RSS Feed

Talk To Me Tuesday

Posted on

Okay so I just spent the last HOUR uploading ten pictures of the kiddos only to have them be TOO BIG. Anyone care to help me out on that?? I don’t get it?? Anyway, instead of Top Ten Tuesday with ten pics of the kids (like I promised my Grandpa! Sorry!) I have a question.

My friend and I were talking last week about politics πŸ™„ and I mentioned that my aunt told me that Obama swore in on the Koran. I’m sure I spelled that wrong too. Anyway, I said that I didn’t like that he swore in on the Koran and that it made me nervous. She said “Why? Just b/c it isn’t the Bible?” and I said “well YEAH!” and she said “oh yeah, you and your religious stuff” πŸ˜† Obviously we don’t hold the same beliefs, but she is still one of my very dearest friends. Then she brought up a good point. She said “It shouldn’t matter what someone swears in on b/c of the seperation of church and state” to which I said “If there is a seperation of church and state, why swear in on anything then, even the bible?”

Β So that is my question. πŸ˜‰

6 responses »

  1. Hi Brandy, thanks for commenting. I appreciate the thoughts and prayers. I’ll see you around the email or facebook world now versus the blogworld!

    Reply
  2. This outta be interesting.

    First of all, that claim about Obama is false. There is however a Minnesota congressman named Keith Ellison that did do this.

    My opinion is that religion is always brought into the political process, because 80% of our country says they are religious. If a politician claims he/she is religious, then they can win votes from the 80% that are religious.

    Also, if we are a country where religions are welcome and we want to swear on a Bible, then a Muslim has the right to swear ion on the Quran. Because of my beliefs, I am not comfortable with this, but they have the right.

    The argument against this would say that if they can’t swear in on the Quran, than we shouldn’t be able to swear in on the Bible. History aside, this argument is valid because of the freedoms people in America have to choose and worship in any religion they choose.

    Until this country sees it’s need to surrender to God and His morals, there will always be people choosing other religions as their foundation for governing and politics.

    Reply
  3. Hi Brandy, I like the new look of your blog.

    The purpose of a oath of office is for an elected official to pledge their loyalty to the constitution of whatever legal body they are elected to. I think it’s a crime to betray an oath of office.

    It has been the tradition in the US to swear on a bible. It would make sense that the elected official would use whatever bible is sacred to them.

    I can’t think of any reason why it can’t be some other document, such as a copy constitution itself.

    If an atheist were to get elected swearing on a bible wouldn’t make much sense. Of course if it would upset too many voters the politician would use whatever they are handed.

    As a member of the Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster πŸ™‚ I think I might use a box of pasta for my oath of office. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. VInny is correct about Obama. He did not swear in on the Quran. He has been hit hard, mostly falsely, about his Muslim background.

    Morals can’t be legislated – they have to be personal.

    Reply
  5. I think the reasoning behind the swearing in on the Bible is partly tradition and partly a demonstration of the seriousness with which the oath is taken. I suppose it is good that the Bible is still publicly held in such high regard, but it definitely means much more to those who believe since for us it is more than a book.

    By the way, you can spell it “Koran” or “Quran” since it’s a foreign word it doesn’t matter too much. Or, if you want to be fancy, it can be written “Qora’an”.

    Nice blog!
    Carmen

    Reply
  6. Hi Brandy,
    Thanks for your comments on my blog. Hope things are going well. I like your new blog and I will check it out every once in a while.
    Love ya,
    Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

