RSS Feed

NMFAPIMWLC Update

Posted on

So I have to give an update of somesort I guess, huh? Good or bad? Really???? REALLY?!

Well fine, I will. It’s not good people. NOT. GOOD.

I lack self discipline. In a BIG way. And I’m a binger too…without the purging.Β  I need to find a way to get some BALANCE. Seriously. And I need to revise some of my rules goals from before. But first, I’ll fill you in on my *progress* from last week.

Let’s see….my first night on the “plan” I did really well. I had one grilled chicken breast, two grilled zuccinni brushed with olive oil, and some pasta salad. It was DEE*LISH! The next day, filled up on the water and ate pretty good all day. By the third day, I was feeling stressed and tired and noticed I was slowly caving. Then I started thinking about my eating. I can’t limit my eating. I nurse a baby for crying out loud! And I have the other two to keep after all day. I need to eat, and a lot. But, I need to change WHAT I am eating.Β  I need more snackable stuff around the house, like fruits and veggies and whole grain breads. I am not giving up bread. I don’t think I need to, but I do think I need to change from plain jane white bread to whole grains. It was stupid of me to set up a strict diet plan without preparing my surroundings…. like my fridge and cupboard. I set myself up for failure that way.

I did use my elliptical….one day. And really, I liked it a lot. I think I have come up with a good plan for that….NAPTIME. All three were alseep and I turned on the tv in the playroom and watched a movie while I excercised. I could go forever like that….watching a movie or something. And the elliptical is something I really enjoy. So, there is no reason that can’t be a continual thing….every other day. πŸ˜‰

Now, the computer…. I have done pretty good with that. The first few days I did awesome, but lately especially at night again, I have been on a lot. I think b/c Jake is working nights I find it easy to get lost on here. I am SUCH a blogaholic. I need help. Seriously.

I can’t remember my other goals, which says a lot.Β  πŸ˜•Β 

Sooo….what am I going to do about this?

Well, tonight I am going grocery shopping. I am going to stick to the outer edge of the grocery store and stock up on fruits/veggies/lean meats. As a family, we love dairy, and I think in moderation dairy is fine. Like yogurt. The boys love yogurt. And cheese. I feel like I already do a good job with the boys….buying stuff that is low on sugar, high in protein, fruits, veggies….. I just need to do that kind of shopping for ALL OF US. And yes, we all could use a diet change.

Sooooo, after a trial run week to work out my kinks (well, not ALL my kinks haha) I think I have a good place to start off. So here is my revised plan:

  1. Don’t buy crap. I’m going to load up on fruits/veggies/lean meats/whole grains at the grocery store. If we don’t have it in the house we won’t eat it, and vice-versa.
  2. Continue with the water consumption….. and remember to buy more water. (we’re tap water snobs)
  3. excercise, excercise, excercise with the elliptical.
  4. Don’t beat myself up.

#4 is a biggie too. Yesterday I was BEATING myself up mentally b/c I felt like such a failure, and yes I tend to do that….focus on what I can’t do more than what I can. And reading everyones updates really sucked too b/c YA’LL DID SO GOOD! πŸ˜‰ I know I can do very well too, it’s just getting out of the funk and not setting myself up for failure…..like not having the right foods in the house.

So, there it is. Enjoy. I’ll let you know next week how it’s goin’.

GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!

Kristen
Joe
Ron
Buddy

Dan
Rick
BrandyΒ 
Deborah
Mandy
Joel
Theressa
Steven
Love
Tawny
Kelly
James

Β 

9 responses »

  1. You’ve done wonderful Brandi. You tried 1 way for a week, found out what works for you and what doesn’t. Now you are moving forward with a revised plan, I call that success! (applause goes here) You know, the huge smiley with the even bigger gloved hands clapping wildly? That was it!

    Reply
  2. you can do this!!! small changes lead to big changes.
    start small & work your way up.
    πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. Brandy me loves you!

    I don’t think you are supposed to diet when you breast feed. you will lose when the baby gets a little older..see I have no excuse what so ever..no babies..I eat because its yummy!!! so cheer me on, and I will share with you what worked and didn’t when you are ready..sweets, you need food and sleep so you don’t fall into depression..that is so easy after the third one…I know did it!

    Reply
  4. When we go through changes like this, we have to look at the long run. It will definitely be a process. So just pick one thing this week and another next week. Or do one thing a month. Just move forward. When you do that, you will be encouraged and change will be hardly noticeable.

    When you take care of yourself, you are going to also be taking care of your family. You eat well and stay healthy, they will be eating way and staying healthy.

    Your doing awesome just to think this all through.

    In regards to breast feeding and dieting, there are a lot of opinions. All of them have one thing in common though. Nothing extreme and keep your intake at least 1500 calories a day, which is more than enough. they don’t want you to lose massive amounts of weight, but they also believe that some weight loss will not affect breast milk.

    Here is a good article…
    http://www.breastfeeding.com/reading_room/dieting.html

    Reply
  5. I’m with Darla on this one. Be careful not to hurt yourself emotionally by being too strict. Your body and your baby need you to eat healthy and plenty!!

    Hang in there, Lil’ Sis!

    Reply
  6. Awww thanks guys! πŸ˜€
    *
    Darla, I know about the depression after the third. I am on meds for it actually. Which is another thing I need to take into consideration and not be too hard on myself b/c even though I am on meds, I still need to be disciplined in my thinking too. I am one of those people with the “negative self talk” issues. πŸ˜•
    *
    Brent, I am DYING that you looked up breast feeding and weight loss for me. πŸ˜€ heehee Cracks me up! I was going to do that but looky you did it for me. πŸ˜€ ♥ tantoo!
    *
    HisLife, thank you for the “applause” and I TOTALLY know which smiley you are talking about. heehee πŸ˜‰
    *
    Mandy, I think since you bailed, I mean, didn’t sign up for this, you should be the designated cheer leader for everyone. πŸ˜€ heehee Seriously.
    *
    Michelle, I know, I need to lighten up a bit. πŸ˜‰ thanks! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  7. Brandy, you are doing a great job of taking care of your first priority, your family.

    Like Brent and Mandy suggest make small, incremental, changes in your lifestyle. Our systems do not like to shocked. It is much healthier to lose a lb a week for 10 weeks than trying to lose 10 lbs in two weeks.

    One thing to remember is that we eat too much crap (salt, sugar, fat) because it taste so good. What ever good nutritional products you replace the crap with needs to also taste good or you will not keep to your meal plan.

    Exercise is good for health but probably won’t help that much when it comes to weight. It takes a lot of exercise to lose even little weight. Exercise is can also help reduce stress, as long as trying to keep to a schedule doesn’t just lead to more stress.

    Above all else laughter is the best stress reducing medicine that none of us can get enough of, and stress is a much bigger health issue than weight.

    Reply
  8. AMEN ED!!! Stress for me is BIG! I find I eat worse when I am stressed out too. Big shocker huh? πŸ˜‰ haha! I just put up a new post about my grocery shopping escapade. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  9. “don’t beat myself up” sounds like the best one on there.

    small steps are still progress.

    (and i’m proud of you!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

