RSS Feed

Journey to North Dakota: Update #1

Posted on

Okay so for a BREIF update (brief for me is usually at least 500 words Tam πŸ˜‰ ) here is what happened on our first day of traveling yesterday…..

Left town around 1:30p.m. after TEARFUL goodbyes with our family. The hardest person for me to leave….my mom. By far. 😦 It will be weird not seeing her everyday. 😦 My grandma was equally as hard, but I sobbed in my moms arms. 😦

As we were driving up I-5, we noticed the BBQ was about to fly out the back. Why did we take this you ask?? In order for movers to take it, Jake had to take it apart and he didn’t want to do that, so he opted for US to take it. Great. πŸ™„ Anyway, the BBQ, even though secured, was not secured enough. Also, the tarps Jake used to cover everything were FLYING off….bunjee cords were coming off….we lost several before we stopped in Grants Pass to redo it. We ended up buying 8 tie down straps and completely redoing the tarps. Our load in the back looks a bit like a neatly wrapped present now. πŸ˜† That took 2 HOURS to do not including the trip into Walmart to buy the straps. So, at 4:30 we were off again. Not 5 minutes into the trip again did we see another flaw in our packing process…..the drip pan on the BBQ was not secure so it was tapping against the back window, something it wasn’t doing before b/c of the tarp which was now moved. So, we pulled over, secured it and got back on the road.

I settled in to take a snooze a bit later only to have Jake abruptly wake me. We blew out a tire on the trailer. TOTALLY SHREDDED it. So, we pulled over for a while and Jake put the spare on. That was fun in the rain. πŸ˜‰ Luckily a ‘good samaratin’ had seen the tire and motioned for Jake to pull over, and good thing b/c it was SMOKING!! Dylan is mastering the story about the wheel that caught on fire. πŸ˜‰

About another hour later, we were on the road again!! A little bit after that we hear “Mommy, I have to poooooop.” OH GREAT!! πŸ˜† So, we find another Walmart and go inside. After everyone was taken care of, we get back on the road again.

Guess what, a ways up the road, maybe an hour later…..we need gas again. HAHAHA!! πŸ˜† At this point the stops we are making are just comical!!

We finally got here at 10pm!!!! A trip that normally should only take 4-5 hours took us 9 HOURS!!!!!!! Luckily, we got here safe and sound, despite our snafus along the way. πŸ˜‰

Tomorrow we head at for Idaho. Jake has a cousin that lives there so we’re looking forward to seeing them.

Love you all and thanks for the prayers…..WE NEED ‘EM!!! πŸ˜† πŸ˜‰

p.s. Thanks to my sister in law for the use of their computer!!! *ahhhhh* πŸ˜†

also, I do NOT like the new dashboard. I’m just sayin’……

6 responses »

  1. Isn’t traveling fun !! :O) Those stories sound all to familiar! Fun Fun! Praying for you all and that God will keep you safe! My advice? Laugh a lot! Keep them tires burning !!!

    Reply
  2. AAAAAAHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAA!!!!!!!

    I am loving this…and I love the new dashboard too πŸ™‚

    Miss you!

    Reply
  3. Brandy, this trip is sure going to give your family something to remember. πŸ™‚

    I am glad to see all those smiley faces. My head would probably have exploded by now. πŸ™‚

    A long trip never goes according to plan. Hopefully after your stop over in Idaho, a very pretty state, things will go better.

    Reply
  4. Hey!! Hee hee. Im on here typing while you guys are sleeping safe and sound in your trailer. Im so glad we got to spend two (sort of) days with you. So glad you got here safe. LOVING Dylan’s story about the “jacked up tire”
    Im so glad I got a lot of video and pics of the cousins together.
    I know it sounds weird, but Im really going to miss you. I think I grieved even more when I realized the time change difference. It’s just not gonna be the same.
    But, I know you guys will make HOME and be happy where ever you “root” together.
    Praying for you guys and a safe UNEVENTFUL journey.
    Love you! (LYS!!)
    T

    Reply
  5. Praying that the rest of your trip goes well. Hang in there and keep smiling!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

