RSS Feed

Journey To North Dakota: Update #2

Posted on

Here I am again!! How lucky I have been with the internet!!! πŸ˜€ We are sitting in our trailer in front of Jake’s cousins house and I found a connection! YEAH!!!! πŸ˜† So for an update on our adventures today…..

We left Jake’s brothers house (miss you T!) around 11:30….about an hour and a half later than we were wanting to leave. I tried to wake Jake up at 8 and failed….he trailed in around 9:30. hmph. πŸ˜‰ So, with Teresa’s help we loaded up and were out of there. I had talked to Jake’s cousin Katie yesterday and she said it was about a 5.5 hour drive….we got here at 9:30 tonight. 😯 Traveling with kids is soooooo different! I knew it would be, but EXPERIENCING it is completely different than knowing it. πŸ˜‰Β  For the most part our trip today was uneventful…THANK YOU GOD!!!!Β  Our biggest issue today was jus time. We stopped at one point for about 2 hours. The boys were SO ANTSY and squirrly and this place where we stopped had a GREAT park right across the street from the gas station. We got gas, pulled into a parking lot, popped out the trailer and Jake went to this little drive-in and got us some food. Some seriously GREASY food. I told him, “if they have a club sandwhich I’ll have that” and he brought me back a BLT….probably my favorite sandwhich ever. I love a good BLT. YUM! πŸ˜› He got the boys chicken nuggets and tator tots. I think they probably had a pound of grease in them! πŸ˜† OH! And the best part….hahaha….the “fry sauce” they gave you was just mayo with a tiny bit of ketchup for color. I thought I would vomit. I could barely stomach that! πŸ˜† It didn’t help that I had “travelers stomach.” That is what the back of my package of Imodium A.D. called it anyway. 😯   πŸ˜† NOT. GOOD.

After our two hour delay we were on the road again. Not much to say about the rest of it. We hit some VERY hard rains and some snow flurries even, but nothing that deterred us. About an hour before we got here the boys were DONE. D-O-N-E DONE. Aidan was being ornery and whining, Owen was SCREAMING for an hour 😦 and Dylan looked like he was about to fall over. His face was so red and his eyes were so heavy. I feel so bad for them on this trip. It is really taking a lot out of them. They’re whole demeanor is different. 😦 Makes me sad for them. They just want their own home again. So do I.

I realized this morning, I really am homesick. And not just for Medford, but for A home. We’ve been like nomads for the last couple of weeks and I just want my own home again to relax in with my family. I am so grateful for the trailer right now. It’s our “home away from home” even though it’s close quaters. πŸ˜‰ It’s worked out nicely.

Jake and I figured out that if we can manage to drive 400 miles tomorrow and Thursday, that should only leave us with 150 miles or so on Friday. Today we did 400 miles and survived. Also, we are FOR SURE leaving earlier than we have the last two times. My mom had a good idea of leaving EARLY EARLY in the morning while the boys are still really sleepy so they will sleep a lot of the way. That way, we can get our driving done for the day and stop around dinner time and they can relax and play somewhere. We’ll see how this goes…… The problem we encounter is, we are just SO TIRED that sleeping sounds SO GOOD. πŸ˜†Β Β  πŸ˜†Β Β  πŸ˜† heehee

Speaking of sleep…… night all!!

p.s. Thanks for the comments and prayers!!!! It means a lot to know I have such wonderful friends thinking of us and praying for us as we make this journey. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

6 responses »

  1. Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet? – if only that was the least of your troubles travelling – Right? πŸ™‚

    Suffering brings us closer to Jesus – it might help to bear that in mind for the rest of the trip? πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

    You and Him are gonna be SO close come Minot ND lol!

    love <B

    Reply
  2. she said it was about a 5.5 hour drive….we got here at 9:30 tonight. 😯 Traveling with kids is soooooo different!

    I remember traveling with our 4 children… Hahaha. It would always take us 10 hours to make the 5 hour trip to Grandma’s and Grandpa’s house (and back!). I told my parents once that I KNEW EVERY McDonalds exit, EVERY picnic area, EVERY truck stop, and EVERY scenic pull-off between our two houses.

    North bound and South bound.

    Early, Early does work the best. However, they will wake up. Patience is the lesson being taught through times like this.

    Not always learned (in my case) but taught none the less.

    Reply
  3. EWW I hate travelers stomach! I used to get the opposite issue, which is I didnt go at all. Ugh! Neither is good, but at least mine was more convenient for long trips on the car, b/c you didnt have to stop. ha ha!!

    Where did you guys stop? It sounds somewhere like Hood River or The Dalles?

    Im glad you guys didnt run into bad weather.

    I want to hear about your time with Katie and Aaron! Nate said he heard they have a very nice house.

    Love you!!! PRAYING.

    OHHH Kambrie prayed for you last night. She said:

    “Dear Jesus, thank you for my name, and for my mom and dad. Thank you for my parents. Have Jake and Brandy be safe in their car, and have seatbelts on”

    ha ha ha!!!

    Love you
    T

    Reply
  4. Keep safe little,one! We pray every night for your next days journey! Love you! Papa & mama too!

    Reply
  5. I have never had this “Travelers Stomach”…

    Weird, I know πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. “some snow flurries even”

    Brandy are you sure you didn’t take a wrong turn to Alaska. πŸ™‚

    The temps finally got to 60 here on Connecticut.

    “Travelers Stomach” does not sound like much fun. I guess me and Brent are lucky. Perhaps our stomachs have had some much junk and hot sauces in it nothing bothers us. πŸ™‚

    I suspect there is nothing you can do to make traveling with kids any more pleasant. You choose to have them in the first place so you are stuck. πŸ™‚

    Just a few more days to endure and you will be in your new home. Keep safe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

