RSS Feed

A few questions for you smarties out there….

Posted on

So, I was watching some YouTube stuff on Miss Oprah…. I didn’t go looking of HER actually, but it was in the “related video” section and I saw a vid that said “Church Of Oprah.” So I watched it. Not that I buy any of it, but it did cause me to wonder what others think about some statements that stuck out to me. Basically what I am hoping for is a “talk amongst yourselves” chit chat b/c I really want to know what you think. I know what I think, and what I don’t think. One of these questions I am confused about, but will wait to tell you which one. 😉

Question #1. “Why IS God a jealous God? He’s GOD, why is he jealous?”

Question #2.  “Is it BELIEF in God, or a FEELING about God?”

Question #3. “If the way I came to God and the way YOU came to God are different, and we each call God by a different name, who is right? Does it matter? Is there only one way?”

Enlighten me, please. 😀

16 responses »

  1. It’s interesting you mentioned this. I just had a conversation with a lady who works in my office. She sent me the link; I had never heard anything like this about Oprah before. When you said you don’t buy any of it did you mean her claims or you don’t buy that she would actually say things like that? Just curious…:)

    I have a response to question#1. One of the things that we are to be cautious about as believers is interpretation. We tend to take words out of context. As we know words have a wide array of meaning. They don’t just mean one specific thing. For example, single can mean someone who is not married or dating and it can mean one item of something. That’s a silly example but it’s all I could think of in the moment 🙂

    Dictionary.com has many definitions for “jealous”:

    1. feeling resentment against someone because of that person’s rivalry, success, or advantages (often fol. by of): He was jealous of his rich brother.
    2. feeling resentment because of another’s success, advantage, etc. (often fol. by of): He was jealous of his brother’s wealth.
    3. characterized by or proceeding from suspicious fears or envious resentment: a jealous rage; jealous intrigues.
    4. inclined to or troubled by suspicions or fears of rivalry, unfaithfulness, etc., as in love or aims: a jealous husband.
    5. solicitous or vigilant in maintaining or guarding something: The American people are jealous of their freedom.
    6. Bible. intolerant of unfaithfulness or rivalry: The Lord is a jealous God.

    To me 5 & 6 stand out the most. When I think of that verse about God being a jealous God I interpret it to mean He is guarding us from making gods out of anything else [this doesn’t have to mean believing in another “god” necessarily but it can also refer to the gods we make out of things like money, food, alcohol, drugs, materialistic things etc etc]. Why is He guarding us from that? Because none of those things can bring us peace or fulfill us. When He says He’s a jealous God, He is commanding us not to worship idols. He is commanding that we worship Him because He is the great I AM and anyone or anything that claims to have that same power is the enemy’s lies. Of course He gives us a choice and in the end, weh ave to make the choice to worship Him but He makes it known that by worshipping anyone or anything else we bring destruction on ourselves versus the peace, joy and abundant life that comes from acknowledging Him as God and worshipping Him.

    Does that make sense? It does in my head. I could respond to 2 and 3 but I won’t bombard your comment space 😉

    Reply
  2. I don’t buy her claims. 😉 I totally believe she said those things too.

    Go ahead with 2 and 3…I’m curious! 😀

    Reply
  3. Awesome discussion.

    gchyayles hit it on the head in answering 1 with putting other gods in front of God.

    We do it all the time and none more so than Americans.

    How many times have your heard, “if I can be married, be wealthy, have a child then God can have me. I just need to get what makes me happy.”?

    God is a jealous God because we tend to put ideas, beliefs, thoughts, wishes, dreams, passions and desires ahead of Him.

    Okay, so what? Isn’t God big enough to overcome the obstacles we have placed in front of Him?

    Yes but God does not interfere with our free will. You have to choose to make Him first in your life. With that single choice, that is when God will start to work through you, for you and on you.

    I will put it in another way.

    God’s very nature is absolute perfection. God is nothing less. The entire Torah is the very standard of God which is perfection. If God played sports, He will be #1 in anything He did and would have unbreakable records.

    If God is not #1 in your life, then He is not in your life whatsoever. It is against the very nature of God to be 2nd Place, 10th place or Last Place. God doesn’t get “Participation Trophies”. God gets First Place trophies.

    How many times have we put any thing, person, place or idea in front of Him? It should be Him that we should focus on. Remember, He promises that will take care of the rest so long as You focus on Him.

    Reply
  4. Answer 2: I believe Who God says He is. I believe all the promises that He has made in His Word. My only feeling that I have for God is love because He first loved me. Any feelings of hope, joy, peace and love I have comes from God and God alone.

    Answer 3: You can call God by whatever language or name you want. There is only one way to God and that is through Himself, Jesus Christ our Lord and Saviour. Know that and believe on that and that connects you to God the Father in Heaven.

    Reply
  5. Ok… here goes. My thinking on these questions.

    #1 God is jealous of our lover; our adulterous affairs with lesser gods…our sin. God hates sin. Jealousy describes the gamut of emotions a marital partner would feel if their spouse had another lover. God’s jealousy is not directed at any person but rather at the lover that threatens our relationship with Him. And those lovers are our sin. God so loves US and so hates Sin that He gave his only son to take away the sins of world.

    #2, Yes. ? I think this is what Jesus might be getting at when he points out the greatest commandment in Matt 22:37. I think we can know what we believe in our mind (& soul)and feel the presence of the holy spirit in our heart (& soul).

    #3 God is right. Yes, it matters. Yes, there is only one way.

    Reply
  6. I like gchyayles and Joe’s thoughts on these too. Great discussion.

    Reply
  7. I just happened across your blog from Alece’s grit & glory blog.

    #3… it DOESN’T matter so much what name we call God, or we’d all have to be speaking Hebrew. But it DOES matter what God we’re talking about when we say the word “God.” Just because a satan-worshiper addresses his lord as a god, doesn’t mean he’s talking about the same person, right?

    And there is only one God. He chose to identify Himself as the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob. Which means that if your God is the one whom they worshiped, and who called Israel His own… who made promises to send a Messiah through whom all the world could be saved, both Jew and Gentile… and who sent that Son, the Word of God made flesh, who lived a perfect life and died and rose again, paying for sin and conquering death forever… THEN your God is my God.

    God does indeed bring people to Him through different means. But the god that Oprah found isn’t mine, for he’s telling her things that are totally against what the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob said and still says.

    Reply
  8. Three questions for the three questions:
    1) Do you think mama is a “jealous” wife?
    2) Do you think she believes in her marriage or goes by feeling?
    3: Is there more than one God?

    Reply
  9. 1) God is jealous for our souls. He wants us to love Him, alone, and not to play the adulterer with other “gods”.

    2) For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that whosoever “feels” in Him will not perish but have everlasting life?

    3) Exo 15:11 Who is like you, O LORD, among the gods? Who is like you? – majestic in holiness, fearful in praises, working wonders?

    Other gods exist but they are not the One True God – YHWH – they are not Holy, Holy, Holy, Majestic, Long-suffering, Compassionate, All-Knowing, All-Present, All-Powerful, Worthy of praise, Savior of mankind. I believe this is why He is so specific about His Name, we are not to call upon any other name, but His.

    Reply
  10. That’s why I think this New Age stuff is so deadly…we can’t mix up our teaching with it, then we have created “destructive heresies”.

    My two cents…

    Good questions…NECESSARY questions…back to the Garden questions.

    Reply
  11. Why is God a Jealous God?

    We SO want to be able to understand Him – to be like Him and do His Will not our own…Yet we ONLY have our will to determine things by that we mostly feel we can really ‘trust’ to tell us what He is Like.

    We relate to human ideas of what He might be like and come up with terms like ‘Jealous’, ‘Loving’, and ‘Fearing God’… and then we put each of those human emotions into what we think God is.

    That is SO wrong! – but so understandable – ‘natural’ almost.

    God’s ways are NOT our ways – but we are incapable most times of seeing Him any other way than through our own ways.

    GC said it best – Jealous as relating to God means intollerant of Unfaithfulness!

    Why it matters what a bunch of ape-decendents choose to be faithful to to the Creator of The Universe i truly cannot fathom 🙂
    We are SO far beneath Him – it would be like us caring what an amoeba thought about us – and yet… I am convinced He ‘cares’! 🙂

    Why do we insist on ‘either/or’ about God – he’s Big enough to be BOTH (and more besides). Few of us agree what the words belief or feeling mean so choosing one for him is again so humanly wrong ( putting us before Him, as Joe said)

    When we admit that He is Always Right and we are wrong when we do not all agree then we will come closer to knowing God. Each of us is an individual and see many things in a different perspective because of our smalnees and uniqueness.
    I have manufactured a single simple physical object that can be seen in two completely contradictory ways merely by altering our perspective of viewing it – God is able to be this ‘thing’ Infinitely – appearing differently to each one of us while remaining true to itself internally.

    Not a concept our human mind easily considers because we only think of ourselves ‘one way’ mostly.

    Feel free to ask more questions if these answers are not ‘obvious’ from your own perspectives. 🙂

    <B

    Reply
  12. i wanna answer some of these… hopefully i’ll have some time soon…

    Reply
  13. oooh I want you to answer some too. 😉

    I’m waiting till I have time to reply to everyone as well. Phew. Too busy when I’m not online NON.STOP. 😆

    Reply
  14. Okay friends I REALLY REALLY liked your answers. And the question that I was struggling with myself was “why is God jealous?” and you all put it into perspective for me very nicely. Honestly, I have always wondered that. It always struck me as odd but I liked the way Yayles and Papa explained it best (although all were excellent explainations).

    And Papa, you sure do know how to make someone think by saying VERY little. 😀 😉

    With Yayles’ definitions, I guess I just never looked at jealous as anything but a negative thing…as in coveting. Seeing that word in a whole new light puts a different perspective on it for sure.

    I also LOVED what Joe said here: “If God is not #1 in your life, then He is not in your life whatsoever. It is against the very nature of God to be 2nd Place, 10th place or Last Place. God doesn’t get “Participation Trophies”. God gets First Place trophies.”

    I have actually been thinking about that a lot since I read it. Wondering “where is God NOT number one in my life?” And then feeling convicted that if he is not number one in a certain area of my life, than he isn’t number one at all. I can’t have him be number one when I feel distressed or scared or alone or want something. That’s not fair to him. Just like it wouldn’t be fair if Jake was only my husband when I wanted to use his medical benefits. Y/K? 😉

    KATIE, thank you for joining in. I REALLY liked your response as well. 😉 A LOT. This was my favorite and I felt like it came from you with such passion: “And there is only one God. He chose to identify Himself as the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob. Which means that if your God is the one whom they worshiped, and who called Israel His own… who made promises to send a Messiah through whom all the world could be saved, both Jew and Gentile… and who sent that Son, the Word of God made flesh, who lived a perfect life and died and rose again, paying for sin and conquering death forever… THEN your God is my God. ”

    Michelle, you are right, this new agey stuff is sooooo dangerous. It makes me think of the devil in a mask. It all looks nice and neat and they say “you can incorporate this into your religion of choice” so it seems harmless, like you aren’t giving up anything to practice this new age stuff. WRONG. It’s so frustrating. And hard to explain to people caught up in it how it is just so wrong. It makes me sad actually b/c they are easily enticed I think. It’s all so “pretty” and packaged nicely. Y/K ??

    Love, everything you say makes me think SO HARD!! 🙂 Really, I have to chew on your words a while before I can fully understand what you are trying to say. This is good! You are deep friend! ♥ I was doing a lot of nodding and uh-huh-ing at this part here: “We relate to human ideas of what He might be like and come up with terms like ‘Jealous’, ‘Loving’, and ‘Fearing God’… and then we put each of those human emotions into what we think God is.

    That is SO wrong! – but so understandable – ‘natural’ almost.

    God’s ways are NOT our ways – but we are incapable most times of seeing Him any other way than through our own ways.”

    Thanks you guys! I really really loved reading all your answers and thoughts and chewing on them a while. Every single reply here has been twirling in my head after I read them. 😉

    Reply
  15. Alece, when you come back to this, still answer them. 😉 I love your thoughts on stuff too.

    I’m super sad you don’t have “access” right now. Boo. 😦

    Reply
  16. God is jealous because He is God. If He doesn’t think that He alone deserves our full attention, focus, love, and adoration, then that means He thinks something else should have it. And if something else should have it, then by golly, that’s what we should be worshiping. The fact that He should be the primary object of our affection reiterates His very Godness.

    God is full of Himself.

    And why shouldn’t He be? What else could He be full of??? Me???? I don’t think so.

    His own Name and glory are His highest aims. If it were anything else — if His love for us were His ultimate driving factor — then He would be guilty of idolatry: putting us in a higher place than Himself. No, His Name is above all names (including my own), and His glory far outweighs the glory of any created thing (including myself). And since He knows what’s best, it would be in my best interest to make His Name and glory my highest aims as well.

    That doesn’t diminish His love for me, for us, for all of humanity that ever was or will be. His love for is great and unfathomable. But His love for me is not what compels Him. It’s not what He basis His “decisions” on (as far as His will, plans, actions go…). His love for me is not even what motivated Christ on the cross. (His own Name and glory are what compels Him, are the basis of His decisions, and Christ’s own motivation…) But again, realizing that doesn’t make His love for me any less. Or any less mind-blowing. Quite the contrary.

    The fact that He is so big and so right and so worthy of everything AND yet He chooses to lavish His love on me?!?! WOW.

    If God is full of Himself, I probably should be as well. Full of Him, I mean. Not myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

