RSS Feed

WARNING: Nasal TMI ahead!

Posted on

Okay so Jake had my computer on his trip with him all day yesterday and today. I have it back now. Praise the Lord! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜† I felt lost without my computer. It was strange. Like I was missing a limb or something.

Β Sunday morning I woke up with what I thought was an ingrown nose hair. It got worse as the day went on so I thought maybe it was a pimple. EW. Only this HURT. BADLY. By that night I was in some serious pain. I had to take 800mg Ibuprofen just to make a dent in the pain. Not to mention the tip of my nose was all red and inflamed and my left nostril was now deformed it was so swollen. Laugh, it’s okay. πŸ˜‰ Yesterday morning I woke up and it was WORSE. I could not believe the pain. It hurt from the bridge of my nose, down to my lip, over to my left eye and across my cheek. Not to mention that the MASS had grown and was killing me with pain. Keep laughing. I know it’s funny. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜† My mom suggested calling the dr b/c “you know there IS such a thing as nose cancer right?” Thanks Mom. Love you. πŸ˜€ haha!

I called my dr and my conversation with the nurse went something like this:

Me: (nervously laughing) I was wondering if I could get in sometime soon. I’m having a nose problem.

Nurse: A nose problem? Oooookay.

(she proceeds to take my information, you know, name, birthdate, appt times, etc.)
Nurse: So what’s wrong with your nose? Do you have a cold or something? (I detected a little irritability there.)

Me: No, I don’t have a cold. I have a large MASS at the edge of my left nostril and my whole left side of my face hurts (thankyouverymuch)

Nurse: (sounding completely amazed and now intrigued) OOOOOOOOH, really?

Me: Yes. Really.

Nurse: Well okay then lets get you in.

Yes I was annoyed at the entire conversation.

So anyway, I go in today, Dr feels me up (my nose that is πŸ˜‰ ) and then sits down to write a prescription. Doesn’t even tell me what is wrong. I ask. He says “well obviously you have an infection of some sort. These things usually start b/c of an ingrown hair. (EW again)Β Come back Thursday and if it’s not improved, I’ll need to see about sending you to a surgeon.” A SURGEON?!?! Great. Just great. He also says if it is WORSE tomorrow, I should go to the ER. Okay so now I am a tad paranoid. Are they going to LANCE my nose????? OUCH!!! And btw, the kind of pain I am having with this nose thing, is the kind of pain they have epidurals for. Seriously. It hurts that bad. I am on a steady stream of 800 mg ibuprofen. I didn’t even take that much ibuprofen after I had my babies.

Okay now, enough of that nasty talk. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› πŸ˜†

I have kind of enjoyed not having my computer. While I missed it a great deal, life went on. Amazing. πŸ˜‰ Imagine that. 😯 These last few days I have kind of had a “lightbulb” moment. I feel lighter. Better. More “aware.” Less tired. Less mopey. Less less. I couldn’t figure out why I felt so much better and was PARTICIPATING in my own life again this last week or so. Then it hit me. I have now been on the higher dose of my antidepressant for about a month now, and it’s finally kicking in! It has really helped with the “down” of the depression, but my anxiety is still hanging on a bit. My counselor said it will take longer for the anxiety to go, but it will. STUPID STUPID four days I missed around New Years……sent me back to square one and I am just NOW getting out of that fog again. It’s so frustrating. I am glad though. Such a difference it makes. Depression is NOT about being sad all the time. It’s much more than that. I think I’ll do a post on that in a couple of days. I’ve been processing a lot about it these last few days and I think I want to get it all out in black and white. Not tonight though. Tonight we are ordering out for pizza. Yeah! I could live on pizza! πŸ˜€ And ibuprofen. πŸ˜‰ Speaking of, my nose is throbbing again. I’m due for my fix. πŸ˜‰

9 responses »

  1. I told you to stop picking your nose, but you just never listen to me. Sigh. When WILL you learn?

    Reply
  2. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaa πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    OMGosh I am laughing so hard right now. I can totally HEAR you! πŸ˜†

    Reply
  3. I want to laugh but I have a case of feeling your pain! weak minds and all! Love you girl, hope you are much better today. Love ya, Darla

    Reply
  4. hHy not change your blog picture of your eyes to your nose? Then we could all sympathize . I use a WAHL Nose Trimmer. I have more hair in my nose and ears than the top of my head!

    Reply
  5. owie! is it something you can pop? That can be fun!!

    Reply
  6. It’s INSIDE my nose, inside the tip of it and it is so big it is also along the edge of my nostril. Through some inventive ways I did pop it, and it was GROSS and PAINFUL, and only made it worse. It’s better today though. Thank you antibiotics! πŸ˜‰ I have to go in tomorrow (with all three kids! 😯 ) to have it rechecked. Fun.

    Reply
  7. Papa, I DO have a pic of it but I’m not so sure i want to post it! 😯 hahaha!

    Reply
  8. EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

    Reply
  9. That sounds horrible!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

