RSS Feed

A change of pace

Posted on

Ohhhhhh, where was I last? I can’t even remember what I posted before the NMFPIMWLC post. That should tell you how tired I am. πŸ˜‰ Seriously. I have a baby that DOES.NOT.SLEEP.EVER. unless of course his face is planted right in my armpit. 😯 It’s weird. I know. Dylan did the same thing when he was a baby.

So anyway, today was downright HOT outside. It started off warm I think. Our window was open all night and I never got cold once. I got up around 7 to get ready b/c Romy (raw-me) was coming over for a bit while Tasha went to an appointment. She and the boys play really well together so I knew that would be fun for them. Bummer thing though, she brought over her GAMEBOY and was glued to that the whole time and didn’t really play with them today. Note to self: never buy the boys a gameboy. Just ’cause. πŸ˜‰ Tasha and Romy left around 11 and the boys went outside after that. I heard Aidan say “DADDY!” and he was standing face the road, but I was at the kitchen sink and didn’t see a white truck go by, so I thought he was pretending. Next thing I know, Jake walks in the garage door! I tend to get really excited when he gets home early. πŸ˜† I was jumping up and down. HAHA! I just like it when he is here during the day and it’s especially nice when it’s unexpected. So, he got to spend the day here at home with us. After lunch the boys played with Jake outside some more and then went to take a nap a bit after one. Really, I don’t think they slept at all. πŸ‘ΏΒ  I’m getting really annoyed about their naps lately b/c they aren’t sleeping all that often. Dylan has it timed PERFECTLY to go #2 during naptime. I swear that kid holds it until naps.Β  πŸ˜•Β  He waits until they’ve been in there about an hour. EVERYTIME. I don’t know how he knows it, but he does…. everytime it’s about an hour. Doesn’t matter what time I lay them down either. If I laid them down the same all the time I would figure it was just his body clock, but it’s not. Nap can be anywhere between noon and 2, just depends. Owen however did take a good nap today. πŸ˜€ He took two naps today….one at 8 this morning for about 2 hours and one at 2 for about two hours. After naps we all got ready and went into town to a Mexican restaurant we haven’t tried yet. It was okay. The atmosphere was really weird. It was totally set up like a caffeteria and it was LOUD. They forgot my food so that was fun. πŸ˜• I got something I wouldn’t normally get but it was pretty good. I got a chicken quesadilla with tomatoes and lettuce with sour cream. That’s it. Now, I LOVE mexican food. Like, a lot. I swear my tastebuds are hispanic. 😯 For me to not get something super greasy or fried and NO rice and beans 😯  THAT is some serious willpower on my end. And only water. *sigh* Jake said “here have some of my rice and beans” and I said “no thanks I’m fine” and then he just stared at me and said “There is no way that was enough food for YOU” HAHA!! Cracked me up. After dinner we went to WalMart and it was all downhill from there. *sigh* Not really, we just were there really late and the boys were SPENT. I feel bad when nights go later than we plan. And we get in the mindset of thinking “well, we’re here might as well do the shopping all at once” only we didn’t, even though we tried, and I forgot stuff, so we’re going back tomorrow. Maybe. Maybe.

We got some puppy stuff….collar, bed, leash, puppy shampoo, bowls. Oh, and the name of this puppy has so far been…Diego or Charlie. And now tonight when we were looking at bowls, there was this cute bowl with CHAMP on it and Jake said “HEY! What about Champ like it says on this bowl?!” and Dylan got really excited and so did Aidan. So, for tonight, it’s Champ. πŸ˜† HAHA!! Who knows what it will end up being when we finally get him.

I wanted to get a coffee table tonight for this little sitting area in the living room. Our living room is long and rectangular so it was hard to arrange furniture. I had all of it at one end in from of the entertainment center but that felt so crowded. So, I moved the loveseat and chair to the other side and created a little nook where you don’t have to be looking at the tv to sit and relax. Nothing annoys me more than facing ALL of the furniture at the TV and feeling like that is the only thing to do. Probably b/c Jake can’t live without the TV on. πŸ˜‰ Seriously. Plus, I like having an area to just sit and relax and do some reading with the boys or, like I am doing now, my computer. Meanwhile, Jake has the TV blaring, but at least I don’t have to be in front of it. πŸ˜‰ HA!! Oh, ha, so anyway, no coffee table. Jake doesn’t like my “nook” so we are at odds about the coffee table. I will win though. Totally. πŸ˜‰ HA! πŸ˜†

Dylan has been REALLY challenging lately. 😦 He is VERY mouthy and assertive when it comes to telling us what he thinks about things, or how he thinks things should be done. 😯 And he does NOT like to be looked at when he knows he is in trouble. “DON’T WOOK AT ME I SAID!!!”Β  πŸ™„Β Β  And he is awesome at throwing collausal tantrums on the floor. Well, not collausal, but he throws himself down into the fetal position and screams “don’t look at me” while there is NO ONE looking at him. And he will keep doing it until someone DOES look at him. Makes NO SENSE AT ALL. *sigh*Β  I don’t really know how to get through to him the concept of TONE when he is talking to us. Sometimes he doesn’t say mean things, he just says normal things in a very disrespectful tone. 😦  I don’t know what to do about it. How to explain it to him….

Tonight at Walmart he was being very….ummm….aware of his surroundings isΒ a good way to put it. πŸ˜† He kept pointing things out that he did or did not like. Oh, one was at the mexican restaurant. “I don’t wike this music. It’s WEIRD.” 😯  At walmart a lady walked by me in an isle and I didn’t look at her but as she walked by Dylan said “Hey mommy, that girl right there, she walked by with her face like THIS” and he proceeded to hang his mouth open. And he wasn’t being mean or laughing at all. He was just relaying information to me…. information that I could go without.Β Β  πŸ˜†Β  There was something else he said tonight too that we told him to not say in public but now I can’t remember what it was. πŸ˜• Yesterday he CRACKED ME UP when he was playing with his dump truck outside. He was transporting rocks back and forth and I said “okay now Dylan you need to share with Aidan too” and he said “But I can’t right now mommy, I’m taking a dump!” and I said “WHAT?!” and he said “I’m taking my rocks to the dump like when daddy goes to the dump.”Β  OH MY GOSH I thought I was going to die laughing. It was so funny. πŸ˜†

Aidan is doing so well!! That kid makes me smile so much when he is being the sweet little boy I know is in there. πŸ˜€ He’s so ornery all the time that I rarely get to “see” him. πŸ˜† I love his ornery-ness though sometimes b/c it’s so HIM. Like with him being sick, all he wanted me to do was hold him constantly. Then on Tuesday morning he came into our room and I said “Here bud, come get in bed with mommy” and he said “NO, I don’t want you to hold me!” and I thought to myself “He’s baaaaaaack!” HA!! πŸ˜†Β  I knew he would be fine after that, and he was. He is so independant he rarely wants hugs and cuddles, but when he does, they are the best. πŸ˜€ He has been getting a little more affectionate at night. He has asked me to lay down with him several times lately and he has given me the best neck hugs too. I love it. Tonight he was SO CUTE in the truck. I had to go out the truck while Jake paid for the stuff b/c I had to feed Owen, so Aidan came with me. I let him sit in the drivers seat and pretend to drive. I turned on Rascal Flatts “Life is a Highway” song and he was ROCKING OUT and tuning that wheel like crazy. He LOVED it. πŸ˜€ He is also my “dancer.” Music comes on ANYWHERE and that kid starts moving. He had the best time “driving” the truck. I just looked at him and thought “this is the best, seeing him so lit up.”Β  ♥Β Β  ♥Β  I loved it.Β  :d

Owen, little stinker bomber, is going to be walking soon. πŸ˜€ I got him a ride-n-go tonight and put it together when we got home and he was OFF!! And he takes these cute teeny tiny steps. It’s SO CUTE and he gets so excited. Lately, during the dayΒ he has been the happiest kid…..okay I take that back….yesterday he was a turd. But for the most part, when he isn’t tired, he is just giggly and LOVES to throw his head back and cringe and breath really heavy….that’s his idea of laughing. πŸ˜† He is still not sleeping through the night or sleeping in his room all night. 😦 It is REALLY wearing me out to have him in our bed. I don’t like it. I know they are only little once, but seriously, it’s getting OLD. He is old enough and big enough to sleep on his own through the night. I don’t know what his deal is. 😦 Good thing he’s cute though. πŸ˜† heehee

***** Jake is going on MID SHIFT for the next week. 😦    😦    😦    😦   He will be going to work at 10pm and not getting off until around 5am.Β  *sigh* I am SO NOT looking forward to this, b/c that means I am going to have to try and find some way to keep the boys quiet during the day so Jake can sleep. Either that or I will just leave the house and go do something with them I guess. I’m not worried about being alone at night like I always was before in Oregon. I love living on base. I feel very safe here. I will for sure be able to sleep better than I did in Oregon when he was gone. I barely slept if he was out of town. Or I had my mom come stay with me. Mom, I wish you could come stay with me now though. 😦  *sniff*Β  I miss my mom.

So, for the next week I get to figure out a new family pace to suit Jake’s needs for work. I think I have it figured out, but we will see how tomorrow goes.

Okay folks, I think that’s about enough for tonight. *YAWN*

7 responses »

  1. Too many emotions for me! i couldn’t keep up. At least when I take my nap I wake up dry! Mama is happy about that!

    Reply
  2. Busy, busy, busy!!!

    I’ll pray you get some good sleep…it’s a trying time, but you’re right, they’re only little once.

    Reply
  3. man, that was a loooong post! so much going on. hope you got some good sleep after all that!

    talk to ya later! i’m gonna go take a dump…

    Reply
  4. Alece – you’re too big to play with trucks….

    Oooooooooohh!! 😳

    <B

    Reply
  5. HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    Alece, I think I love you! HAHA!! Three kids=long posts. πŸ˜†
    *
    Love, 😳 heehee How you been boy? πŸ˜‰
    *
    Michelle, half my problem is I love to cuddle with him and have gotten used to it, but when I really want to sleep, it stinks.
    *
    Papa, I am very glad for your sake and Mama’s that you wake up dry from your naps! 😯 HAHA!!

    Reply
  6. PHEW. You are sharpening and preparing me for a season to come. I don’t know when God has planned for us to have children but I know I need preparation and I appreciate all the wonderful mothers I have met through blogging!

    Sounds like Aidan is feeling a lot better, PRAISE THE LORD! Dylan sounds like a character!! So cute!!

    I understand the frustration concerning your husband’s schedule; I will definitely be praying for strength and patience as you all adjust to the new routine. God is able to work with the time you have to make sure you remain connected as a family. I pray that He would lead you in terms of time and activities during this season.

    Love ya! Have a wonderful night!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

