RSS Feed

Healthy Food is $$$$$$$$$

Posted on

OH!MY!GOSH!

I just got back from the grocery store and WOW it is EXPENSIVE to buy healthy food. SERIOUSLY! This is what I did…..

I stuck to the outer edge of the grocery store at first and loaded up on veggies and fruits, eggs, cheeses, milk, yogurts, whole grain breads. Then I went up and down the islesΒ b/c I don’t know the layout of this grocery store yet and didn’t know what was where really. I ended up getting Jake some South Beach Diet cookies b/c I have found out that he has been HIDING goodies. πŸ˜• I figured if I got him some good cookies that came in pouches of two he would have a stopping place, instead of eating 15 chips ahoy chewies like the other night! But, he’s not alone there either. I had an unmentionable number of Lindor Truffles the other night too. Those are like heaven. MMMMMM I love them. I didn’t get myself anything snacky though….. hmm…. I’ll figure something out. Anyway, I also got us some flaxseed cereal and another multigrain cereal. I also got some peanut butter and nut granola bars for snacks. I got some whole grain pastas too so that is a good compromise I thinkg, b/c I love my pasta! I also found some cool prepackaged pouches of apple cinnamon trail mix for me to have in the mornings b/c I tend to not eat until later and I need something I grab first thing that I don’t have to make. I also got some turkey lunch meat and am planning on trying to switch the boys over to that instead of pb&j for lunches. I bought nothing frozen (besides juices for the boys)! I bought no meals prepackaged! Okay wait, not true. In the meat section they had these VERY COOL already prepared pot roast packages…. it was fresh veggies in individual pouches and the meat cut up in an individual pouch. I have never made it before so I thought I’d try it. πŸ˜‰

One thing I forgot….tomatoes! Who forgets tomatoes?! I’m going to have to go back for those but other than that, I think I did pretty good. I am excited to see how this goes. I also need to see how much of this stuff we can actually eat before it goes bad….and I am determined to eat it instead of throw it out b/c really, it was $$$. I thought I was going to throw up. I need ot figure out a way to still shop like this, but not spend as much money on it either.Β  😐 

Here is a list of what I bought. If any recipes pop out to you, share! πŸ˜€

  • whole grain rotini, penne, spaghetti pasta
  • tuna in water
  • tomato sauces
  • dehydrated banana chips (boys love!)
  • almond slices
  • crystal light drink mixes (oh yeah, this was my treat!)
  • sugar free grape jam
  • evoo
  • light ranch dressing
  • sliced olives
  • eggs
  • cheeses(block, shredded, and string)
  • yogurts (the ones with the least amount of sugar available-7grams)
  • orange, grape, cranberry juices for boys
  • ground chicken
  • sliced turkey breast
  • jalapeno tortillas (Love, I HAD TO! heehee)
  • healthy choice whole grain bread
  • steaks
  • chx breasts
  • celery
  • carrots
  • potatoes
  • broccoli
  • romaine
  • green onions
  • red, green, yellow, orange bell peppers
  • grapefruit
  • grapes
  • zuccinni (we LOVE!)
  • red pears
  • yellow pears
  • apples
  • bananas
  • pineapple
  • strawberries
  • raspberries
  • blackberries
  • nectarines
  • pumelos
  • whole milk

Okay and that’s pretty much it. *sigh* Now I need to cook with all of this. I am queen of casseroles and LOVE casseroles, so cooking any other way is going to be a challenge for me. But, thank goodness it is GRILLING WEATHER!!! YAHOO! πŸ˜‰

Okay, hungry now. πŸ˜†

35 responses »

  1. what’s a pumelo?

    Reply
  2. (and ya know… i never had a casserole until i left new york. apparently new yorkers don’t know how to make casseroles.)

    Reply
  3. I think the question is what did you NOT buy!! πŸ™‚
    Healthy eating is expensive and when you start talking organic, it is outrageous!

    Good luck with all the cooking you have coming up.

    Reply
  4. Brandi, Organic IS outrageous!! 😯 I passed up the organic eggs b/c they were MORE than twice the price. Good grief! What didn’t I buy? Crap. πŸ˜‰ heehee
    *
    Alece, you NEVER had a casserole before you left New York???? Girl, if you ever come to North Dakota for any reason AT ALL, you must come here and I will make some YUMMMMYY casseroles for you. I absolutely love them. So easy. In fact, tomorrow I am making my favorite…. chicken, brown rice, and broccoli. MMMMMM….. so yummy. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  5. I don’t know what a pumelo is πŸ˜† but I read somewhere that it was a great anti aging fruit. HAHAHA!!! πŸ˜† We’ll see if I like it.

    Reply
  6. First off..you are doing awesome on this…so cool that you are jumping in head first.

    my 2 cents. lol not that it means anything cus its like going to a dentist with no teeth or a bald hairstylist.

    say no to peanut butter and buy cashew butter.

    also stay away from carrots..High in sugar..and sugar leads to FAT!!…aaahhh.

    they say cheese is bad..high in fat, but cottage cheese and yogurt are good

    crystal light rules…I drink the iced tea 24-7…cus I want to. lol

    if you can get tuna…and cook up like 4-5 chicken breasts and stick them in your fridge just for when ya need them.

    I went shopping tonight myself…and did real good buternutsquash and tomatoes and chicken and organic salso to put on chicken etc etc…

    normal food budget for the family a week is around $100…eating healthy…$160…me not being a fat arse…priceless

    Reply
  7. oh and i added you to my blogroll…welcome πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. “normal food budget for the family a week is around $100…eating healthy…$160…me not being a fat arse…priceless” HAHA!! Seriously!

    We are a fam of 5, one of which doesn’t even have teeth yet. πŸ˜‰ My boys lately have been eating SO MUCH! The food is flying out of my cabinets! Usually every pay day (2 weeks) we spend about $125-$150, and that is not counting little trips throughout the week for milk, eggs, bread. OR our trips OUT to eat. Tonight I spent about $250. 😯 I am hoping that if we can curb the eating out, it will even out.
    Crystal light iced tea is AMAZING! I love it. MMMM. I bought the peach tea. YUM!
    I will have to look for the cashew butter for sure…I know pb is NOT the best thing, but the boys…the boys! πŸ˜‰
    I remember reading that carrots were not a good veggie to eat if you’re on a diet plan. I totally forgot when I was shopping until you just said that. CRAP. Hmmmm…..
    I am sure cheese isn’t the greatest HAHA! But seriously, I cannot give up cheese. I’d rather give up chocolate. HAHA!!
    The stuff you bought tonight sounds GOOOOOD!!! Mmm, I want to eat dinner at your house!

    Reply
  9. Oh… and I’m adding you to my roll as well kind sir. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

    Reply
  10. cottage cheese is my staple…oatmeal in the morning and egg white egg beaters…

    we are a family of 5 also and our 7 month old has 2 teeth now. lol

    all boys…and then me and the wife…the kids love mac n cheese….and they also love mac n cheese…lol

    I also bought stuff I dont eat…but will for the sake of maybe looking attractive to my wife. lol. I married a hottie..she got the raw end of the stick. lol andyway..I bought salmon also…yikes…we shall see how that one works out.

    Reply
  11. i might need to get some casserole recipes from you sometime… they sound easy. i like easy.

    Reply
  12. oh my goodness Alece…if it’s not easy, I don’t make it. I will email you some of my favorites. πŸ˜€ I love recipe swaps!
    *
    Klampert, that salmon…dude… yikes is right! πŸ˜† HA! I wish I could get on board with cottage cheese. I thought, during my first pg, that I might like it. Something about those hormones TELLING me to try it…and I hated it.
    Your 7 month old has my 10 month old beat! He still has NO teeth!! Crazy yo!
    Doesn’t everyone think their spouse got the raw end of the stick??? πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  13. Alece, I googled pumelo….it’s a chinese grapefruit. Huh. Hmmm, doesn’t sound as good now. HA! Although they say it’s sweeter than a grapefruit so that could still be alright. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  14. yay for easy recipes. thanks for sending me some. (no rush!)

    and sweeter than grapefruit sounds like it has potential… let me know how it is.

    and… uhh…. should you be on the computer right now??? πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  15. STAY RIGHT THERE!!

    ( I’m moving IN!!@! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ )

    You Rock! – you might need to cut down a little on portion sizes though – there is a LOT of food there πŸ™‚

    Love you Bran

    <B

    Reply
  16. and i’m WITH you on the truffles! πŸ˜‰ – Heaven in a box.

    <B

    Reply
  17. Everything in moderation.

    If you want to eat a carrot, eat a dang carrot. Just dont eat a BAG of carrots. A carrot is still better than a bunch of chips.

    Dont give yourself so many rules. All your going to do is make yourself miserable and then WANT IT MORE b/c you are telling yourself you can’t have it and then FREAK OUT and go off the deep end.

    I lost 25lbs last year this way…. I still have 10 to go, yes…. but I guess I didn’t do it ALL wrong if I went down two pant sizes??

    BTW, I ate carrots too :- )

    Reply
  18. I don’t see mixed nuts… I thought they were a good snack?

    Reply
  19. Ric doesn’t see mixed nuts?? i thought they were all over the comments section here??
    WooHooHooHoooo!

    How’s that for nuts? :mrgreen:
    (a little ‘stress relief’ for ya there, Muffin!)

    ♥ U

    <B

    Reply
  20. Awww I love you guys. πŸ˜€
    *
    Alece, I’ll get together a few and send them to you when the boys are out of my hair. πŸ˜‰
    *
    Love, you’re movin’ in? πŸ˜€ Yeah! We can cook together! πŸ˜€ heehee And yes, truffles, heaven in a box!!! I especially love white chocolate truffles too. yummmmmmm.
    *
    Teresa, thank you dear. πŸ˜‰ I will still eat some carrots, I had a few last night in my salad. Just like I will still have a truffle every so often. πŸ˜†
    *
    Ric, I KNOW! I kept meaning to grab some nuts and totally forgot. I did get sliced almonds though and I love almonds. And we have some pistachios in the cabinet already. πŸ˜‰
    *
    LOVE! HAHAHA!! I love it! So funny! πŸ˜†

    Reply
  21. Your doing great with getting it all “setup” just don’t let the “intake” throw you – keep your portions small. But – you are nursing as well. Use common sense a lot!

    Reply
  22. I’m glad you had a carrot : -)

    I think the issue with our world now days is that the servings are so HUGE that our views of food and how much we need are so skewed. I read in a magazine once that the general restaurant portion size is the equivalent of two or three meals!!! And yet, we seem to polish off the whole thing!
    I started cutting my restaurant meals in half or so and taking it home. I would do this before I even started eating, so that it was off my plate and out of my way.

    At home I have been eating on a salad plate lately… so it is “full” but the plate is smaller so it is easier to limit myself. I fill up on salads (with carrots in them!! ha ha) and other greens and then take little bits of other things.

    Also filling up on water. When I start to feel snacky, it’s usually when I am bored. So I drink a big glass of water and then try to distract myself the other ways. Water usually makes me feel full and bloat me so then I don’t want to eat. Not always, but mostly.

    Im like you though. I just don’t buy it and bring it the house and that actually works really good for me. Nate thinks its weird b/c he can have it in the house and still not eat it. But my form of discipline is NOT buying it at all.

    Reply
  23. smoothies are good too. I am convinced that is how I lost a ton of my weight last time b/c they fill you up. I would use fresh or frozen fruit, depending on the season.

    Reply
  24. Brandy, more free advice. πŸ™‚

    I think most “organic” food products are way over priced and many products labeled as “organic” really aren’t. Just stay with fresh veggies and fruits and local products, as much as possible. If your town has a farmers market I would suggest looking into getting your veggies their.

    Like Tch said just about anything in moderation is fine. Unless your doctor has identified some food product you need to avoid, or you have learned by experience that a certain type of food doesn’t agree with your system, all veggies and fruit are fine to eat.

    Read the nutritional labels on any food you buy. If you have the time plan out exactly want you are going to buy before you go the store. Research products on the Internet before you decide what to get. If you can find the time plan out how many carbs and calories you will serve with each meal.

    Shopping is like a war between the food company’s and the public. Like all wars we need to do as much advance planning as we can to prepare for the battle. πŸ™‚ This war is over our pocketbooks and waist lines. πŸ™‚

    Like Love said, reward yourself every once in a while with something from the “chocolate” food group.

    Love, I won’t take that “mixed nuts” comment personally. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  25. ugh.
    don’t you just hate that it costs MORE money to be healthy???
    our world is SO backwards.

    Reply
  26. Cheap=unhealthy, it doesn’t make sense

    Reply
  27. Papa, Thank you. πŸ˜€ Nursing does put a different spin on things, but I think with some “practice” I can get the portion control down. πŸ˜‰
    *
    Nate thinks it’s weird to NOT buy it? Now that is weird. πŸ˜‰ I just know that if it’s in the house, we will eat it. Especially Jake late at night. And for me, it’s during the day when I am stressed out with the kids that I reach for the “good stuff” har har. πŸ˜‰ I’m not too big on the smoothies. I guess though I haven’t really made them that much and haven’t figured out a quick and easy smoothie recipe. Hmm, maybe I’ll look into that. Goodness knows I have enough fruit now! HA!
    *
    Ed, I’ll take your free advice any day! πŸ˜€ I was actually really hoping to find a farmers market here this summer, and honestly I’m surprised I haven’t heard of one yet. I might have to ask some “locals” πŸ˜‰ The only thing I have to stay away from is excessive sugar. When I was pg with Aidan my OB told me I was borderline hypoglycemic and since then I have stayed away from sugary stuff. It made a huge difference for me in my moods too. I will have to say though that I have had my fair share of truffles lately and that is NOT GOOD at all. Might be why I’ve been more anxious too huh? πŸ˜‰ Also, I am a nutrition label junkie. Jake gets very annoyed when we are shopping b/c I read practically every single label on the foods we buy. If there is a label to be read, I’m reading it. Also, Ed…meet TcH, my sister in law. πŸ˜‰ She’s on my blogroll…Teresa. πŸ˜‰
    *
    Mandy, I KNOW! It’s SO backwards and totally not fair at all. 😦 When Jake and I were first married (read:dirt poor) we had hardly any money left over for food once and we got all cheap/frozen stuff like pizzas and burritos and ramen noodles and stuff like that. I gained 15 lbs. 😯 Seriously.
    *
    Brian…welcome! I’ve seen you at Pete’s and Brandi’s place quite a bit. πŸ˜€ Glad you stopped by. πŸ˜€ And no, it doesn’t make any sense at all. πŸ™„

    Reply
  28. Ed – i try never to be too ‘personal’ in my comments! If i want to insult anyone, i don’t do it so ‘generally’ – am usually very specific and save most of them for Mandy! πŸ˜‰

    Bran – it makes more sense when you think of the rubbish they ‘fill’ most of the cheap ‘snacks’ and ‘meals’ with. Aslo there are economies of scale because they companies buy truckloads of stuff you would probabluy not touch from a grocery and cook it en-masse and freeze it for the next year or two while they try to flog it off. They also load it up with chemicals to make it actually still have something close to a taste when we unfreeze and cook it.

    If you want to give up the rubbish QUICKLY – just get a job working in a food factory and see exactly what they put into their products – you can understand why it is so cheap better then – believe me. ::up-chuck::

    I also think if you actually put the equivalent amount of food from the ‘cheap’ varieties next to the total amount of healthy food you bought you’d be amazed at just how cheap your pile really was.

    you did get an amazing amount of good stuff – and that can only be good for you – so long as you watch the serving sizes – listen to your S-i-l πŸ˜‰

    <B

    Reply
  29. Hey yea! Listen to me!! ha ha!!!!

    πŸ˜›

    When I was going to be a SAHM and I was nervous about quitting one of my friends gave me some advice that was like a “duh” moment but made sense. She just said make sure you buy fruit when it is on sale, or in season. One reason some fruit might have been so expensive when you bought it was b/c it wasn’t in season. I have no idea what season is ‘in’ for a pumelo or whatever the heck it is that you bought. ha ha!
    The crap thing is that bananas, and apples are the things you can buy all year for pretty cheap and I get SOOOOO burned out on those bad boys. Ugh!!!!

    BTW, I LOOOOOVE Crystal Light. Additives and all. hee hee. It’s better than drinking NO water right????

    Reply
  30. Love, I think Teresa is a new “Love Recruit” HAHA!! Good thoughts Love, as always. πŸ˜€
    *
    And T, yes, we totally get burnt out on apples and bananas…although the boys do love their bananas!!

    Reply
  31. Am reading a book on Healthy eating.
    Did you know lack of sleep increases appetite and cravings? each of us is individual and CAN operate on ‘less’ but most people need between 6 and 8 hours solid sleep a night to maintain optimum health/weight.

    You can ‘tune’ your body to lose fat while you sleep!

    Eating less can actually make it harder to lose weight!! (because our bodies then generate hormones that try to build up fat reserves as we think we are in a ‘famine’ and have need to store energy rather than burn it efficiently as we were built to do).

    The book looks quite deeply at the ways the body responds to the food types and amounts we all eat – our ‘normal’ (that are not) – eating habits that makes our metabolism less efficient than it is meant to be which means we don’t burn up the calories we could do if we followed some simple healthy rules.

    lovewillbringustogether Bran πŸ™‚
    <B

    Reply
  32. This entire post + our beloved comments echoed dearly to my soul! Good glory!
    #1: I hate to cook, especially recipes that call for more than 4 ingredients, so your brown rice/chicken casserole thing sounds ahhhh-mazing
    #1: I hate it that my grocery bill skyrocketed when we decided healthy/organic was smart and good for the body/soul and environment
    #1: mixed nuts are great, only if it’s full of raw almonds!
    #1: I eat carrots, and I like it!

    Reply
  33. Okay I think I am just going to have to post that chicken and rice recipe. πŸ˜‰ It is VERY VERY easy. I had to be at a party for my neighbor on thursday night and the hubs and boys needed dinner…. party was at 6:30, I was done getting ready at 6. Started dinner and it was in the oven at 6:20 and I was on time for the party. πŸ˜‰

    I have some sliced almonds in my cabinet actually. YUMMO with raisins or craisins. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  34. how’d that pumelo work out?

    Reply
  35. ya know, I haven’t tried it yet. I keep eyeing it in the fridge thinking “I really need to crack that sucker open” but I’m waiting for when I can sit down and enjoy it….. assuming it’s going to be enjoyable. πŸ˜† I’ll let you know as soon as I do though! πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

