RSS Feed

NMFAPIMWLC….I think I got that right.

Posted on

No More Fat Arse People In Ministry Weight Loss Challenge…. right??? RIGHT.

Okay, so I’m not in “ministry” ministry, like in church or anything, but as Ric so nicely put it in one of my comments, moms have a ministry all their own…. the babies. And what kind of example do I want to set for my kids by being a fat arse?? Not that I am FAT fat. But I’m not fit either. And I don’t eat the best I could either. Soooo, Brent “tagged” me I guess you could say, or you could say he commanded me, to join in on this weight loss challenge. πŸ˜† See for yourself HERE. Now there is no set in stone way to do this, it’s everyone for themselves. Whatever works for YOU, or..me as the case may be. So, how am I going to do this??? Let’s see…

  • I’m not going to live by the scale.Β  I’m not really all that worried about the scale. If I was significantly overweight I would be focusing on a set number of pounds, but I’m not. I’m just not all the healthy. Make sense? So while I will be checking my weight just to see what my progress (if any in the weight department) is, I will not be a slave to it. In reality, I could gain weight getting healthy b/c we all know muscle weighs more than fat. But I don’t hope to gain that much muscle either. πŸ˜†
  • Drink lots of water. I plan on drinking mainly water. I am giving up all sodas, juices, etc. I am even going to scale the coffee back to ONE A DAY. 😯 I will only drink milk at meals, but that has to stay whole milk b/c really I can’t drink anything else. It’s just… I can’t. πŸ˜† I really struggled with the decision about the coffee. Some days I have none, others I have A LOT.Β  But I think limiting myself to one iced coffee in the morning (LOVE it iced!) will keep me from splurging on those other days. And really, my coffee is half coffee half creamer. 😯 HAHA!!
  • One serving per meal. I an NOTORIOUS for being able to pack it away. I can out eat Jake any day. 😯 I could finish off an entire casserole by myself and still want to eat a few slices of buttered bread. The reason for this?? I mostly only eat at night. That will be changing too…more on that in a minute. At dinner I am only going to have ONE plate of food. If I want more veggies though, that will be the only exception to seconds. I love veggies so that is good. Minus carrots and corn though b/c they are carbs, so I can’t have seconds of those. πŸ˜‰
  • Eat throughout the day.Β  I am VERY bad about not eating all day and then splurging at dinner. I need to eat more like the boys do….all day long. And good stuff. My boys eat pretty good….bananas, apples, cheese, sandwhiches….throughout the day. They are constantly eating. And they have a TON of energy. I need to eat more frequently and make better food choices. More fruits and veggies to snack on, less buttered breads and chocolates. 😳
  • Less computer time.Β  This doesn’t sound like your typical diet plan but really, I need to get my ARSE off the computer and DO MORE and I think that will make a huge difference. B/c really, I spend a lot of time on here. 😳 It’s embarrassing. Really. And I know I’m not alone in this! 😯  πŸ˜†Β  So my computer time will be limited to the mornings to run through my blogroll, comment QUICKLY, answer emails, and then shut it down. I will get back on during naptime if I want to post something (like now) or look stuff up, but that’s it. My nights are going to be off limits for the most part. That is something I need to talk to Jake about, b/c really, he’s not thrilled with my blogtime either.Β  😳  This is the part of the “diet” that is more focused on overall health, not just physical health.
  • MOVE MORE. I figure this one will naturally fall into place with less computer time. πŸ˜‰ For me, it’s hard to do a regimented excercise plan b/c well, I balk at it and b/c of the boys. I do have an elliptical which I have hardly used. 😳 It was an impulse purchase to counter Jake’s TV purchase. Okay, so maybe it was a bitter purchase. πŸ˜† HA! But still, I have it, I should use it.

Okay so I think that’s about it.Β  😯  Small changes, but I think they will make a big difference in my life. Oh, and I guess I should post my weight huh so all youse πŸ˜‰ can follow along. Okay here it is: weight 150lbs.Β  Not bad considering I weighed 200lbs in June last year….9 months pregnant. πŸ˜‰ Inevitably, there will be some weight loss but like I said before, I am more interested in feeling better not weighing less.

Here is a list of everyone else joining in on this. Check them out if you have a chance and see how they are going about this. To each his own! πŸ˜‰Β 

Kristen
Joe
Ron
Buddy

Dan
Rick
BrandyΒ 
Deborah
Mandy
Joel
Theressa
Steven
Love
Tawny
Kelly
James

14 responses »

  1. your plan sounds great. i need to figure out how to do something similar even while we’re traveling in the states…

    Reply
  2. First off…thanks for joining in my wierd named challenge…
    Your thoughts and plan are awesome…can’t wait to read how you do.

    and Alece: first step is to grap the crazy logo…and make it happen. lol

    Reply
  3. I am not on the list – I don’t have a weight problem – my weight is fine in fact I plan to maintain my weight – I just need to grow about 8 inches taller and I would be fine with the weight I have – would be 5’13” tall (Tam’s Oregon scale) or 6’1″ U.S. measurement. mama is near perfect – she is less than 10 pounds difference from the day she got married – thats ridiculous! :o( !! so I am eating more to grow taller!

    Reply
  4. Being a diabetic I have no choice but to closely monitor what I eat. I think your actual weight may not mean that much. It’s things like your blood sugar level, blood pressure and cholesterol that counts more as an indicator of health, not weight.

    We don’t need a scale. If our clothes start fitting tighter we are adding some weight in the wrong places. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. I’ll read the post and your plan later…I just wanted to say…

    In 10 minutes Smallville starts…YAY!!

    Then Gray’s…then LOST…

    ENJOY!!! πŸ˜†

    Reply
  6. Way to go Bran!

    It will be fun keeping up with you and seeing how it goes πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Oh No – i’ve lost Muffin to TV and a health regime! πŸ˜₯

    Wow Bran, that sounds like a DRASTIC change.

    I’m not going to say don’t do it – i am going to say though that it’s best to do what you can stick to so you don’t get tempted to ‘give up’ or ‘slack off’ as that can be a big discouragement to your goals.

    maybe phase those things into your life one week or so at a time? as all at once it could be ‘punishing’ more than ‘rewarding’ – yes?

    you don’t have to eliminate things completely – cut down then if you want to replace with something you can enjoy that is healthier.

    Moderation i guess its what i am saying it doe snot have to be all or nothing – that can place a LOT of pressure on a body – especially if it is ‘all in one big hit’.

    and a waring – i know from personal experience that removing the pc from your life has ‘withdrawal symptoms’ and one can get ‘grumpy’!

    I know you said you were not giving it up entirely but anything can result in withdrawal anguish!

    Love your ‘willingness’ to jump right in with us!
    and i love your ♥

    πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  8. Doe snot???? sounds yukky! πŸ˜‰

    <B

    Reply
  9. Oh – and Brandy? Vinny might not like that you forgot him on your list??

    Out of sight – out of mind?? πŸ˜‰

    I still love ya!

    <B

    Reply
  10. She doesn’t need me on the list to know I’m watching πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. I just know how you get when you feel you’re being left out! πŸ˜‰

    <B

    Reply
  12. hey…if you’re still awake [it’s thurs night]…hop over to Mandy’s blog. We’re bombarding her w/ comments before she comes home tomorrow by playing the game where you list the first word that comes to mind after reading the previous comment…come over and play!!!

    Reply
  13. I haven’t seen any fat, only curves a lot of girls would die for! Eating healthy is good, we all should do that. Easy to say, harder to do.
    Give us enough computer time to let us know what is going on with you all. We look forward to reading your blogs.

    Reply
  14. so.
    does this mean that inWorship thinks we’re all fat???
    i’m just sayin.

    i go on vacation and come back to this. dang.

    he’s probably right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

