RSS Feed

Happy 4th Birthday Dylan Lukas!!!

Posted on

Dylan turns FOUR YEARS OLD at 3:29pm April 28th. I cannot believe my baby is turning FOUR. FOUR. FOUR YEARS OLD. To some of you seasoned parents, four seems like nothing, but he is my first baby. I remember the day he was born like it happened this morning. At dinner tonight I was telling him EXACTLY what I had for dinner four years ago, b/c I remember exactly what I had for dinner four years ago. My mom made me one of her comfort dishes. Now, some of you may cringe, but we love this dinner….. fried spam, fried potatoes, corn, green beans, and macaroni and cheese. I rarely eat it anymore, but I love when my mom makes it for me. YUM! We joke that that is the meal to make a baby want to exit FAST. haha! I even tried eating it at the end of the next two pregnancies to see if it would spark anything. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜† Out of all of my kids, Dylan is the most like me in every way possible. My connection with him is different than the other two also. Not more or better, just different. I had to learn everything with him. I didn’t love him instantly either. 😯 Don’t look at me like that. I’m being real here. I felt protective of him, like it was my responsibility to take care of this…this… THING… but I had no emotional attachment to him right away. I TOLD people I loved him immensely. I TOLD people I would give my life for him in an instant. I TOLD people I was happier than ever. I wasn’t. I wasn’t NOT happy, but I wasn’t “in love” with him either. I didn’t KNOW him. It took about a week for that attachment to set in. A week of sleepless nights. A week of crying jags. A week of trying to learn how to breastfeed. A week of trying to figure out this whole entire new person. Trial by fire. I’m still not sure I’ve passed. πŸ˜‰ What I am trying to say is, I had so far to go to learn to be a Mom with Dylan, that my attachment to him has a lot to do with what he taught me about being a mom. Oh yes, a baby can teach you a few things. πŸ˜† With Aidan, it was a lot easier, I was more laid back. And poor Owen, he just got thrown into the mix. πŸ˜†

Four years ago I became a Mommy. And this is the boy who did it to me. πŸ˜€ (forgive me b/c the pics aren’t in perfect order and I couldn’t figure out how to change that)

Dylan 4 years old

Β 

Dylan 4 yrs

Β 

Β 

Β 

Dylan 3.5 years oldDylan 3.5 yrs

Β 

Β 

Dylan 3 years oldDylan 3 yrs

Β 

Β 

Dylan 2.5 years oldDylan 2.5 yrs

Β 

Β 

Dylan 2 years oldDylan 2yrs

Β 

Β 

Dylan 1 year oldDylan, 1 year old

Β 

Dylan Lukas 18 months

Dylan 18 months old

14 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday Dylan!!!!

    Reply
  2. Awww thanks B. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY DYLAN

    from your really horribly sucky aunt who hasn’t put a gift in the mail for you yet. :- (

    P.S. Spam is gross.
    Poor Dylan!!!

    Reply
  4. Have a Great Day, Young Man! – and be good to your Mother! πŸ™‚

    ok there might just be an oxymoron in there somewhere’s ??? πŸ™‚

    <B

    Reply
  5. Happy Birthday Dylan – you will be 20 before mom knows it! I love fried spam! Brandy – thanks for sharing about being a “mom”! I think your special!

    Reply
  6. Happy Birthday Dylan, your first in your new home.

    That was a great shot of 2 year old Dylan.

    Brandy, was that a hair saloon you brought 1 year old Dylan to. Poor guy does look a little confused.

    Reply
  7. HAHAHA!! Yes Ed, that was for his first haircut. πŸ˜€ He had to have tubes put in his ears so we shaved his head so we wouldn’t have to worry about washing it since we couldn’t get his head wet for two weeks. He had long curls in the back. πŸ˜€

    Papa, He will never be 20. I won’t allow it. πŸ˜† And yes fried spam is YUM YUM πŸ˜› I think you’re pretty special too Papa. πŸ˜€

    Love, thank you. πŸ˜€ ♥

    Teresa! πŸ˜€ No worries. He will be just as happy later as now. πŸ˜‰ Plus that gives him something to look forward too. Poor kid kept asking all day today “when is everyone coming with presents for me?” 😯 πŸ˜† 😦

    And the worst question of all…. is grandma here yet?? 😦

    Reply
  8. That makes me sad : -(
    Kambrie asked today why you moved to ND. I told her b/c that is where Uncle Jake’s job is and told her he is in the AF. She said “so Aunt Brandy stays home with the kids, like you do?”
    It was so funny. She sounded so grown up.

    did you go to the zoo?

    Reply
  9. Yes, we went to the zoo. Jake kept complaining the whole time b/c it’s not HUGE and half the animals weren’t out b/c it’s still too cold here for some of them. The boys however were THRILLED with it. I kept telling Jake “they love it and that’s all that matters.”

    It’s a small zoo, but it is nearly 100 years old too. The history behind it is neat. I think I am going to post it later. Anyway, it turned out great b/c we basically had the whole park to ourselves so they had free reign. πŸ˜€ I’ll e you later about more. πŸ˜‰

    Kambrie sounds so cute. πŸ˜€ heehee Dylan keeps asking why daddys job moved us here.

    Tonight at bed Dylan said “I just wanted people to come to my birthday today.” 😦 I really hated being far away today. He is used to a big huge shindig every year. *sigh*

    Reply
  10. Tell Jake to take it down a notch with the complaining. ha ha.
    Didnt he complain at OUR zoo b/c it was TOO BIG?? ha ha!!!
    OK your making me really sad. Poor Dylan!!!!!! We should have done a video party for him or something!

    Dont forget to E me!

    Reply
  11. Tell Jake to take it down a notch with the complaining. ha ha.
    Didnt he complain at OUR zoo b/c it was TOO BIG?? ha ha!!!
    OK your making me really sad. Poor Dylan!!!!!! We should have done a video party for him or something!

    Dont forget to E me!

    Reply
  12. Happy Birthday Little Guy!!!!

    Give your mother a big hug for me ok???

    I miss you 😦

    You’re suppose to be trippin in church while im singing and trying to concentrate!!

    Reply
  13. Happy happy birthday to the little kid. He’s so cute!

    Hi Brandy. Love your post. So honest. I think you’re a good mom. Hope to be just as good when I become one…

    Sherma

    Reply
  14. Hey, Brandy, what a beautiful boy!! I can see the likeness, but he must have gotten his dad’s dark eyes. πŸ˜‰

    I get the feeling you’re a great mom and full of love for your three littles. They are blessed to have you…and vice versa, I’m sure.

    Your husband is military? Let me share this ministry with you…might help you to find a core group of people in your new surroundings:

    http://www.cmfhq.org/

    Dan, Born for Battle, who comments lots on my blog, works in this ministry. He was Special Forces for many years and now ministers to the military.

    Hang in there…as much as y’all might miss home, it does help to build strength in the marriage. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

