RSS Feed

Thankful Thursday

Posted on

Yeah!! It’s Thursday! (well, almost. I cheat a little :wink:)

Β What to say, what to say….. πŸ˜‰ Despite my ho-hum mood lately, I am thankful for a lot this week. Mostly, I am thankful the ball is rolling on our move!! πŸ˜€ Other things I am thankful for….

  • God’s timing. He worked things out this week for a certain someone (*ahem* Deb) to tell me about this convention this weekend that would be GREAT for Jake and I to go to considering all that is going on in our lives these last couple of weeks.
  • My boys. Now that’s a no brainer. I am ALWAYS thankful for my boys. πŸ˜‰Β  Sometimes I look at them and get this OVERWHELMING sense of thanfulness for them. It’s like I hear God saying “enjoy them now” b/c really, we are not promised tomorrow, only now. And I know that can sound morbid to some, but really, as a parent, you are always worrying about your children and their safety, always. So really, to take in everything they say and do in that moment, b/c that moment is there right in front of you.
  • I love to watch Owen while he nurses. It’s the most amazing thing to watch him nurse and know that that is something God given. Completely. I love it. I saw a blinkie on someones page once that said “Nursing makes my heart sing” and it really does. There is nothing like it.
  • I am thankful for my husband. We have gone through the ringer here lately and it just reaffirms to me how much he means to me and how much he really is my best friend. We literally love talking about nothing. My mom will sit and watch us having a conversation about nothing and we are both cracking up and she just slowly shakes her head b/c she totally doesn’t get what is so funny. We like the same things. We laugh at the same things, and when there is something we aren’t laughing AT together, we are usually laughing just b/c the other one is. I miss him when he’s gone. He’s gone right now and I am bored out of my mind. Not that we do anything together when he’s here, but just someone to sit and be quiet with, or watch the same tv show with….that’s special.
  • Again, I am thankful for the fact that Jake got his paper orders this week and we can get the ball rolling on our move. He is at McChord right now for a meeting tomorrow to schedule movers and all that jazz. I am really looking forward to this being DONE. Being in limbo like we’ve been for the last several months has been torture. I have learned something from it though, but I’ll save that for another post.
  • I am thankful for my family. It has really hit me this week how much I am going to REALLY miss them. I’m actually trying not to fully think about it b/c it makes me sad. While I am happy to move on with the next chapter of my life, I am sad to close this one. They have been a HUGE support while we’ve lived here. Jake worked INSANE hours and my mom and my grandma were like an extra set of parents to the boys, and a big encouragement to me. They were my company when I was lonely, which was a lot. I am so going to miss knowing they are literally around the corner. I have felt a lot of safety in that. Literally, they are around the corner. πŸ˜‰

Okay, I think that’s all for tonightΒ  today. πŸ˜‰ What are you thankful for this week? Or even just today?? Or even just this minute? I’m curious. πŸ˜€

13 responses »

  1. I am thankful to have met a nice family from Oregon that will soon be making a move. I love this recent post Brandy. I pray that you and Jake will always “talk” and “communicate” and keep Christ at the center of your life.

    Reply
  2. awww, thanks Papa. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. Like Papa I am very thankful to have made so many new friends through the Internet.

    I am thankful I can get out of bed with out much pain.

    I am thankful to be retired so I can share more time with my family and friend. I will be going to lunch with my friend Mike to share some pizza and do some girl watching at the mall.

    I am thankful that both the men’s and women’s UCONN basketball teams have are in the NCAA tournament.

    I am thankful my neice’s daughter has two scholarships for college.

    I am thankful I don’t have to pay for a childs college education.

    Reply
  4. ahhh Ed! Your list made me smile. πŸ˜€

    Have fun at lunch with Mike! Is this your neighbor Mike who you went on the roadtrip with? Who lost his wife?

    Girl watching?? 😯 Be good you two! πŸ˜†

    Reply
  5. Brandy, my friend Mike is the one I took on the road trip. He is getting out of the house more and has started to spend more time with his family.

    As far as the girl watching goes we haven’t been beat up or arrested, yet. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. You make me nervous with your shenanigans Ed! 😯 hahaha! πŸ˜†

    Are we going to have to put a leash on you?? πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. Glad Mike is getting out of the house more. It will be good for him. My heart breaks for him too. 😦

    Reply
  8. I’m thankful for meat muffins part deux πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. hahahahaha!!! Weren’t those sooo yummy?? πŸ˜€

    What did you guys have with them?

    Reply
  10. 1st time was garlic parmesean noodles, last night was cheddar baked potatoes. yumm!

    Reply
  11. Bran when is the move date? how can we pray for you?? email me when you get the chance! love you

    Reply
  12. Brandy…missing you sweets!

    Reply
  13. Whats the latest? All packed? :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

