RSS Feed

Agony

Posted on

So my poor little guy Aidan is totally dehydrated. 😦 Jake fed him cheerios one atΒ a time this morning and he took little tiny sips of pedialyte, only to throw it all up this afternoon after a long coma like nap. After that he started SCREAMING and thrashing around BEGGING for water. He was crying, but no tears were falling at all. And this is the kind of kid that cries buckets, so to have no tears…. bad sign. Also, he’s hardly peed today. And he has kept NOTHING in his tummy since Saturday…in fact the last time he ate was Saturday at 2 and that is what he tossed up that night. 😦 I felt so awful for him. He ran into the kitchen and started looking for ANYTHING to drink. 😦 He found my glass of water and tried to drink it but I had to PRY it from his hands. I finally gave him a sip and he GULPED down a “sip” and then screamed when I took it away. The he went running around looking for anything else to drink and found another cup of water and tried to drink that. 😦 It was awful. The whole time he was screaming “I WANT WATER!!!”Β Β  πŸ˜₯Β Β  As a mom, it was agonizing watching him beg for water and not being able to give it to him, besides the little sips. Any more than that and he would just throw up again.

I talked to the nurse and she was worried he was dehydrated also, so she recommended we get him in right away. I am so upset that we don’t have a cell phone right now. 😦 We don’t really need one at all for everyday use, but times like this I wish we had one. We’ve never not had one, so this is weird. I can’t call to check on them, and they are most likely going to give him an IV. 😦 I wish I could be there with himΒ instead, but I have to stay home b/c of Owen…. since he nurses still. My mom asked why we all didn’t go and really, I don’t know why I didn’t think of that. 😦 But really, it’s probably better this way. *sigh* I just hate not being the one to take care of him. 😦

====

Jake stayed home today b/c last night I was hovering in the bathroom just WAITING to throw up. I could feel it, but it never happened. I didn’t feel good at all through the night, but today I am better. I showered and changed out of my yucky nurse mommy clothes so that is good! Maybe I can get some stuff cleaned up while they are gone.Β  And maybe eat. Geeze, have I even eaten today???? *okay, back with a piece of cheese*

So I don’t feel so bad, tell me about your most memorable experience as a parent with a sick kid. πŸ˜€ And FTR, this isn’t the most memorable, it just happens to be the current one. πŸ˜‰

19 responses »

  1. June 1976 – daughter was 5 had full blown chicken pox! the issue ??? We were in the middle of a job relocation and living in a single motel room for 60 days!

    Reply
  2. Three days after Christmas in 2006 my two smallest children were both admitted to Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital. Brewer stayed 5 days and Gage 3 days. They wouldn’t put us in the same room due to medication dosages so our whole family was split. Brewer was 7 months and Gage 2 1/2. It was so tough!

    Hope you all are feeling better.

    Reply
  3. Brandi… that is awful! 😦 What was wrong with them?? That must have been tough to not all be together. 😦 As a mom your mommy heart must have been so torn!
    *
    Papa… I was thinking of that story actually during this. I think of that almost everytime the kids are sick. πŸ˜‰ I told Jake you guys had to do that when we were moving here. NO THANKS! 😯

    Reply
  4. No Kids – No expert.

    Water quality can vary a lot from place to place.

    Vomiting is a defence mechanism of our body. if there is something within us that our body is not ‘acclimatised’ to it tends to find ways to get rid of it. This is to our long term benefit.

    Water is esential to life, and short of drowing, most of us never get enough of the stuff.

    Love you Bran – Prayers for you and your little ones.

    <B

    Reply
  5. Love, I remember hearing somewhere that if it were not for our bodily instict to vomit, we would easily die early on. Also, our bodies can adapt to eating different foods on a regular basis…animals like cats, dogs, horses, etc… can’t without becoming sick in some way. The things our bodies do are amazing…. including vomiting. πŸ˜‰

    He is better tonight THANK GOD. Sipping water and keeping it down.

    I hear ya on the water quality…I’m such a water snob! πŸ˜†

    Reply
  6. EEKS! You poor thing. You sure do understand about your kids being sicky. Gabe hasn’t thrown up yet…THANK GOD! I do not do well with puke. Poor Aiden too.

    I hope he’s starting to feel better soon and that no one else gets it. :o(

    Reply
  7. crap, I spelled Aidan’s name wrong. Time for Jenny to go to bed! ;o)

    Reply
  8. Hey, Brandy, I was out of sorts yesterday and didn’t make it over…did they keep him overnight?

    Just a thought…if you haven’t mentioned the possible fissure to the doc you might want to do that. As much as this could be a virus, it could also be a reaction to the amount of infection in his body. πŸ˜•

    I’m praying…I don’t want to share our traumatic experiences…I don’t beleive misery loves company…but know, I know what you’re experiencing. Hold on tight and keep praying.

    Reply
  9. Jenny! HI! HAHA! I was like “who is Jenny?” πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by and saying hi. πŸ˜‰ I hope Gabe doesn’t throw up for a looooong time! It’s not fun.
    *
    Michelle, I LOVE YOUR NEW PICTURE!! πŸ˜€ I can see more of your face! ANd your smile! πŸ˜€ And your dog! HAHA!! πŸ˜† The infection that was on Aidans leg is gone. They gave him amoxicillian for it and it cleared right up after it drained. I am hoping that this vomitting episode was the last of whatever infection was inside him. And still praying the rest of us don’t get it. 😯

    Reply
  10. I’m so glad to hear he’s better… πŸ˜‰

    Glad you like my avatar, Sammie is my constant companion since my kids are all teenagers! πŸ˜†

    Oh, and could you edit out my spelling error…it’s driving me crazy! πŸ‘Ώ πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. heehee, yes. πŸ˜‰

    *I am CRACKING UP over this!*

    Reply
  12. well, maybe not, I can’t figure out how. πŸ˜† Sawreeee. πŸ˜‰

    If it helps, I didn’t notice it until you said something and then I had to go back and read it three times to figure it out! πŸ˜†

    Reply
  13. OK – so it’s not sooooo obvious!!

    Of course, now that I’ve made such a big deal about it, EVERYONE will notice. πŸ˜†

    Have a great day, sweet girl!! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  14. oh my gosh. how’s he feeling???

    Reply
  15. Brandy, it is great hear that Aidan’s infection has cleared up. The poor guy has been going through so much. I hope he gets back to 100% soon.

    I hope your life is settling down some as well. I guess with three children life will never be boring. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  16. Ed, I love the avatar that comes up with your name! HAHA!! πŸ˜† Love it! I think Aidan is well on his way. He no longer wants loves or cuddles. πŸ˜‰ That is a sure sign he is back to himself. πŸ˜† HA!! And yes Ed, life is never boring with these boys. πŸ˜‰
    *
    Michelle, I won’t point it out if you don’t. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†
    *
    Alece, Aidan is better today. He has managed to keep everything down that he has eaten and fluids are staying put too. πŸ˜‰ He’s napping now. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  17. I beleive she already has πŸ™‚

    Evening Bran πŸ™‚

    ♥ U

    <B

    Reply
  18. πŸ˜† ♥ you too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

