like the typical person you think of that uses *help* of some sort. *sigh* I was mostly fueled by pride. Really is aggravating and embarrassing to admit to that much pride. I just knew I didn’t want to come acrossed as someone who felt sorry for herself, even though inside I was a basket case. 😳
    Love you. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  6. Looking good never hurts!!

    Love you too!! Come see me sometime… πŸ˜€

    Reply
  7. i’m reading this all way delayed. i’m hoping the weeks that followed this post were better than this one was. your puppy is adorable! (oh — and i love your curtains!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

