RSS Feed

And the twinge begins

Posted on

The twinge of homesickness that is. Last night I was REALLY sad. I had that feeling that you get at the end of a very long vacation, where you think “okay this was fun and all, but I’m ready to go home now.” Only, I am home, and this isn’t a vacation. I’m not sappy sad, just missing my mom and my granny, missing the fact that I don’t know anything here. I am very claustrophobic, and the weirdest things can set that off for me. I can feel claustrophobic in a very large area if I think there is no way out or no resources for me. That is sort of how I feel now. Don’t get me wrong, I am very excited to start our life here, it’s just that when I think about not being able to see my mom or granny whenever I want, it makes the tears well up and my throat feel kinda tight and my chest starts to hurt. I felt like that a lot in Missouri and I asked my mom to send me something to hug so that I could hug it when I wanted to hug her. She sent me this black teddy bear. I had intended on bringing it with us b/c I knew I would want to hug it, but I forgot and the movers packed it. I can’t wait to get that teddy bear back. 😦

Dylan has been drawing a lot of pictures with tons of swirly lines all over and then picking a point and saying “this is Norf Dakota and this is all the roads we had to drive on the get here and this is our old house, and granny’s house, and grandma’s house and grandpa and grandma’s house.” πŸ˜† haha!! Smart little cookie. He is really using coloring/drawing as a way to sort out his emotions right now I think. Aidan on the other hand really doesn’t get whats going on. That is good right now. It’s hard enough explaining it to Dylan. He was upset the other day and said “I just want to go to granny’s house!” and one day I said to him “who takes such good care of you? (meaning me)” and he said “You and grandma!” hahaha! πŸ˜† That was funny and sad at the same time.

Today we did nothing until 3 this afternoon. Aidan slept until after 11 😯 and we just kind of puttered around here. Did some laundry, snacked, watched some tv, the boys played a lot. When we finally left we went to the BX to shop around and got the boys some cute outfits that were 75% off…..I love shopping on base!! I really miss it!Β  The boys and I also got new sunglasses. πŸ˜‰ After that we went to the park on base. There were 11 (ELEVEN!!!) play structures in this big field area for kids to play on. The boys christened all 11 of them and ran around like crazy! They didn’t want to leave! I have a feeling we will be spending a lot of time there this summer. Right now it’s kind of ugly b/c the grass is all dead all over base, but I am hoping it turns green at some point. haha πŸ˜† The wind is nonstop too. Jake said if it wasn’t for the wind today would have been a really warm day. It was nice, but you needed something on just to protect you from the wind. The boys wore their matching windbreaker jackets and were so cute running around. I got TONS of pictures. They love the park!

When we left we went into Minot and drove around. Okay, this place is not small by any means. It’s not large like a big city, but it isn’t small either. We were expecting something MUCH smaller than this. We were pleasantly surprised. πŸ˜‰ We drove around forever though looking for the mall and couldn’t find it. I came home and looked it up online and got the address so we will be going there tomorrow. We found the zoo today and saw Camels from the road. The boys were VERY excited about that. It opens in two weeks, two days before Dylan’s 4th bday so I am fairly sure we will be doing that for his bday this year. πŸ˜‰

I really like the part of Minot that we drove around the most. I don’t know if it’s downtown, uptown, midtown or what, but I liked it! πŸ˜† It had a lot of really old brick buildings. They are very pretty. Also, you wouldn’t think a town like this would have a “skyline” but they do. Jake and I were laughing at how large and tall some of the buildings were for a town like this. Also, the streets make me think of a mini SanFrancisco at some points b/c they are “rolling” streets where they dip down a lot and then go up again. It was kind of neat to look around tonight. We ate at Pizza Hut b/c Jake and the boys were set on pizza. They did really good in there and Aidan ate almost his entire personal pan pizza!! 😯

When we got home Dylan kept telling me how tired he was and he wanted to skip bath and just get jams on. So, we did. Like I’m really going to protest that!! πŸ˜† They were in bed by about 8:30. πŸ˜€ Now it’s just me and Jake and baby O left up. I’m feeling snacky. πŸ˜› haha! I think I’ll go find something to munch on and then put O to bed. He is standing here at my chair babbling to me. And crying. I think he’s tired. πŸ˜‰

Night all!

9 responses »

  1. It sounds like you are settling in so far. i am glad that the town is bigger than you thought and that you had a pleasant surprise!
    I think the wind is pretty normal there isn’t it? Better than snow eh?
    11 play structures?? Well that is SWEET!! I can’t wait to see all of these pictures! I sure hope we get to see them soon!
    Sorry I missed you on chat tonight. We were at Keira’s bday party.
    LYS

    Reply
  2. Blog friends can warm your heart and cheer you up – but there is nothing like a Good HUG for that extra special feeling of closeness Huh bran-muffin?

    Hope you get to unpack Ted real soon! πŸ™‚

    And you look forward to all the new close friends you have the opportunity to make now!

    <B

    Reply
  3. Can’t wait to see the pics.

    You are having fun exploring… I know that twinge. Hang in there, teddy will be with you soon.

    Reply
  4. I love this post! Your doing good! Mama and I prayed for you all last night!

    Reply
  5. I was thinking of sending you a large stuffed animal in the form of a piece of Sushi …I think that would be nice.

    πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. hahaha!!

    I thought of you today when we were at the mall. We sat right in front of this japanese place that had sushi and I just kept looking at it thinking “that aint right!” haha!! If it didn’t have seafood, I would eat it. I just can’t do seafood of any kind. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. in a mall…It Ain’t right!

    I’ll never get Sushi in a mall.

    By the way, you could get a cucumber roll, no seafood πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Ah but the knives they use to cut through all that yummy seafood and seaweed will be cutting through that cucumber roll…hehehehe! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  9. hmmm, now a cucumber roll I could live with. πŸ˜‰

    And yes, even I know sushi in a mall “aint right” haha!! πŸ˜†

    Cheryl, I would hope they’d follow SOME SORT of standard with their knives. haha!! πŸ˜†

    Reply

Leave a Reply

