RSS Feed

Weekend Update, complete with randomosity

Posted on

Hmmmm….. what did we do this weekend?? Not much.

Friday night Jake had to stay up as late as possible so he could get on a sleep schedule for work this whole week. His first work night was Saturday, so he stayed up late Friday and slept half the day on Saturday. Kinda sucked for me b/c of the noise factor during the day. I’m sure he didn’t appreciate it either.ย  ๐Ÿ˜•ย  He got up around noon and played with the boys outside for a while before lunch. After lunch the boys went down for a nap around 2 and Jake went back to sleep and I snuck in a little nap too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ We were all pretty tired and crabby. Seems to be the norm lately.ย  ๐Ÿ˜•ย ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  The boys actually slept pretty late! Dylan didn’t get up until some time after 5 and Owen even later than that! ๐Ÿ˜ฏย  I showered and got ready and we all went to the bowling alley to eat. They have good food and even better prices! We can all four eat there for under twenty bucks and it’s good food….not “value menu” food. The boys did really good in there too. The guy that works there is VERY vocal about what he thinks kids should/shouldn’t eat. Like, he makes comments when I choose milk instead of soda…. “well that’s good b/c little kids shouldn’t have soda” and those sort of comments. Well, we got them hamburger kids plates (okay I know that totally sounds “value menu” but it’s not HA!) with milks. They of course, barely ate any of their hamburgers. What’s new. These kids, I swear…at home they eat like they have hollow legs and then we go out and they eat like birds.ย  ๐Ÿ˜ย  I went and got to-go boxes for their burgers and he said “how big of a box” and I told him “well they didn’t eat their burgers, just picked at their fries” and he kind of raised an eyebrow. Then he handed me a basket of suckers to pick some for them. He said “even though they didn’t eat well, they were very well behaved, so they get a sucker.” I had to laugh at that. So I gave the boys their suckers and told them to go tell him thank you. They did and he got such a kick out of it. ๐Ÿ˜€ He asked me if we needed drink carriers and I said “Oh no, they drank all of their milk” and he said “well at least they got the most important part of the meal.” This guy cracks me up. I think I am going to like him. ๐Ÿ˜‰

After that we went to the shoppette and got a small tv stand they have had there forever. We needed something for the play/office/workout room downstairs to put the tv on and it was only $40 so we got that. Finally. The tv has been on the floor in there this whole time. Annoying. After we got home, Jake got ready for work leaving me with all the kids awake at 9:30.ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฏย  I don’t do bedtimes either. HE does them. So that night was a little off. Dylan kept asking for daddy, wanting to know why he wasn’t home so late, when would he be home. Poor kid. I feel bad for him b/c I know he needs TOTAL structure and likes knowing what is coming next….but he has parents that aren’t very good at structure. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I try, but I’m not rigid either.

Jake came into our room this morning around 6 and crashed. Poor guy. Owen and I slept until about 9 or so. The boys were already up watching cartoons. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love that Dylan figured out the remote! HA!! I cringed when Jake taught him, but now I have figured out how to reap the benefits. ๐Ÿ˜† I redirected them to the play room for a bit and then they went outside and played forever! I played with them a while and then made lunches and got them down for naps. Jake was still asleep so it worked out good. He was able to sleep today until about 2 or 3. ๐Ÿ™‚ While the boys were all three down I worked out on the elliptical while watching a movie. I think I did about 45 minutes on it?? At least 30. It was kinda nice having that quiet time to do that. Afterwards I plopped on the fatsak and finished my movie. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Jake was up by then so I got in the shower and got ready. While I was in there the boys got up and just as I was finished Owen woke up. ๐Ÿ˜€ Perfect timing. We loaded up and went to the BX to eat and maybe shop a little, but they were closing in 30 minutes. SERIOUSLY!! Everything here closes so early….and ESPECIALLY on a Sunday! ๐Ÿ˜ฏย  While we were there, Aidan was acting up and making the WORST face ever. He was so mad. We said “why are you making that face?” and he said “I’M NOT MAKING ANY FACE” really angry-like. We just looked at eachother. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Jake said “Aidan, when did you become a teenager?” and the guy two tables over started CRACKING UP! HAHA!! ๐Ÿ˜† It was so funny. Totally a teen MOOD he was in.ย  After we ate we decided to go into town for a bit, just to get out of the house. Where else would we go on a Sunday night when EVERYTHING else is closed?? Waarmaart. That is what the boys call it. ๐Ÿ˜†ย  We puttered around in there and got some stuff, dealt with more teen mood from Aidan. ๐Ÿ˜†ย  I know it’s not really THAT funny, but you have to SEE the faces a two year old can make. It is so funny. And then to say that he’s NOT mad while making these faces. Oh it’s hilarious.

And that leads us to now.ย  Jake is gone, the boys are in bed….well, two of them are.ย  ๐Ÿ˜ย  My night owl is up. ๐Ÿ˜ฏย  Owen is killin me!!!ย  ๐Ÿ˜†

Some weird random things I saw this weekend…..

Aย woman was wearing TIGHTย light yellow yoga pants….with BLACK underwear. ๐Ÿ˜ฏย  Seriously.

There was a kid in line ahead of us at Walmart, and he was clearly obese and I would bet he was MAYBE 20. His entire cart was FULL of frozen pizzas. FULL. ย It made me sad for him. ๐Ÿ˜ฆย 

The guy sitting two tables down from us in the BX…well the tables were pretty close…close enough he could hear our whole conversation. Anyway, EVERY SINGLE TABLE in the place was empty besides ours and he chose to sit so close. It made me think about how lonely some of the new guys without familiesย coming to a base must be. I mean, I have my whole family, and I still have lonely moments. It made me sad to think about how lonely they are. And this guy was CLEARLY listening intently to our entire dinner conversation, and I thought “I wonder if he craves family stuff, like sitting together to eat instead of eating alone?” Eventually, he engaged us in conversation. He got here three days ago. No family.

A guy on base looks like Gary Coleman….totally could be his double. He rides around on a skateboard on base. Lately he has had a little dog pulling him. It makes me giggle.ย 

OH! A lady in Walmart tonight had her little BOY dressed in a skirt. ๐Ÿ˜•ย  I have never seen Jake look so EVIL at someone before. EVER. ๐Ÿ˜ฏย  He was seriously SERIOUSLY bothered by this. I thought he was going to say something to her. If you know my husband….this is just not something he would do. I had to drag him away. And yes, it was clearly a BOY.ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

Alright….off to try to get the night owl to sleep. He is right now rummaging through my cds.ย  ๐Ÿ˜

5 responses »

  1. Sounds like your weekend went okay – me, I am fighting a cold – not bad!

    Reply
  2. Brandy after looking at what you wrote I can see we have a different definition of “not much”. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I seriously doubt that anyone with three children could ever have a boring weekend, as much as they may want one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I was glad that the words “barf” and “sick” weren’t in your post. It does should like your kids are starting to adjust.

    My weekend can be described in two words, beach and baseball.

    Reply
  3. I just know I would get in trouble in waaaarmat with you! Praying for you and that boy to sleep! Hubs worked nights for a while, and it was real hard to find things to do with kids and stll be quiet enough for him to sleep…a fan worked well, even if it was blowing on the wall, helped to muffle the normal noises.. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    Reply
  4. Love the way you thought about that Kid in the BX!

    I think i’d like that Bowling Alley guy too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ♥ U Muffin. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Are you overloading your poor blog with more emoticons than it can handle????:-?
    <B

    Reply
  5. …and it’s probably something to do with your ‘theme’ choice but i noticed that where we can comment it mentions X-HTML codes, whereas mine mentions just HTML coding? Maybe Brent could shed some more light on this? ๐Ÿ™‚
    it might have something to do with why i can’t leave blank lines between my sentences here?

    <B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

