RSS Feed

Longest blog post ever

Posted on

Today was SUPPOSED to be library day but that didn’t pan out. πŸ˜• We, not so wisely, went into town last night and were gone too long so the boys went to bed late. They slept until 9:45 this morning!! That is amazing for Dylan who wakes at the crack of dawn. Dylan woke up in a mooooood though. His arm hurt b/c he slept on it funny so he laid in bed with me and whimpered. I had to get Aidan his bath and let his leg soak. A bit of background here: He has an infection on his inner thigh. It started out looking like a little zit or ingrown hair and he scratched it and it got really infected b/c it’s in his diaper area. It is HUGE and gross. I had to drain it several times yesterday and OMG it was disgusting. Only for my kid would I ever do something that gross. Draining an infected wound is not something you would willingly do for someone else. πŸ˜† He is on anti-biotics for it and has bactroban to put on it three times a day. I also have to let him soak in a HOT-as-he-can-stand-it bath 2-3 times a day. That has been taxing b/c he SCREAMS when I scrub it (doctors orders) and he fights me like crazy when I have to drain it. It hurts him SO BAD.Β  😦 Β So anyway…. where was I? Oh yes, Aidan had to have his bath. So, I did that and then we all four went downstairs. I of course got online for a bit. πŸ™„ I really am addicted. I need help.Β Β  πŸ˜•

The boys only wanted cereal for breakfast so cereal and fruit it was. πŸ˜† Tell me, why do they NOT want a hot breakfast of eggs and toast or pancakes and fruit? Seriously? HA! I hate giving them cereal b/c 1) it’s messy and 2) I feel like since I am home with them I should make them a warm breakfast. I spent too many mornings giving them cereal before and then had horrible days with them b/c they didn’t have a good enough breakfast, so now, it’s only about once a week.

Today we woke up to SUNSHINE! instead of the rain we had yesterday. I quick got them dressed and sent them outside and they were outside ALL DAY TODAY. It was great. πŸ˜€ I am loving our house here b/c I can see right out to the back from the kitchen/dining area so I just let them go. And living on base I feel totally safe having them be out there “alone.” It’s great too b/c we live on a corner and they are rerouting housing traffic by our house while they build more housing…. so we get a lot of “traffic” by our house. Traffic that only goes 15 mph! πŸ™‚ That’s a plus. Dylan and Aidan think they are slowing down just for them. πŸ˜† They wave and yell “HI!” to everyone who drives by. It’s so cute. If someone doesn’t wave back Dylan says “UGH! They didn’t say HI to me! And I even said ‘my name is Dywan!’ to them and they didn’t see me!” HAHAHAHA!! πŸ˜† Cracks me up!

I played outside with them for a while today before lunch. We threw this boomerang around that my mom sent for Dylan’s birthday. They call it a frisbee though. πŸ˜† We had fun playing out there for about an hour….hour and half or so. After that we came in for lunch and then I let the boys play in their play room for a bit and then it was nap. Owen had fallen asleep on Jake while he was home at lunch so he was already down. yeah! (we need a thumbs up smiley btw!) During nap I called my mom and Tara answered. πŸ˜† She was at a property with my mom so she answered and we chatted for a bit. Tara is an old friend from all the way back to 6th grade. My mom cleans rental properties that Tara manages. They spend a lot of time together…. just enough to make me jealous of the both of them! πŸ˜† I talked to my mom a while and after that I dinked around here. I hung up some pictures and stuff, rearranged some things I had already hung up. πŸ™„ I am so bad about decorating and redecorating. Nothing stays the same long. πŸ˜† I finished up with some of that stuff and then got online and had an IM chat with Papa (Indian Lake Papa). I always love chatting with him. πŸ˜€ Too bad the boys interrupted our chit chat. πŸ˜‰

After nap it was outside again for some bike riding in the backyard. I didn’t play outside with them as much this time. I was trying to get stuff cleaned up inside and just kept checking on them. Eventually though Owen and I went out there and we all had a snack and tossed theΒ “frisbee” around again. πŸ˜‰ Jake got home fairly early tonight, a little after 5, so we all came in and hung out a bit. The boys played in their play room and Jake of course conked on the couch in front of the tv. πŸ˜† The boys didn’t last long playing, they joined him and watched Sponge Bob, or as Dylan calls it “Psonge Bob” HAHA! πŸ˜† I love it! I got up and made dinner….chicken andΒ veggie stir fry over brown rice. YUM! πŸ˜› And then of course…..what else wouldΒ we do…. but goΒ BACK outside. πŸ˜†Β Β  πŸ˜†Β Β  πŸ˜† The weather here is so nice for being out when its not raining. Not too hot at all, and not cold either. I am loving North Dakota weather so far. πŸ˜€ After awhile it was time for baths and the dreaded draining of the wound. ICK. Luckily I think it is done draining b/c I couldn’t getΒ anything out of it tonight. Poor kid, I have to literally sit with his legs UNDER mine and my feet holding his arms down b/c he fights so hard for me to not even TOUCH it. I feel so bad. He screams “you are hurting me mommy! Don’t do that to me!”Β  😦  Everytime I do it I think “why couldn’t we be taking him back to the doctor toΒ do this b/c this is so not fair to have a mom do this.” I hate it.

All day today I was emailing the lady we areΒ buying the cockapoo from. You can see a recent picture of him HERE. Β She is being a little difficult.Β Β πŸ˜•Β Β  She has expressed to me that she would prefer it if we didn’t buy him and instead bought his brother b/c she thinks he (the one we want) is too timid and when she saw that we have boys (when we went to see the pups) she emailed me later saying she wasn’t comfortable with the idea of him going to us and encouraged us to get his brother instead. πŸ˜• I told her no, that we wanted HIM and not his brother. We don’t like the look and color of his brother, and when we were there looking at them, his brother kept biting toes and was really rambunctious. We want a more laid back dog and this little guy was just so sweet. πŸ˜€ We totally want him. So, we need to give a deposit and I kept emailing her so we could line up a time to get it to her, and she woudn’t email me back all day, and I know for certain she does emails for the dogs all day. She’s a breeder, it’s what she does, and before she has always been very timely. Well she finally emailed me back late tonight and said it woudn’t work for her right now and she’d get back to me.Β  *grumble*grumble* πŸ˜• I hope she’s not trying to put us off so we don’t go through with getting that puppy. 😦

Tomorrow is a MOPS meeting here on base, but it’s the second to last meeting, and I’m not sure I want to bother going right now since they only have two meetings left.Β  They will resume meetings in September, but I guess throughout summer they will meet informally for little events. The problem there is, they all already know each other and I don’t want to jump in when it’s not going to be structered stuff. I would feel like I was crashing a party or something. PLUS, it’s at 9:30 in the morning and I am SO not ready to meet somewhere that early yet. At all. πŸ˜† I sound lazy I know….but my kids sleep in! 😯 Well, Aidan and Owen sleep in. πŸ˜†

******

Just now I had to go in to Dylan’s room and calm him down. He had a horrible night terror. He gets these around this time of year, which is very odd. I have kept track of them and they are consistant. I figure its from over exerting himself outside in the sun….I’m not sure. It is very weird though. And his dreams, they are also consistant. It’s always a strange man bothering him. At home in Oregon, it was a man that he said stood in his doorway with a long black coat and a black hat. TOTALLY freaked me out. 😯 It was always the same though. I started to get very creeped out when we’d go in there and he’d be SCREAMING and trying to get away from this man he “saw.” Well just now he was standing on his bed screaming and when I walked in he threw himself on the bed and started thrashing and when I held him he just SHOOK like crazy and kept screaming saying “HIM….” and then not saying anything at all, just crying. 😦 I feel so bad for him when this happens. *sigh* I just started praying out loud and rubbing his back and he calmed down enough to look at me and tell me about his dream. He said he was in our house and a stranger was outside on his bike and he was mean. That’s all he’d say. I hate bad dreams.

Okay friends, if you’ve read this far, bless your bored little hearts. πŸ˜† HAHA! Jake just said “do you know it’s going to take someone an HOUR to read your blog?!” HAHAHA!!! πŸ˜†

24 responses »

  1. Hello Friend,
    Sounds like you guys are getting settled in. You are such a good little Mommy Brandy! Lots of love to you guys. Miss you lots and wish I could come help you in your new house, I love stuff like that.
    God bless,
    Sarah

    Reply
  2. Sarah! I would love if you could help me too! πŸ˜† HAHA! They boys could all entertain eachother and play. heehee

    How’re your new toilet seats? haha! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. i either have WAY too much time on my hands (?? – Nahhh!) lol or i really like you – i read the whole thing πŸ™‚

    Sorry to hear about Aiden’s wound. It sounds like it might be getting better but if anything similar crops up buy some NATURAL (i.e. not boiled to sterilise it) Honey – it is one of nature’s best sterilisers and antibiotics for skin repair and can also draw out infection from bites or sores. Hospitals are reporting extremely good results in cases of severe burns and flesh-eating disease by treating them with Honey!

    Best to bandage the area as it would be a little bit ‘sticky’ if left ‘open’. πŸ™‚

    As for Dywan πŸ™‚ i wish i had something positive to suggest. Can you or Jake encourage him to trust in some kind of ‘protection’ he can rely upon if he ever ‘sees’ this aparition in his dream again? Like a kind of Guardian Angel he can always ask for ‘help’ whenever he feels frightened?

    Not an easy time right now but you are a Star as a Mom Bran πŸ™‚

    Love You

    <B

    Reply
  4. You should have started with: “Once upon a time” and ended with; “They lived happily ever after”! That was quite a blog! Will be praying for Aiden! By the way, if we get out that way I will drive slow past your house and wave back at Dywan! love you little one and IM is always a pleasure with you!

    Reply
  5. I read and loved every word…it’s good to hear about your willingness to give and give and give…you’re a great mom!

    If I read about the sore properly, both of my guys had the same issue. Is it called a fissure? The draining can be terrible…one of my guys had to have surgery to open it up to let it heal from the inside out b/c it wouldn’t quit draining. It’s good it’s beginning to heal, you don’t want to have to go into surgery.

    Think about it…the lancing, the pain, the healing process of a wound…God does that with us too…it’s a loving process.

    Keep writing, I’m reading. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  6. Brandy, where did your sweet face go? What is the avatar that’s up – I can’t make it out… πŸ˜•

    Reply
  7. Michelle, that avatar is what comes up when I am not logged in….like right now….haha!

    Reply
  8. LOVE: I knew you’d have some sort of remedy for me to try! πŸ˜€ Well, I was really hoping you would anyway. πŸ˜‰ I want to try to find some other medicinal alternative to this b/c the Doctor said this will be a recurrent issue. *sigh* My mother in law has actually mentioned the honey before but I forgot about it until you mentioned it here. As for Dylan, I have told him that he can pray out loud when he’s scared and to know that nothing bad can happen to him and that mommy and daddy are not going to let anything bad happen to him. That always seems to calm him down too. I taught him to pray a simple prayer when he’s scared and sometimes he says he does it, but other times he’s just too scared to remember. 😦 Poor kid. However, this morning he didn’t remember any of it. πŸ˜‰ ♥ you Love!
    *
    PAPA: I warned that it was a long blog post! HAHA! πŸ˜† I’m sure Dywan would be THRILLED if you waved at him! HA!! And yes, IM is always so nice with you, it’s like no time has passed since the last one. πŸ˜€ Love you!
    *
    MICHELLE: It’s funny you mentioned your son b/c last night I was thinking it might need to be lanced by a doctor b/c it won’t drain anymore and there is still a large hard mass under his skin. 😦 I will have to look up fissures and learn more about them. Between you and Love I’ll be looking up a lot of stuff on Google today. πŸ˜€ HAHA! My mom keeps asking me if I’ve googled anything b/c she KNOWS I am a google freak, but oddly enough, I haven’t yet. I’ll have to get on that. πŸ˜‰ What you said here: it’s good to hear about your willingness to give and give and give…. really made me 😳 b/c I don’t feel like I give that much at all most days. Thank you for that comment Michelle. It warmed my heart. πŸ˜€ And you are right about God putting us through the same process. See, you are so good at seeing that stuff! Love it!

    Reply
  9. AH HA! I read it, and it only took me 1 hour and 45 minutes. Ha ha. J/K. This is where my fast reading comes in handy!

    Im really glad you stopped calling the dog a cockapooPOO. When did you finally realize the real name?? ha ha!! I told you I had one when I was younger right???
    I wonder what is up with the lady?? Hope it works out for the best of everyone, including the Poo. :- )

    Poor Dylan. Those dreams sound terrifying. I wonder why he always has them at the same time of year??? I am glad that you prayed outloud for him. That stuff is so scary. THe black hat/coat thing is just TOO creepy!!!!!

    Im glad that you are loving your house and your yard. I do think it is time for some more pictures!!!

    Reply
  10. This “face” looks strangly like me!!!!
    Wow.

    Reply
  11. I made it through too and am enjoying experiencing ‘motherhood’ through you (a lot easier, I’m sure, though Nick’s still praying ={!)
    That would definitely be a ‘Sarah thing’ that I’m not in anyway hoping for! Thankfully,so far my prayers for ‘spiritual children/grandchildren’ instead have won out =)!

    My thought was similar to Michelle’s, especially when you said:

    I feel so bad. He screams β€œyou are hurting me mommy! Don’t do that to me!” 😦 Everytime I do it I think β€œwhy couldn’t we be taking him back to the doctor to do this b/c this is so not fair to have a mom do this.” I hate it.

    I’m sure any mom (or dad either) would say the same thing. But God allows it to help us identify with His heart when WE don’t understand His ways.
    After all He(Jesus)is the only one who can genuinely say,

    “It hurt me(the cross) more than it(sin)hurts you!”

    Thanks for sharing your life with us all,
    D-
    P.S. Pray for Daniel since he’s on his way to Kosavo for a 2 week project and leaving his wife and 2 kids behind. Also, they’ll be relocating to Ft. Collins, CO. in August or Sept this year
    ..your neighbors almost =)!

    Reply
  12. Teresa, yes that does look oddly like you in the morning before coffee. HAHA! πŸ˜‰ I was calling the dog a cockapoopoo b/c that is what this lady calls them b/c the mom is a cockapoo and the dad is a poodle. She types it out like Cockapoo x poo and calls them cockapoopoos. HA! It was hard not to laugh. πŸ˜‰
    Yes I know it is time for new pictures. πŸ˜• I have them, I just need to do the kodak albums and I really hate doing them. *groan*
    *
    Dana, Nick is still praying?! 😯 WOW… I think I would be nervous if I were you. HAHA! It would very much be a “sarah” situation indeed! πŸ˜†
    I never thought of what I was doing with Aidan in the way you described….allowing it to help us identify with Gods heart concerning us. That is a good thought to keep in mind throughout this. How true. It hurts my heart immensely to do that to him, but physically I am sure it hurts him worse. 😦 I dread it just as much as he does. *sigh*
    Feel free to live through me! And if you ever want to experience it first hand, I’d be glad to supply you with a plane ticket that has a weeklong layover here! HAHA! πŸ˜†
    (I emailed you about Daniel)

    Reply
  13. I read it and it took me 60 min…but that was b/c of disruptions here! πŸ˜† Gotta go play with play doh now.

    Reply
  14. But that makes no sense. Isn’t a cockapoo a cocker and a poodle anyway? So what’s up with the second POO? Where does the second POO come from?
    I just like typing POO. Can you tell??? :- P

    Reply
  15. The second poo comes from the dad, which is a pure poodle. So the mom is a COCKAPOO and the dad is a POOdle….. COCKAPOO(mom)POO(dad)…see? HAHA!!

    Love said that in Australia they call them Cockerdoodles. I think I’m beginning to like that better. HAHA!

    Cheryl…. I hate play doh. πŸ˜† The boys love it but I hate it. I’m too anal. I don’t like the colors to mix. Drives me nuts. HA!

    Reply
  16. Brandy, it is nice to hear about the fun you and your children have playing. No speeding cars to worry about and living where you and your children can feel safe.

    I wish I could trade places with your kids, breakfast has always been my favorite meal. Nothing like eggs, pancakes and French toast to get the day off to a great start. I guess kids are too impatient to sit at the table for very long.

    Treating Aiden’s infection is painful for both him and you. I hope it clears up real soon. Childhood illness and injuries are something I doubt can be avoided. Your family is sure having their share. When I was in the Army I can say we did get the best medical care. Are you using an Air Force doctor?

    I hope you that dog breeder(?) stops giving you the run around, getting the right pet is important.

    It is also too bad about Dylan’s nightmares, they are no fun at any age. Taking care of three children is a full time job, but I don’t think you would trade it for anything.

    Reply
  17. It’s True – an Aussie breeder came up with the idea origianlly for Guide Dogs for the Blind Association to provide them with Guide dogs who were intelligent and yet non-allergic. He crossed the Labrador with a Poodle and created the first labradoodle. Sadly the idea was not well received with The GDA because breeders anfd their registered asociation would not willingly cross-breed to supply the Association with enough Dogs to train.

    Somehow the word spread to America though and the idea took off BIG TIME!

    Cocker spaniels have been introduced into the ‘mix and a ‘Cockerdoodle’ eliminates any confusion with Cockatoo’s which are in profusion in the wild and in our cities over here. πŸ™‚

    love is a Font of useless information πŸ™‚

    <B

    Reply
  18. well that’s just silly
    I want her to drop the XPoo.

    ha ha ha

    Reply
  19. TERESA:You want her to drop the poo? Would you like her to drop it like it’s hot? πŸ˜† OMGOSH I can’t believe I just said that. 😳 Only you my dear will be laughing I am sure. πŸ˜† heehee
    *
    ED:Come on over and I’ll make you a nice hot breakfast. πŸ˜€ I did manage to get them to eat whole wheat pancakes yesterday though, with some pears. πŸ˜‰ We are using AF doctors but nowadays I’d rather use a doctor in town. AF doctors aren’t very personable and don’t have the best bedside manner. πŸ˜• It’s unfortunate. Jake just went the other day and the doctor never he even LOOKED at him, just walked in, gave him a prescription, and walked out. Didn’t even listen to him. I am going to have a hard time with that if my doctor turns out to be that way. I love my doctors back home. 😦
    *
    LOVE! ♥ You ARE a fount of information….and none of it is ever useless! πŸ˜‰ You aussies are pretty smart…. coming up with cross breeding a poodle! I think it took off here so well b/c people refer to them as “desinger dogs” and don’t you know us Americans fall for anything with a designer label? πŸ˜† haha!

    Reply
  20. Hi Brandy–just wanted to send a note to encourage you. Your boys sound adorable! I am so sorry for Aidan’s pain; continue to trust God for his healing for He is a God that healeth us [Exodus–not sure of the chapter or verse]. I will be praying for him too πŸ™‚

    As for Dylan’s dreams, I can imagine how tough that must be. Prayer is power! Continue praying for his covering and protection. I studied dreams for a while because of having so many myself and so I’ve learned to be prayerful about them.

    Love you; have a blessed day and stay strong! You are an inspiration to me; I don’t have children yet but will definitely be looking to this blog for wisdom to prepare for that season!

    Reply
  21. I hope you got the email info. regarding Daniel’s trip and upcoming move.

    I also was reminded again of this post (particulary Dylan’s ‘night terror’)when
    I was singing a worship song this AM with these words (as from the Lord),
    “I have longed to hold you in my arms and take all of your fears away.”

    I meant to mention when I posted before that you might tell him to sing “Jesus Loves Me” if it ever happens again. That song is usually so familiar with kids, they don’t even have to try to remember the words. Worship is ‘spiritual warfare’ of the most powerful kind (2 Chron. 20: 21-22)!

    ‘Just a thought I wanted to suggest.
    I’ll be praying for his fear to be ‘cast out by perfect love’- His and yours!! (1 Jn. 4:18)

    D-

    Reply
  22. I don’t know where the emoticon came from, but it’s supposed to be (1 Jn. 4:18).

    That’s first John four, verse eighteen, if it happens again =}.

    D-

    Reply
  23. GCHYAYLES: Thank you for visiting! πŸ˜€ I too am very interested in dreams b/c mine are always so vivid and NEVER seem to be good…. and always deal with a current stressful issue. You know, those kind of dreams where you wake up completely shaken? And poor Dylan, his are the same way only he can’t snap out of it. 😦 Thank you for your words and prayers. πŸ˜€ Aidan’s leg is getting better, but I am still going to take him in to make sure it’s healing nicely. πŸ˜‰
    *
    DANA: I DID get the email! THANK YOU! πŸ˜€ I enjoyed reading it. I haven’t seen or talked to Daniel in years, but it was funny reading it…it sounded just like him! Thank you so much for thinking of Dylan when you did. That warms my heart and makes me smile. πŸ˜€ I do sing Jesus Loves Me to him but his FAVORITE is Jesus Loves the Little Children. πŸ˜€ He says “sing the children one!” haha! Your 8) came from doing 8 and ) close together without the . after it. πŸ˜‰ heehee

    Reply
  24. my daughter had night terror for several years…she used to see the same thing..your post just creeped me out! hahaha I am going to pray for you with that..it is scary, and the only thing that helped us with her was to force me to stay calm, and just speak out loud things she loved…it always worked…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

