RSS Feed

Ramblings of reflective heart

Posted on

WOW. I just read this post over at Our Apples Of Goldย and was totally convicted. In a big way. Especially the part about what your kids fall asleep hearing. Mostly b/c I can’t tell you how many times that has happened in our house, the kids falling asleep to the sound of whatever we are watching on tv. While I don’t watch violent movies, Jake does, after the kids go to bed. But they can still hear it. Now, the whole post wasn’t about this at all. The whole post was about idolatry, but that part really stuck out to me. And several others. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

At first I thought it was a tad legalistic, but by the time I got to the end of it, I was really feeling convicted. We really need to challenge ourselves to see with godly eyes, and not try to justify things in our life. That is SO EASY to do. One I hear a lot is just what I said up there, “oh that sounds legalistic.” I struggle so much with that term, I hate it. Yes there is legalism in religion. In RELIGION. Not in a relationship with God. I feel that your relationship with God will determine what you find as legalistic. People think I teeter on the side of legalistic. My husband and I have this discussion a lot. He is more liberal than I am on some issues. I am more……. “legalistic” according to him. Some say I am black and white. (Hi T!ย LYS! ) That’s okay with me. I feel that God is black and white. I really do. I feel that there is clear right and wrong. In everything. It may not be easy to choose right, but it is clear according to God’s word. Actually, choosing the right thing to do is hardly ever easy. But I think that is where our love for Christ comes into play. That same love bridges the gap between those of us who disagree….believer and non believer alike.

Before I got married, I had a wandering eye. I was “boy crazy” my mother would say. I had a hard time not smiling at any cute guy that breathed. My thoughts were constantly on, “how do I look?” or “am I pleasing to EVERY EYE in the place?” Granted, a lot of that stems from other areas, but my point is that, when I got married, my love for Jake changed my perspective. “How do I look to him? Am I pleasing to his eye?” Now don’t get me wrong, I still like to look good. But Jake is ultimately on my mind. Except for when he says “just hurry up you look fine” as he yells down the hall while he is literally walking out the door. ๐Ÿ˜‰ย ย ย ๐Ÿ˜†ย  ย Another thing that changed, I was less concerned with what other men thought of me. And I wasn’t trying to please them. It is easy for me to choose something that blesses my relationship with Jake. I do not smile flirtatiously at other men like I did before I was married. I save that for Jake. I guard my marriage, my relationship with him, by choosing right. Because I love him. And because He loves me. And because to do otherwise would be a sin against our relationship.

It’s the same with God. I love him. He loves me. And to do anything other than put Him first in my life, would be a sin against our relationship.

That’s all. I just felt like rambling a bit and that post got me going. haha! I wasn’t even going to post tonight…..I need to do our bills. *sigh* I loathe bills.

ย Have a good weekend!! We’ll be busy buying a truck (hopefully…..also a long story) and getting things ready for the movers next week. Pray for my sanity!!! haha!! ๐Ÿ˜†

18 responses »

  1. Good post Brandy – thanks for sharing from your heart. Anything that has a “Right or Wrong” side to it has a legalistic side – you have to choose. Try to choose the right as much as you can. God requires that.

    Reply
  2. Thanks Papa!! I’ve always felt like things were clearly laid out by God, it’s us who make it all foggy. And even though I know that, it’s still hard. Choices are mine. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or is that line yours? ๐Ÿ˜‰ hahaha! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply
  3. I thought that sounded familiar!

    Reply
  4. buying a new truck?????????????? Ive missed a lot in one day, apparently!!!
    By truck do you really mean SUV?

    Reply
  5. No, by truck I mean truck. ๐Ÿ˜› Smarta** ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ’06 GMC Silverado.

    Reply
  6. Isn’t Silverado Chevy? Sierra GMC ??

    Reply
  7. Yes Papa, I got it mixed up! haha!! We test drove a GMC Sierra this morning, and THEN the Chevy Silverado this afternoon! haha!!

    Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  8. Im not being a smartA**. I have several friends that call their SUV’s “trucks” and it bugs the crap out of me. ha ha!!! One of my friends had a Honda CRV and called it her “TRUCK” Nate and I always teased her. That thing can barely be considered an SUV, let alone a Truck!

    Why are you getting a new one?? What’s going on? That wont have much room for all those kids of yours. However, you might need more umph to pull that huge trailer of yours.

    Reply
  9. heehee ๐Ÿ˜‰ I know, we DO call it a truck! I am so sad, Jake just called and said that he isn’t bringing the “truck” (read: suburban) home for one last look. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Why am I sad about that? I don’t know, but I am. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    And yes, we are getting it b/c we need more umph to pull the trailer, especially since we decided to take it with us. I am excited but sad at the same time. And nervous. I HATE buying new vehicles.

    A CRV?! She called a CRV a TRUCK?!?! haha! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply
  10. I feel like I want to give it a hug. That is so not right. I AT LEAST wanted to take a picture of it!!! With the boys all standing by it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply
  11. oh sister, i totally know what you mean. Dont you remember my HUGE meltdown when Nate got rid of our Xterra with out me knowing?? It was right after my dad died, before we got our truck. I just about lost it.
    Your not alone.

    Reply
  12. I feel like I did when we got our second dog. It took me awhile to warm up to him b/c I felt disloyal to our other dog. haha! Same here, I like the new truck but I miss my ‘burb. I’m really upset he didn’t bring it home for a picture. We even drove by last night to see if I could see it anywhere on the lot. Couldn’t. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    We are so funny! ๐Ÿ™„ haha! And yes, I vaguely remember you being upset about the Xterra. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply
  13. Hey Princess! Hope you warm up to the new ride! Thanks for your sweet and funny comments you leave me, Happy Easter! love on those babies of yours for me! I wish you were going to be in Oregon when I get there…guess we will have to come up with something else! Love you!

    Reply
  14. Happy Easter Brandy…lovely ramblings… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  15. Next time you plant a big wet one on me could you at least grope me too?!?!

    Reply
  16. hahahahahaha Bran hope you don’t get sick too!!

    Reply
  17. Oh my ! Darla, are you sure you want to go to Oregon? Words like Kiss, groping, wet one, Oreo, Nyquil and vapo rub scare the day lights out of me! I thought Brandy was so innocent and Tam a mother to her! CAn you get a refund on your tickets Darla? Brandy – you be good! Tam – forget it, no hope!

    Reply
  18. OMGOSH I am cracking up over you guys!!! HAHAHAHAHAA!!!!

    Papa, no worries! I am still innocent and Tam is still very motherly. ๐Ÿ˜‰ hahaha!!

    Darla, I can’t promise you won’t get kissed though! haha! ๐Ÿ˜†

    I guess I’ll have to explain what happened….I’ll save that for a post though, as it is quite hilarious. ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply

Leave a Reply

